We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glasgow Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glasgow Arms Hotel
Ranked #120 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The room is large, basic decor, small t.v & fairly comfy bed & clean. Double shower was great & good air con. On a main road but very quiet. Pub downstairs was great to have a couple of drinks before going upstairs. Breakfast was self serve toast, cereal, coffee etc... was all we wanted/needed. Staff let us leave our bags behind the bar because we had a late flight back to Melbourne. Great hotel if you want an affordable place to stay in Sydney CBD. Only a 5 minute walk to Chinatown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivanRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
40
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We travelled from Qld to Sydney for The Motor Bike Show at The Sydney Exhibition Centre.The Hotel booking process was great with payment when we arrived.The Hotel had not opened yet so I rang and they allowed us to leave our luggage behind a counter which as I expected was still there when we returned late in the afternoon.We had a great room over looking the street with a balcony.The room and bed were great,not 5 star but clean,ample cupboard space,good flat screen TV.Breakfast was included in our room,heaps of tea,coffee and food items for breakfast.The Hotel is walking distance to Darling Harbour,Dixon St and Paddy's Market.It is in a perfect location,the bar is great and with a good Restaurant.We enjoyed our time here Thanks Margaret& Gaz Qld

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank otanghunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

i have been to this hotel twice now whilst being in sydney once for lunch with the girls and the again on saturday night with my family and it is a fantastic place for both occasions the lunch we had a number of dishes and all shared them and they we excellent full of flavor and the owner and his daughter were there what a fantastic welcome for both of them. the owners daughter made us feel so welcome and took the time to tell us of attractions in the area it was very nice to be made feel so welcome and on my return with my partner and son on the weekend it was the same great friendly staff and good to see the same people are running it , the steak was melt in your mouth and the chicken was great too. i have no hesitation of returning and hopefully we can spend the night next time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kylie19722013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanning, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a charming little hotel with nice old fashioned styled rooms. Stayed in a queen which was nicely appointed with colonial style furnishings and flat screen tv. Little balcony. Hotel served a great bistro dinner at a good price and included a continental breakfast in the room fee. The hotel is a great location to Darling Harbour and China town or George street - walking distance to all. Places in this location, are hard to find. But it was a little noisy with street traffic at night and walls are thin. I would stay again if wanting budget price location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at the Glasgow after chosing it for the location and price. Was very satisfied with the customer service, the atmosphere and the breakfast. We arrived knowing that it was not a large corporate chain or boutique hotel but with those expectations were very pleased with our choice. Would stay again

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank eherzog888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I must admit this is one of my very first reviews and it is a bit delayed but i am sure to stay i had a wonderful stay. I went to stay in october 2012 and theatmosphere was very homely and the experience was just genuinely good. The room was clean and a nice size and is easily accessible from the train station which is absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

when we booked we were told we had a queen room (apparently the largest room in the hotel). we arrived late at night and the lady couldnt find the keys to our room so we were told that she would give us another room for the night and we could swap the next day. we also had to pay in advance which was fine but we were overcharged and didnt realise until a few days after we had left . . .i had also paid cash and wasnt given a receipt to prove i was overcharged. got to our room and was pleasantly surprised at first. the bathroom was large, the bed comfy and the balcony was nice for fresh air. the downside was that the bed was on wheels and moved any time u rolled over or moved. there was a joining door and when quiet you could hear the people in the other room. breaky was nice on the first day - toast, coffee, tea and cereal. after the first day the milk was not refilled the whole time we were there so we had to keep going down and asking for milk for the cereal and for coffee, the coffee also ran out on the second day and was replaced finally on the 3rd day but by then we had run out of tea and sugar that was never replaced. they also took our coffee cups, the bowl and the spoons on the second day and never bought them back so we were left with 1 cup to use as a bowl and to drink coffee with. on our last morning they had forgotten to refill anything so we had no breakfast :( there is also no phone to ring and ask for things forgotten by room service. apart from not replacing anything room service was terrible, sheets wernt tucked in and only a crappy light blanket on the bed. there was a wardrobe and drawers to put clothes in but they had put the drawers in front of the wardrobe so it couldnt really be used. after the first night we asked to be moved but they had given the room to someone else. hope your luggage isnt heavy as you need to carry it up stairs and to get to the entry door of the hotel you need to go down an alleyway. apart from the bad things the hotel was in a great spot, within 15 min walk to darling harbour and close to bus stops. a 24 hour deli was opposite the hotel so we were able to buy stuff to drink while in our room but the bar fridge was so small you couldnt fit much in there. apart from the bad things staff were lovely and did their best to sort out any problems . . we did have a noisy group start music and screaming at midnight and i went down and complained and it was back to nice and quiet within 2 minutes.

if ur looking for a cheap place to stay close to the city then this will do but be prepared for basics and make sure you have all your breaky stuff cause there is no one around in the morning.

Room Tip: ask for one with a balcony so you can have fresh air, and we enjoyed sitting out there in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#124 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#118 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#114 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#81 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Hotel CBD
Sydney Hotel CBD
#113 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Arms Hotel

Property: Glasgow Arms Hotel
Address: 527 Harris St. | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2007, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glasgow Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing