We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience for us”

Whale Watching Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale watching Sydney offers daily cruises from Darling Harbour and Circular Quay to watch Humpback whales. Whale watching Sydney (Bass & Flinders Cruises), have been operating since 1979 and whale watching since 1991. Award winning Australian certified eco-tours. Success rate is 98% and all cruises are guaranteed to see whales. Also, see other marine wildlife such as dolphins, albatross, seals and the beautiful coastline of Sydney. Check website for rates & specials.
London
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Good experience for us”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

$54 for a 2hr trip on a fast boat through the harbour and then out through the heads to search for whales is a pretty good deal. We were blessed with good weather and saw a pod of 4-5 humpbacks between Dover Heights and Coogee. Our trip the previous day had been cancelled due to the fleet review but this was communicated to us well and the refund for our two friends who were unable to make the next day was processed quickly with no issues. The staff member on board was friendly and whilst this isn't the scientific or "Eco" experience you can find elsewhere in the world, it's good fun and the whales provide more than enough entertainment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    88
    27
    11
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Whale of a Birthday”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Decided to celebrate a birthday by getting a group together to go whale watching in Sydney Harbour. Booking was easy online, we booked well in advance since we had such a large group of about 14 people. When we arrived it was easy to find and the staff were fun and friendly. I must admit I did not expect to see any whales since the ocean is so big. What I didn't get until we got out there, is that the Sydney Harbour region is part of a "whale super-highway" so we got to see about ten whales!

The trip was two hours, about half of which was speeding out to the Maroubra over some pretty choppy waves. Some people experienced sea sickness, so perhaps if you think you will feel ill take some pills for that. Also i recommend a raincoat because its pretty splashy. I took a camera and managed to get some great closeups of the whales as some surfaced within a few metres of the boat, which i think was very lucky of us. Operating a camera on a rolling boat with fast moving subjects is quite a challenge.

Seeing whales blowing water and flipping their tales is an amazing experience and quite a thrill. They are huge and beautiful animals and their journey across the ocean is fascinating and epic. Definitely go and see them at least once, this is a quick trip and reasonably priced, with great info from the boat driver too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect day second time around!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 days in Sydney and were really excited to go whale watching as it was top of the to do list! We were warned when we got on the boat that it was going to be a rocky ride and that if you got seasick you could come back another day - unfortunately we didn't take their advice! We took sea sickness tablets so weren't sick, but a lot of people were and we didn't see any whales on our trip. The good news is that we were allowed to come back the next day and the sea was a lot calmer and we saw whales on numerous occasions right up close to the boat! It was worth the second trip, they were amazing! Only advice would be that if they advice it will be rocky, go back on a different day when it isn't! Great day out

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CoupleabroadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“sea sick and no whales to be seen”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

As soon as we headed of even after taking a sea sick tablet more than 13 of us were all sea sick and vomiting in bags, with no sympathy from the crew who were laughing at us complaining how sick we were. I could not bear 3 hours of this and asked to go back 15 minutes earlier that was a bug fat no. And what did we see nothing 2 dolphins and just the hump of a whale so dont think your going to see what they show you on the brochure and on the web site you have to buy the dvd for those photos. So we were just sitting out there for over 1 hour to see nothing and just being sick, so if you get a bit sea sick do not try this.
So i did not think even with being sick or not being sick its not worth the money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cremebrulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneywhalewatcher, Manager at Whale Watching Sydney, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We get so few complaints from our crew about passengers. The are normally very tolerant and understanding and try to help people if they are feeling unwell. They do as much as they can to help everyone on board and especially those that feel seasick ,which is not a nice feeling.
I happened to be in the office when this reviewer called in, it was 40-50 minutes into the cruise and there was a threat to post a bad tripadvisor review if the boat was not turned around because they were feeling seasick.
Unfortunately seasickness is an issue with our tours, because the whales are in the ocean there is always this risk. But we do what we can to minimize it and give a full and frank review of the sea conditions before we head out , let passengers change bookings to different days if concerned and recommend strongly to take preventatives. Sometimes this does not work and some people get sick, but it would be very unfair to turn the boat around for 1 or even 5 sick people when 70 more passengers were watching the whales and enjoying the cruise.
We are sorry the reviewer did not enjoy their cruise, but we will always try and do the best for all the passengers on the trip and not give preference to one above the others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Breathtaking.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The weather was perfect, Sydney Harbour at it's best and the crew were fantastic. We went 12 nautical miles out from the coast where we were "mugged" (the whales came right up to our boat and talked to us) by 7 whales and 20 dolphins! The whales were still playing, but we had to eventually go back to the harbour:( this is well worth the money!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rellyandrollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watching Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Whale Watching Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing