We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Nice Area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verona Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Verona Guest House
Ranked #13 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Clean, Nice Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here on a recent business trip and found the place to be amazingly clean with a wonderful array of food for breakfast! The rooms are small and cozy. If you are a large person, you will likely find the beds too small. We found them (and the pillows) a little too firm for our comfort level. Bathroom is clean and tidy. Area is quiet and seems safe. Lovely restaurants nearby and a little fruit market is across the street. If you are looking for a luxury B&B (like you find in Napa Valley) this is not it, but it is a lovely quaint, modest, and very clean place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room NOT adjacent to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlton's Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    21
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
38
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My friend and I spent 4-5 nights here. Had a room with private bath, which was nice. The B&B is a lovely old building. Lots of character - if you're looking for new and/or modern, this is not it. Our room was clean and quiet. It's a short taxi ride out of the city, but there are lots of restaurants along Glebe Point Road within walking distance. Breakfast food is available every morning for you to help yourself, which is very nice. Lots of selection for toast, cereal, fruit, muesli, and many milk options to accommodate your preference. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed at this b&b before and went back to find it was still a great place to stay in Sydney. It's located in Glebe which is close to the city by bus and close to the new cruise terminal at White Bay.( by taxi).. It's close to lots of cafes, bookshops and the Broadway Mall, which you can walk to from the Verona. The kitchen is loaded with all the breakfast items you could wish for and you make your own breakfast just how you like it. Our room had a queen bed, TV and an ensuite. The rooms are very clean and quiet. We paid $99 aus a night which is very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonmickNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I live in the bush and every time I come to Sydney I stay at the delightful and very special Verona Guesthouse. Of course, I've tried lots of other hotels and B&Bs in Sydney over recent years but now wouldn't stay anywhere else. It really is a true home away from home!

The Verona is a lovely Victorian mansion, sensitively converted to a high standard of quality and comfort throughout. It's so easy to relax here, both in your room and in the lounge room. You can get home late at night and make yourself a tea or hot chocolate, with toast if you are absolutely starving, treating the fabulous kitchen as your own.

It's location is outstanding, the unique village of Glebe is packed with eateries and cafes all easy walking distance, as is the harbour at the end of Glebe Point Road. There is a major shopping mall at Broadway next to Glebe with supermarkets and cinemas. The city CBD and Central Station (major transport hub for trains and airport) are 10 minutes away by bus. There is free parking on the street overnight, where you can leave your vechile until 10am before having to move it. So it is both very quiet and super convenient.

The included breakfast is amazing. So much choice of quality and healthy foods! The eggs are free range, there are breads for all tastes, lots of different juices and cereals, fresh and tinned fruit, prunes, dried apricots and nuts. A happy selection of teas, black and herbal, hot chocolate and an espresso coffee machine or plunger, if you prefer.

In keeping with its high standards, the Verona is spotlessly clean, with quality linen and towels. Free high speed internet too. What really makes the Verona experience special is, of course, the wonderful people who run it. This is a family business and you will be made to feel very welcome.

I noticed that a recent reviewer complained of a "frosty atmosphere" and feeling "awkward and uncomfortable" around the hostess, these comments are totally out of character in terms of my own experience. However, I think I have some understanding as to why this visitor may have felt something was wrong. For several months recently a family member had serious medical issues, which were very worrying and which were a stressful constant distraction from everything else. This seems to me to be the possible reason behind PollyO's experience.

I have always found the welcome at the Verona very warm and genuine and the atmospere always friendly. It is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5beauties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in a triple room at the front of this beautifully maintained old building. The location, in a quiet area of Glebe Point Road, Glebe, is within easy walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars, cafes, bookshops etc close to Broadway. It is a short and easy bus ride to the city, with bus stops located close by. Our accommodation was very clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed a quiet and restful night's sleep. Breakfast, included in the price of the room, was delicious, and there was plenty of choice - fresh fruit, juice, good coffee, eggs, a variety of different types of bread etc. The breakfast area was spacious and airy, adjacent to a lounge room where it was very pleasant to read the newspapers and drink another cup of coffee. I personally prefer this type of B & B accommodation to a bland chain hotel any time, and thoroughly recommend this place to others who have similar preference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnemalleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Verona Guest House. It is located in a lovely little area close to the sea front and with lots of really lively restaurants and bars nearby. It's spotlessly clean throughout with a nice area to relax and read the papers and a good sized breakfast room. Unfortunately our room was not too comfortable and very awkwardly laid out. There was a chair in front of the wardrobe so you couldn't hang up your clothes without rearranging everything which, given the small size, was not easy to do. It was also very noisy so we didn't sleep well. The hostess responded to our requests but seemed to be in a very bad mood for most of our stay and barely spoke to us creating a very frosty atmosphere in the dining area. I usually wouldn't mind making my own breakfast but we felt vey awkward and uncomfortable whenever the hostess was around. A warm and friendly host can make a B and B worth a visit but we certainly didn't feel welcome at Verona.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Polly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days, gorgeous rooms and building itself. Very modern, clean and friendly family run b and b.

5 minutes to Sydney city centre, located in the quiet area of glebe.

Our favourite part of our stay here however amongst all this was the fabulous breakfast available - each day the spread was amazing, really set us up for the day and saved us from buying any dinner!

Recommended for long or short stay, ideal Sydney hotel at a great price!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashlee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,202 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#121 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Challis
#6 of 64 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast
The Maisonette
#7 of 64 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verona Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verona Guest House

Property: Verona Guest House
Address: 224 Glebe Point Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verona Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verona Guest House is one of six identical villas known as the Doctors' Houses in Glebe's prestigious Toxteth Estate. Just 10 minutes to the CBD via light rail or bus, it is the ideal location for those wishing to explore the city yet remain in a village atmosphere. There are 8 boutique rooms with private ensuites, aircon, TV/DVD player, bar fridge and free wifi connection. A daily continental breakfast is provided between 7am-10am. There is free 2 hour free parking on Glebe Point Road MON-FRI 8am-6pm (unrestricted evenings and weekends). Glebe's Blackwattle Bay is a five minute walk to the Tramsheds at Harold Park, the Boat House Restaurant then further through to Sydney's historic fish markets. Sydney University, UTS, RPA and Broadway shopping centre are a 10 minute walk away. Be sure to visit Gleebooks and the Saturday markets located in Glebe's Public school. We are pleased to announce that Esca cafe provides 10% off all meals to guests staying at Verona GuestHouse. Please note that our checkin hours are 2pm-8pm daily. We regret that we cannot provide early checkin or late checkout after 10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Verona Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Guesthouse Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing