We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real one off!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Valentine On George
Ranked #119 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed March 14, 2014

After an unpleasant experience with a taxi driver who had never heard of this hotel or this street - despite 25 years in the business! - we were feeling quite apprehensive when we walked into the rather cramped, uninteresting foyer. Our spirits picked up a little with the friendly check-in service we received only to be deflated again when four of us squeezed out of the lift on the third floor with our cases and met up with someone else trying to get into the lift in a corridor that we could barely all fit!
When we opened the door to our room we were very pleasantly surprised. We had a corner position and once we opened all the blinds (yes, they were a challenge) we had an expansive, wrap around view. The décor was rather odd to say the least - 60's low slung chairs and tables, cubist glass shelving, a cubist TV enclosed in glass, stainless steel desk & tabletop, hidden handles everywhere and a very odd mismatch of lighting ... but somehow, in its oddness, it kind of worked! The facilities were great, the king bed was very comfortable with wonderful, large, down pillows and the bathroom was spacious and smartly appointed. We had a very comfortable 2 night stay and loved the convenience of this hotel's position - We'll definitely be going back!

Room Tip: A corner room is great for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights on a sydney getaway with my husband and honestly the only fault was the lack of TV channels (but who cares- we were out and about enjoying sydney anyways) Room was clean with nice modern bathroom. The room was cleaned daily. Staff were very helpful. Great location and easy walk to train station and attractions. Coming back in March!

Room Tip: Great Value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zarah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My daughter and her friend booked a twin room to arrive and have a king. Staff would not honour their request for separate beds, they ate there for four nights and their first trip away without parents, very very disappointing and not expected in a service driven industry.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A bit apprehensive at first because of the reviews here, we arrived to find ourselves standing on the street with no-one answering the doorbell. Our taxi driver worriedly asked if we needed to use his phone (Despite his 40 years of driving in Sydney, he did not know there was a hotel at this location--a well-known travel guide describes the hotel as a 'hip boutique hotel hidden behind a nondescript doorway', which should give you an idea.). We did have to call up for someone to open the door for us.

We were in the Terrace Suite for 5 days and initially things seemed to be going all wrong. The air con was not cold enough. A lamp in the Master room was not working.The safe was low on battery and could not be locked. However, to the credit of the hotel management, all our issues were promptly attended to and taken care of within a reasonable amount of time.

Let me add that this hotel is Malaysian-owned or at least operated by Malaysians and thus attracts a fair share of Malaysian tourists, and is a kind of secret tip among Malaysian government servants (not least because of the halal restaurant serving Malaysian food downstairs). Maintenance can be an issue. I think it would help if guests were escorted to the rooms and instructed in the use of the light dimmers (the wonky dimmers suggest some guests have problems with these), or perhaps printed instructions would help. Similarly with the window blinds -- judging by the tangled strings, there are guests who have difficulty with these (curtains would be more user-friendly?). I was somewhat unhappy that the second bathroom was missing a toilet seat cover.

The room itself was a real surprise in Sydney where hotel rooms can be cramped. Two comfortably-sized bedrooms and TWO bathrooms (one with a tub that came in handy after walking around Sydney all day) AND a sitting room AND two terraces is a real treat. The terraces take away that feeling of claustrophobia one sometimes gets staying in the middle of the city.

I wouldn't exactly call this a 'hip boutique hotel'. I didn't care for the decor too much, as the Master room seems a bit bare we more without anything on the walls. The table lamps were also oddly mismatched. And I think it would have been more useful to have hanging space in the wardrobes rather than just shelves because the curtained rack is an eyesore to look at when lying on the bed. Of course, when you are thinking of staying at this hotel, you are obviously on some kind of budget so it seems unimportant to discuss interior design.

All in all I feel that we got a really good deal and I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends, and would stay there again myself. The location is really excellent, most places one needs to go as a visitor are either within walking distance or a short bus ride away, with the bus stop just a stone's throw from the hotel.

If there is one thing I would comment on, it is that an unsettling cockroach-y smell comes up from the bathroom drains. I hope the management can look into this.

Room Tip: Terrace suite (for families) because of the outdoor terrace, for a bit of breathing space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h4ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

If staying on a saturday night you need to be aware of the full hour long church bell session from 8-9am across the road - with encores. No kidding. Not exactly hang over compatible. Hotel people and room were pleasant enough though

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Joseph2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Valentin on George is a good pick for a budget stay. It is located at walking distance from Central Station and has several restaurants and cafes that you can walk to. The staff is polite and accommodative but overworked. The reception staff has to simultaneously work in the hotel restaurant that is adjacent to the reception desk. The reception desk is therefore left unattended oftentimes and the guests are compelled to physically approach the desks for sorting out issues.
The room was clean, had a comfortable king sized bed and plenty of sunshine in the mornings. I loved the room décor and the eco-friendly lighting arrangement. The lovely view of the clock tower of Central Railway Station did not make us feel the void of a wall-clock in the room. However, the furniture/electronics set-up had a few problems. There was no microwave, but the hot water kettle heated water as quickly as a microware would and we made our morning coffee quite efficiently. The TV was a small CRT unit and could not be viewed from the bed. I quite liked the cool tinted semi-transparent TV casing that allowed you to glance into the inner circuitry of the old-world TVs. The internet was only accessible at the desk with the use of a plug-in wire. No wi-fi was available. That was a bit of an inconvenience, especially after long tiring days in the city, at the end of which you want to relax in bed and surf the internet.
Overall, it’s a good pick if you aren’t going to spend too much time at the hotel room and simply need a quiet, clean place to crash at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Minal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fantastic location just off George St and within a few minutes' walk from Central Station. Close to Chinatown and Darling Harbour, and an easy walk to the CBD.

The hotel is small, but the rooms are spacious for the price. Yes, the floors are concrete, and the rooms are furnished in a quirky style, but the rooms are serviced every day and a complimentary copy of the local tabloid is thrown in for those of us who enjoy a laugh. There is a sitting area separate to the bed and cushions on a window box, so there isn't a feeling that the room is just space around a bed. However, there wasn't any lighting over the area, so you had to sit on the bed to have enough light to read by in the evenings.

We didn't try the restaurant downstairs or room service, but the prices seemed reasonable. We were able to store our bags securely, free of charge, the day we checked out.

Would I stay here again? Yes, absolutely. If you want a gym and a business centre, this might not be the place for you. But the price you paid for the room will have given you a clue about what facilities to expect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubycles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#25 of 179 in Sydney
154 reviews
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#100 of 179 in Sydney
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Hotel CBD
Sydney Hotel CBD
#121 of 179 in Sydney
214 reviews
Capitol Square Hotel
#155 of 179 in Sydney
513 reviews
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#109 of 179 in Sydney
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentine On George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentine On George

Address: 21 Valentine Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $97 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentine On George 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Valentine On George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentine On George Sydney
Valentine On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing