We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and inexpensive”

Capital Thai Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Ranked #573 of 5,843 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Convenient and inexpensive”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We booked lunch at the Thai Capital prior to seeing the Lion King. The food was served quickly and the serving size was appropriate for lunch. The food was tasty and well presented and the service was very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 20grace13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    44
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had dinner here before going to see the Lion King. The food was delicious, served quickly and hot! And good value. The service was very friendly, non-intrusive and helpful. It is right next door to the Capital Theatre being a perfect venue for pre theatre dinner . There are so many restaurants to choose from around Haymarket, glad we opted for this one and we would go there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Decor, Great Food, Great Prices”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This place is a gem, being next to the Capitol theatre I thought it might be expensive but it wasn't. We had 2 mains a beer and 3 desserts for $66 and the food was ample for 3 people. The Capital Thai has the best dessert menu of any Thai restaurant I have visited anywhere. A great gelato selection, mudcake, and many more desserts. We were there on Tuesday 4 March and it wasnt over busy but then there was no performance next door that night. So we got great service.
Poke your nose in the front door and you will see why it stands out from the Thai restaurant crowd.
I would go back tomorrow but I am home again, the holiday has ended!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fleetwoodmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
442 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Suprising”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Dinner for two prior to seeing The Lion King at the Capital Theatre.

As expected, at 6.30pm on a Friday night (and being right next door to the Capital), the place was jumping. So much so that I found it claustrophobic inside, however, they found us an outside table which suited perfectly.

We ordered our drinks as we were seated, and they arrived within 10 minutes. We ordered our food as the drinks arrived, and the food was served within 15 minutes … great service when they were so busy.

Our Chicken Pad Thai was good (just a little sweet to my taste), and the Beef Massaman Curry was very good.

Two mains with rice, one imported mineral water, one beer, and one glass of wine for $51 which we thought was quite reasonable and good value give the quality of the food, and the high profile location.

Thanks to our waitress “Tuck” who did everything just right with a minimum of fuss. Definitely worth another visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Quick and Delicious Thai!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect spot for a quick meal before a show at the Capital Theatre. The food is high quality, as is the atmosphere and it is remarkably quick for the number of people they serve. Have been there numerous times and will continue to go there for awesome Thai food!

Helpful?
1 Thank sall13h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Thai Restaurant & Cocktail Bar also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Capital Thai Restaurant & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing