We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient, but no WI-FI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valentine On George
Ranked #110 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and convenient, but no WI-FI”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Conveniently located in the Haymarket area of Sydney, close to the railway station and other public transport. Clean, room serviced daily. Comfortable for short term stays, good shower point and bathroom. Alas, no WI-FI for computer junkies.

Room Tip: Most rooms are close to the elevator, so there is no trouble getting in and out of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney53727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    65
    35
    9
    18
See reviews for
11
74
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for the long weekend. Most friendly staff, cleanliness, the beds and pillows are to die for. Love this place, don't look any further. No one will beat their price. Thai restaurant one door down, exceptional. Love it love it love it. Will come again.

Room Tip: Quite as quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice place with easy access to everywhere.
Great value for the price we paid and the staff were very nice. Quite a few decent restaurants in walking distance and public transport was really close depending on where you wanted to head.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location is just perfect if you're arriving by train (5 min walk from Central Station). It's clean, kind of quirky, a little bit odd and fairly no-frills. We also got turfed out at 2am due to a false fire alarm, but even that was kind of fun. The price is really good for the location. The television isn't the best, but you get a pretty good (if a bit old) Bose sound system. There are lots of restaurants, cafes and bars close by and it feels like a safe location (even at 2 in the morning!). If you want a fancy hotel with room service and matching bed side lamps then this isn't the hotel for you. But if you don't mind something a little bit different that is close to everything without being noisy, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodJohnButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights as we needed an affordable hotel close to the entertainment centre. The room was a very decent size with a comfortable bed and a small lounge area. We loved the location, just a few minutes walk to central station and the entertainment centre. The staff was friendly. It was good value if you need a hotel near the CBD and you are not planning to spend a lot of time in your hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reina1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night to get an early train from Central. It was a quick walk to the station, 10 minutes at the most. It was close to Chinatown so there were plenty of options for dinner. The staff were very polite and helpful. The highlight for me was the design of the room. Impressive decor, well set out, the room was classy and did a lot with limited space. My king suite was on the top floor and had a great view of Central. The only downside was that the hotel was a little difficult to find as the signage was limited. Otherwise it was a great stay in a very secure building.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imogenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed here as a solo female traveller and the hotel was perfect. The room was modern and quirky with very comfy beds and modern decor. It was easy to get everywhere from the hotel and the reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly (especially Azlam who is an absolute gem and went above and beyond to help me).
Being a solo traveller I was consicence of security and a safe location and this hotel was extremely safety conscience with only guests being admitted or if not a guest you had to buzz the reception staff to be let in. I had read other reviews about it being hard to find but I am not sure what they are talking about as I found it incredibly easy to locate being just off George St on Valentine St (plus it does have the name about the reception door!)
The hotel is located just near the markets and around the corner from Darling Harbour. A short bus trip takes you to Circular Quay down George Street but if you are prepared to walk most of Sydney's attractions are within an easy 1/2 hour walk.
Do yourself a favour and stay there as you won't get better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dadunn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#96 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#63 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentine On George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentine On George

Property: Valentine On George
Address: 21 Valentine Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentine On George 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Valentine On George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentine On George Sydney
Valentine On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing