We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bang for $$$”
Review of Lido Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lido Suites
Ranked #46 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I recently stayed here during the annual Mardi Gras. Impressed with very reasonable room prices during a main event. Great location for walking to many & varied good eateries & bars and to the city. There is a residents roof bar BYO which is great for groups travelling together. Found it amusing that the reception had complimentary ear plugs for those in rooms at the front of the building. Recommend you request rooms at the back of the building. 3 floors accessed by stairs & small lift & about 38 rooms. We were a group of 15 - all rooms were large, old style with clean linen & kitchenette. While the bathroom was adequate, a good dose of bleach on the tiles would be recommended & water temperature is a roulette wheel. All staff were enthusiastic & very informative.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of the building to avoid street noise
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyjayne1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Lido Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 162 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

Average clean rooms. helpful front desk staff. comfy bed. centrally located in kings cross. close to practically everything. lots of cafes in the area which are open till really late. also close to 5 night clubs including 2 just adjacent to the property so the immediate neighbourhood tends to get very noisy on friday and saturday nights till 4 am.

Room Tip: take a room on the higher floors so to stay more away from the noise.get ear muffs, even better.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docpathare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked this hotel two weeks before we traveled to Sydney and it was one of the only hotels available. We paid almost $300 for one Saturday night and this was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. Online it is advertised as being in Pott's Point, but nowhere does it mention Kings Cross. The staff were friendly and helpful, but aside from that it was terrible. The room was relatively clean but the rest of the hotel was no good - the lift and lobby were scary and ancient.

The worst thing about this hotel was the noise. If they took the time to double glaze the windows then it might have been bearable but the noise is horrible. We did not sleep at all. The staff provided us with ear plugs and were apologetic about the noise.
There was also problems with many of the appliances they provide you with. The air conditioner hummed and rattled most of the night and the iron was covered in burnt bits which made it impossible to use!

If you are booking early, definitely choose another hotel. For the amount of money we paid this hotel was absolutely horrible. Our fault for not booking early!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed one Sunday night here January 2014 and found the experience fairly average. The reception staff were reasonably helpful and polite. The room was quite small considering the hotel is called Lido "Suites" and faced directly onto a brick wall but was adequate for a one night stay. There was some noise from a nightclub next door but didn't go too late on a Sunday and this is afterall King's Cross (Sydney and Australia's largest red-light district/entertainment precinct) and I wasn't really expecting the quiet of the countryside. So, to sum up - on OK place for a night as long as you're not an early to bed sort of person but there are much better places in the price range in the area so maybe shop around a bit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful minus the cheerful. Watch out for the massive attitude on the cleaners!

Staff at counter downstairs helpful and security good. Yes it's has lots of street noise but you are in kings cross.

I won't bother staying again. Plenty of choice out there.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Melhill96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Was stationed at 'Lido Suites' in April this year. Although Kings Cross is known for its notorious reputation for being a bikies haven and a nightclub hotspot, due to police presence I felt very safe in and around the burb. Awesome property but the only downside is the noise. I was on the 3rd floor of the property but the noise was awful - I had a good one night stay and would come back again if only for the noise in the room. Perhaps they ought to install double glazed windows to combat the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms as high as you can to avoid street level noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vermilion777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Located in the red light district of Sydney this hotel is exposed to a lot of noise at night. The two nights I stayed there from thursday to saturday the noise were quite "intense". On the other hand if you are in Sydney to party it might be your choice.

The room is basic with a good queen size bed, small kitchen, flat screen TV and a good size Bathroom.

The maintenance level is low which gives the housekeeping a difficult job keeping an acceptable level of the cleaning which leaves the rooms dirty. As an example I found a lot of mold In the bathroom window.

We were not able to use the bed light as this coursed a short circuit and the power outlet got really hot. Coming back from the city the second evening we thought the issue had been taken care of but instead we experienced a second short circuit with sparks coming out of the outlet and a black marks on the outlet.

The staff were kind but did not seem to have the authority to fix the problems.

Now things like this could be expected on a "back packer" discount hotel but the price for two nights were more than 500$. Even without the short circuit incident the value of the service delivered compared to the price is very poor.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jedione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#98 of 178 in Sydney
45 reviews
Hotel Challis
#48 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 178 in Sydney
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#83 of 178 in Sydney
1,033 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 178 in Sydney
537 reviews
Springfield Lodge
#9 of 57 in Sydney
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Suites

Address: 2 Roslyn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Leisure Inn Suites Kings Cross)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $78 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lido Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing