We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely meal celebrating our 41 st wedding anniversary”

Aki's Indian Restaurant
Reserve a Table
OR
Ranked #130 of 7,497 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City East
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were seated outside which was lovely with a view of the water and able to people watch

The service was attentive and friendly. The food is the best Indian we have had;

Beautiful combinations of flavours.The butter chicken and prawn and scallop curry dishes the highlights
The prices are not cheap but worthwhile for a special occasion

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D8423LPdeborahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 363 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2019

The food here is excellent. A blend of traditional Indian with enough of a Western influence to please any palette. You have the option of sitting inside or out, but I'd recommend sitting outside weather permitting, as you'll get a nice view on the water and can watch everyone walking past. Typical of the Sydney restaurant scene, this place is not cheap... but especially in Sydney where it can be hit and miss, I believe you get what you pay for. The service is average and bit slow, but the food makes up for it. If you're looking to impress on a first date or closing that next business deal, I would recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

I was drawn to this place because they have modern takes on classic Indian dished. The swimmer crab and the kingfish tandoori were excellent as was the tandoor sampler platter for 2. Service was warm, the pappadums with mint sauce were just addicting.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tfizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

We had the buffet and were not disappointed as you can try and taste many dishes. Definitely very good Indian food, not too spicy for our palate. We were sitting inside in the restaurant, it's nice but could be improved.
Good food, lovely staff. If you love Indian food, you have to try this restaurant !

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank givilomitour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

The service is great, attentive and friendly and the decor nice. But the food was a bit hit and miss.

The spicy beef and beetroot patties were amazing as were the condiments and breads. But other things were not as tasteful.
The potatoes had an overwhelming taste of a spice I can’t put my finger on but couldn’t eat them. similar case with the biriyani.
Nice evening, and IF we go back again, I would probably order something different.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank A-Mackaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aki's Indian Restaurant also viewed

North Strathfield, Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Aki's Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing