We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location BUT that's about all that appeals!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrington Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carrington Apartments
Ranked #66 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient Location BUT that's about all that appeals!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

The Apartment we stayed in was very tired, although clean. Faded Lounge, broken furniture, broken dishwasher, mouldy shower curtain to name a few of the features! The smell of cigarette smoke coming through the ventilation was disgusting. Glad that we were only there to sleep and were out the rest of the time. Whilst the location was convenient to public transport and the Manager was friendly I would not recommend this accommodation to anyone. On busy York Street, you hear everything! It needs a complete refurbishment and repaint!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reards71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarringtonSydney, Manager at Carrington Apartments, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
It could appear this party may be confused at which location they spent their Sydney holiday.

At the Carrington Apartments in York St Sydney each apartment has a seperate air conditioning unit with fresh air being drawn from outside the building. Each apartment is also fitted with extractor ventilation which is exhausted directing to above roof level at a height of 38 metres.
Airflow from any individual apartment to another is not possible and tested by government authorities as part of the Cities high standards for prevention of fire and gas leaks.
Public areas are directly ventilated with fresh air obtained, once again from above roof level at a height of 35 metrs.

I appreciate this is all technical facts, which in my position I deal with each day. As far as our numerous repeat guests are concerned it is simply not possible for smoke to enter any apartments from the ventilation system or another apartment.
I have personlly inspected all dishwashers and found them to be in working order and no breakdowns have been reported since December 09. This machine in question was replaced with a new machine within 24 hours with room service washing the dishes for the guests during the break down period

Bruce Morgan
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    12
    8
    14
See reviews for
28
13
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Old and shambolic. Bathroom tap came off in my hand, cracks in the sink and toilet bowl, mouldy old carpet. Kitchen implements about 100 years old - in fact this place was a disgrace. Rated (by itself) 3 stars - should be NIL, and is a blight in the city.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiwiinaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

auckland-NZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

if you're not fussy,this hotel is the best you can get in CBD-related to apartment size-very good,price for central location-more than goood,child safety-good,balcony-v.good for smokers.Apartment looks a bit old but i don't mind-if you're fussy you can get other hotel but...you have to pay much more over AUD$200a night.Remember i'm talking about 1bedroom apartment with bathroom,shower,balkony,kitchen with almost all you need.And...if you go there you are there to get out and about not to stay inside room.Tv-not many chanells but you don't need/don't have time to watch.Don't complain about view!!! i've choosen front view but there is nothing to see just the other very high buildings-you are in CBD-a little brother of Manhattan-NY!!!Now i wish i would have got back view çose in front was very noisy.Trevor-manager advised us to take back view but my husband insisted to have front.of course he has good sleepAnd about Trevor-if you have any problems talk with him and you will feel home.he has ideas for anything.You can call him even if you want to talk and you don't have anybody to talk to>Trevor is the heart of Carrington-such a pleasant person.God bless,Trevor.2min.from railstation-can go anywhere with v.cheap train and v.easy railmap to follow.only train from/to airport is expensive-14AUD$-some goverment isssues!!!Recomend hop-on hop-off bus.can see all atractions-35AUD$24hours.The location is great-depends what you want to do there but basic life stuff are v.expensive in CBD and central.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwisOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

Our apartment was tired looking but it was clean. We would have liked a better view, Looking at offfices opposite made you feel as though they were looking at you.
Nice to have fresh towels every day. A liitle noisy some nights from quests in other units and the air conditioner making a noise,had to turn it off. The gentleman at the desk was very friendly, a big thank you to him.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2009

Our family group of 2 adults & 2 children are regular travelers and not the type of people who go on holidays to sit around watching TV. We all love City life and Sydney is perfect offering both the excitement of a City with beaches and Parks on your doorstep.
The Carrington Apartments were recommended to us by some good friends and the price right for us – not over the top.
The four of us stayed in apartment 40 on the tenth floor for 4 nights and it was perfect for our needs. The total cost was less than what mum and dad only would have paid at some very close by motel units – and we had a full size private apartment all to us. Best of all as it is not overnight type accommodation their was no noise late at night
Staff – well above average. If you needed advice on ferries, places to go etc they were there to help you but at the same time not watching you’re every move. The kids were encouraged to be kids and happy fun.
Sure the furniture is old and not state of the art – but if I want to look at furniture we will go to a furniture store. We would prefer to get out look at sights and have a holiday in a wonderful City.
Location – nothing compares. At the centre of City and walking distance, with the kids to Darling Harbour, Ferries, and Trains & Buses. We saved heaps on fares alone. The kids looked forward to going to the beach by ferry as much as Mum & Dad did.
Clean – our apartment was clean when we arrived, bed linen good, ample supply of towels and nothing wrong. Kitchen was large, well equipped and dad enjoyed doing all the cooking – but I did put the plates in the dishwasher for him.
The maid serviced our room every day.
This type of accommodation is rare and in this location I hope it stays just like it is for ever – good clean family accommodation, perfect location and at a price you can afford. I understand it has Foxtel but we did not even turn the TV on which to us tells us that the kids had a good time.
We believe anyone is crazy not to consider a holiday in these apartments.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeandjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NewSouth Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

My wife & I just stayed in apartment 933 on the 9th Floor for 6 days and it was perfect.
After reading a couple of the last reviews, which were so different to comments left earlier my wife was concerned but being a retired accountant I prefer to look at facts.
The previous reviewers were from experience travellers wherein the recent reviews were lodged by what appears, from your web site, first time travellers. So we gave it a go.
The furniture is 1990's but more than suitable - a knob missing or a broken tile is more than overlooked when you consider the bargain price. The service was first class and very friendly.
All the foyers and lift lobbies have been just painted and new carpet layed.
What a location - the City is accross the road. Bus & trains are a couple of minutes away.
Ferries just down the road which is good for oldies like us.
Over the last 15 years we have been on the road most of most of the time - Our suggestion is for others to get out and enjoy life and stop looking for excuses for not have a good life.
The Carrington Apartments are a perfect example of good quality, clean accommodation. The cost is well below other apartments in the area - we will be back next year

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

VERY budget accomodation and expensive! Decor is very old and tired. Dirty carpets, mould in bathrooms, hob missing on stove top, poorly equipped kitchen - broken crockery with many chipped items, dirty crockery -had not been properly cleaned, rusty utensils, lights not working, headboard on bed broken, stains on carpet, and bed linen.
Old kitchen sponges and brushes provided.
We felt the place was so dirty, we we did not feel safe sitting on the sofas, so covered them with the bedspreads!. When we wore bare feet on the carpets, they ended up black in no time!
For the price, this is definitely NOT worth it. We felt ripped off, and very disappointed. It ruined our holiday as we didn't feel like we could relax or want to spend any time in the appartment, and avoided doing so!
Althou the location is very central and convenient it DOES NOT make up for the poor facilities!
The manager was friendly enough and pleasant.
WOULD DEFINTELY NOT STAY AGAIN NOR RECOMMEND TO ANYONE ELSE!
We're just sorry we had not looked into the reviews more closely.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caihel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarringtonSydney, Group General Manager at Carrington Apartments, responded to this review, December 8, 2009
As stated previously I am very interested in all comments from past guests as it is an invaluable source of feedback for our management team. Our policy is not to comment, but to investigate if a problem does exist and then rectify the situation.

As we have an extremely high occupancy rate which is due mainly from returning guests, that is the guideline we take, which proves our loyal staff are doing an excellent job. The last three reviews were so out of character, the owner requested me to personally investigate and comment.

In all our apartments sponges nor brushes are not provided and if located after a guest has checked out are removed for obvious health reasons. All apartments have a modern under-counter dishwasher installed and powder supplied. New cleaning cloths are provided daily and used items removed as waste.

Cutley and all utensils are stainless steel to prevent "rust". Plates are checked each month for damage and replaced. The reception has a large "stock" and will be freely provided to any guest upon request.

As all guests are advised the public area are being re-painted and new carpet installed. Work is now 60% complete and contracted to be completed by 20th December 2009.

I believe our 90% plus occupancy rate speaks for itself as far as value for money. Some visitors to Australia are unaware of the recent strength in the Australian dollar and compare previous value they received when they may have visited Austalia when our dollar was regarded as "weak"..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Apartments

Property: Carrington Apartments
Address: 57 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Wynyard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Carrington Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing