We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for what we needed but a little overpriced.”
Review of Verona Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Verona Guest House
Ranked #10 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

As much as we enjoyed our stay here, I feel that $195.00 a night (including breakfast) for a guest house is stretching it a bit. Having said that, the kitchen is stocked with all you need for breakfast and available at whatever time you need it! The room is more than large enough - 1 double and one twin bed - comfortable with plenty of pillows. The bathroom though old was clean and serviceable. A great area to stay in, lots of interesting shops, cafes and lovely old houses to look at. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Verona Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We are sorry that you found our guesthouse overpriced. Obviously $195 was for a Saturday night (one night only) and we price ourselves according to similar properties in Sydney. The guesthouse was completely renovated in 2000 as a conversion of our family home, so all facilities including the bathroom are only ten years old.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

As planned, we were back in Sydney and at Verona in August. Once again it exceeded our expectations. The immaculate kitchen is very abundantly stocked, even with an espresso machine for the diehard like me. Our room was clean. comfortable and quiet. The street has many little restaurants which are very affordable. There is a nice supermarket in a mall just a short walk away. The buses at the door take you right downtown.All in all this is about the best 1-location, 2- good value- 3 friendliest place you will find in Sydney. It is now officially our home when we are in town.
Thank you Ben and Juliane.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beenawhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed our visit. The guesthouse is in a lovely part of Sydney, where you can walk to a wide choice of restaurants and to a nice park on the waterfront. Frequent buses connect you to the inner city (about 20 minutes).

We found the Verona to be spotless, orderly and extremely well equipped. They supply current newspapers and magazines and nice places to read them. The eat-in kitchen with its breakfast supplies is available any time of day. I would have preferred two or three small breakfast tables to the very cluttered large one, where you have to sit closer to strangers than is comfortable. However, there are other areas for the less sociable.

Glebe Point is a peninsula. The street has some local traffic during the day but not much at night, so a front room was no problem for us. The bed was ve

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

When planning to come to Sydney for a weekend, and not wanting to stay on the coast we picked this place as it was close to the city and we hadn't been to Glebe before.

It is what the name suggests, a guesthouse and a very good one. The rooms are good and the layout with a big, well equipped kitchen with cereal, fruit, juice, eggs, tea, coffee and so on is excellent. The lounge with TV is great for travellers as you can sit and chat with others. The location is superb as there are a stack of good shops and restaurants up and down the road and the buses available to get around. Try the AB hotel or the Himalayan Char Grill.

The only thing to watch out for is parking. It's inner Sydney and while you can park in the street it is limited to two hours, Monday to Friday between 8am and 6pm. They have a couple of reserved spots out the back got an extra charge.

Our room was good, ground floor at the front, but next time we'll try for one of the up stairs rooms with the balcony. The en suite was a bit tight for space (it is an old house after all) but clean.. Overall a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcrickmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed one night over the weekend. No fuss, nice room friendly people. Top location and a great alternate to 4 start hotel accomodation. Rooms are simple but nice- bathroom a little on the small size but due to the historic building its in. Beds comfy

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

When we arrived we were told where everything was, which was good, didn't have to ask. Friendly staff, the rooms very clean, having a kitchen open 24/7 is a good idea. Great area with buses right outside to the CBD. We will diffently be back next time in Syd. Thank u for a lovely stay. From Nth QLD.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelier8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The guest house was in an area close to great cafes and interesting shops. A frequent bus service to Circular Quay ran past the door and the light rail was just a short walk away. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The manager was available and helpful. Breakfast was available at anytime and the kitchen was well stocked with a range of breakfast foods.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor avoided stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Hotel Challis
#50 of 180 in Sydney
729 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#105 of 180 in Sydney
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vulcan Hotel
#79 of 180 in Sydney
409 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#81 of 180 in Sydney
1,065 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#127 of 180 in Sydney
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verona Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verona Guest House

Address: 224 Glebe Point Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $116 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verona Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2017 Tripadvisor, Trivago and HotelsCombined Winner, Verona Guest House is one of six identical villas known as the Doctors' Houses in Glebe's prestigious Toxteth Estate. Just 10 minutes to the CBD via light rail or bus, it is the ideal location for those wishing to explore the city yet remain in a village atmosphere. There are 8 boutique rooms with private ensuites, aircon, TV/DVD player, bar fridge and free wifi connection. A daily continental breakfast is provided between 7am-10am. There is free 2 hour free parking on Glebe Point Road MON-FRI 8am-6pm (unrestricted evenings and weekends). Glebe's Blackwattle Bay is a five minute walk to the Tramsheds at Harold Park, the Boat House Restaurant then further through to Sydney's historic fish markets. Sydney University, UTS, RPA and Broadway shopping centre are a 10 minute walk away. Be sure to visit Gleebooks and the Saturday markets located in Glebe's Public school. We are pleased to announce that Esca cafe provides 10% off all meals to guests staying at Verona Guest House. Please note that our checkin hours are 2pm-8pm daily. We regret that we cannot provide early checkin or late checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Verona Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Guesthouse Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing