We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting decor, good location... Sydney vibe...”
Review of Bel Mondo - CLOSED

Bel Mondo
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting decor, good location... Sydney vibe...”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Service a little slow to start at our Friday lunch date, but then ' came together' for an enjoyable lunch, with good food, wine and good vibes.. Would definitely go back for more of this quirky and very 'Sydney' restaurant !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    5
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average meal, service and atmosphere....”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Dined here recently and was very disappointed. Booked weeks in advance and on the day tried to get the time changed due to late arrival of flighst etc. Called three times and was told twice that it wasnt possible as they were already overbooked, third time I said that we would book elsewhere so they changed the booking time and when we dined there it was not busy at all. Restaurant is very difficult to find and we had to get the waiters to explain to all three of our guests where to go as none of us were familiar with Sydney. The restaurant is however very quaint and has a lovely view of the harbour bridge, once you find it. Service from arrival to departure was very average with drink service being very poor on most occassions taking atleast 10-15 minutes for our drinks to get to our tables, most times having to order them twice. Meals were nothing spectacular so very disappointing especially when we had the degustation and none of the six tastings were anything to rave about. Waiters explanation of the meals was also not very detailed and when we asked for more information he was unable to advise us. Most of the drinks we wanted to order (including those on the menu) were not available. Would not return again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Spoiled by Extremely Unprofessional Waiter”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Dined here on Saturday night with friends and we were all very impressed with the food, aesthetics and general vibe of the restaurant.
What spoiled the evening was what I can only describe as the bizarre and totally unprofessional antics of our waiter. The restaurant has such a cool elegance about it that it was quite jarring to have to contend with his manic, almost aggressive energy.
The following are 3 "low-lights" to his behaviour, chosen from an evening full of uncomfortable observations:
1. We requested tap water for the table & he walked away chanting in a loud voice "cheap cheap cheap". Since the evening had only just commenced we chose to assume we had misheard in order for it to not spoil our evening, however it was pretty clear what he said - particularly since his behaviour remained consistent with this for the rest of the evening.
2. Later in the night he announced across our table to another waiter "I have just given bread to your very rude table" (referring to another group)
3. He was a sweating profusely throughout the night & when he served our meals & topped up our drinks, he reeked of body odour.
We are a pretty tolerant group who aren’t easily offended which is probably why we didn't get up & leave earlier. Plus the behaviour was so unbelievable given the setting it was almost like dinner theatre.
At the end of the evening we went to offer feedback to the Maitre d about what we had witnessed and he told us that we weren't the first to raise the issue & that his hands were kind of tied as the waiter in question was “in” with the owner. But apparently he can be really, really great sometimes as well..! (As if this was some kind of consolation).
Anyway, if you're easily offended or trying to impress I'd stay away.. or else hope you get this waiter on one of his good nights.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Atmosphere & good food at Bel Mondo”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Bel Mondo is in the historic Rocks area of Sydney & appears to be in what was once perhaps an old warehouse. It has great atmosphere with soaring ceilings & & wide views; the historic location is contrasted with a very modern vibe & an unusual raised kitchen, rather like a stage, which allows you to watch the chefs at work - it feels a little like a masterclass watching them adding the finishing touches to your meal. I was there with a large conference group & this is always a challenge to the kitchen - how do you get more that 100 meals out at thesame time without disappointing? Well, Bel Mondo managed this, sensibly with a set course menu with limited choices, but our meals were delicious, still hot (a relief) and beautifully presented. The one negative was slow wine service, but the staff were otherwise friendly & professional & this was a good experience that I'd happilly repeat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MoCo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Customer is not right !!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have dined here regularly and always had a good experience. We took some International guests and were let down in all aspects .
My wife and I ordered the steak and asked for it medium. Unfortunately my wife's steak was well done so we called over the waiter and explained the issue. He called over the floor manager who took it back to the kitchen. He soon returned saying the chef says that's medium so it is what you ordered !!! I was astonished and asked him if he would replace it which he refused to do.It was an uncomfortable situation with our International guests so my wife just took her plate back and ate very little of her meal. The manager and waiters then had a conversation in their own language with them all laughing at one point which i found very rude and totally unacceptable
The service was very poor, with communication issues as our waiter did not speak or understand English at all.
I strongly advise everyone to give this a wide berth

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpeedoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Mondo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing