We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, great prices if on special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #110 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Convenient location, great prices if on special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and once again were lucky enough to get the special rate, we were even luckier and got an upgrade from a studio to a 2 bedroom apartment so for $115/night a greater bargain would be hard to find. The apartment is fully self contained, a few minutes to Darling Harbour, quiet, clean etc etc.

There are only 2 improvements, the first is a big one and I fed it back last time, there NEEDS to be a ramp installed for luggage coming into the hotel, there are only about 10 steps but to be honest dragging baggage up steps is inconvenient and can damage luggage, seriously it would cost less than $50 to put in a plank of wood to roll the bags up. Secondly in the 2 bedroom there is a TV downstairs in the lounge but none upstairs, if staying with kids one in both bedrooms would be great, again TV's aren't expensive, good size ones now are around $200 or $300.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DongaraOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am please that you were happy with your overall stay at the Oaks Goldsbrough. Thank you for your comments regarding the ramp at the front door. This is something that we are attempting to work with the Body Corporate to rectify. In regards to the TV’s we are also considering this option to install them in the bedrooms. I thank you again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    792
    512
    275
    276
See reviews for
634
649
111
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Oaks Goldsbrough is close to Darling Harbour, the Maritime Museum, Star City and the casinos, the Lyric Theatre, it's a short walk to Chinatown, maybe a 30 brisk minute stroll to Circular Quay and the business end of Sydney … so the location is reasonably convenient, if a little farther away from the harbour sights than some might want. The apartment was modern (generic contemporary furniture), well-equipped, quite roomy and quite light.
The Oaks is not especially character-ful, it's a converted old warehouse (wool store?) that clearly houses a mix of let apartments and residents. The hotel interior is interesting, walkways in a long narrow atrium-like space, not a problem in any way but kinda weird.
I was there alone and didn't really use the kitchen facilities - but the washer / dryer was in good working order and very useful form someone travelling light. The apartment would certainly be suitable for couples and families.
The staff were great - friendly, appropriately knowledgeable, even enthusiastic. There's a car parking deal, be aware that the procedure is a little complicated.
I got a deal online through Qantas and booked well in advance so it was reasonable value - especially given that Sydney is now a very expensive city.
Overall … recommended if the price is right, especially for families not in a hurry and planning to enjoy the Darling Harbour area.

Room Tip: I had a rear room which looked over a building site on one side and a brick will on the other. I im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, General Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Garry,

Thank you so much for sharing your great experience at Oaks Goldsbrough and describing the unique building architectural qualities, in-room facilities and quality customer service. The Goldsbrough team strives to ensure each guest as a great experience during their stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Manager – Oaks Goldsbrough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after taking part in the International Fleet Review. I'd been 10 days at sea and in need of laundry facilities and a nice comfortable bed after days of sleep deprivation and sleeping in a hammock. This place didn't disappoint. A large, well equipped apartment that you'd be proud to take guests back to for a few drinks (not that I did).
Albeit enclosed, unusually these apartments have a yard out front though why you'd want to sit "outside" in a building I'm not sure. I had a few issues here that prevents the highest score. The tumble dryer didn't work and it took a while to get maintenance down but they kindly extended my stay at no charge to allow me to dry my togs. I couldn't get the TV working but I'm sure that was down to my ineptitude being so tired. All in all a nice stay with loads of space and only a few minutes walk from the harbour. In fact I got a cab literally from one side of the road to the other because I had lots of baggage and imagined this was going to be some walk - but no!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyHammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Front Office Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Tony,

Thank you so much for sharing your great experience at Oaks Goldsbrough, the Goldsbrough team strives to ensure each guest as a great experience during their stay. I will though look into the maintenance concerns you raised, We hope to see you again soon when you are back in the Harbour City!

Kind Regards,

Hotel Manager – Oaks Goldsbrough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The staff were nice except for one very rude unhelpful women. We arrived late as our flight was delayed went in to our level 2 room and had a very loud gittar player next door the staff did stop him. Couldn't really use the oven as there were no trays did laundry dryer did not work and was not fixed for our three night stay asked if there was another we could use very rude woman said no then another woman was very helpful but still no one came to fix it! Had to fly back with a load of dirty laundry! Then on our last night the extremely loud fire alarm went off at 2 in the morning . Location was good but I do believe that for 200 a night you should provide what was advertised or at least move us into a fully functional room

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vttracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, General Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear vttracey

Thank you for your review, I do apologise for the maintenance issue that occurred during your stay. Understand I now know of the unit number and I will address with the maintenance department and front desk department. I am glad you were overall happy with the service of the staff however I will address the importance of consist quality customer service.

We do hope to see you back at Oaks Goldsbrough.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Manager – Goldsbrough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My stay at this apartment was disappointing. The rates are high and you do not get what you would get for the same price in hotels in Sydney. It is built like a fortress and unless you like a concrete jungle experience, don't bother to stay here. It was a claustrophobic experience. Lighting in the room was stark. Furniture cheap. Colours drab. Kitchen outdated. All this for boutique prices. I am glad I booked for one night, but even that was too much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, General Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Jane F,

Firstly thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough. Although the comments are not favourable, they will assist The Goldsbrough Management Team on improving services to all guests. Goldsbrough is a heritage building, with the architecture of the building being very unique.

If you would like to discuss your stay further with myself please email your contact details to hmgoldsbrough@theoaksgroup.com.au.

Again thank you for review.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager – Oaks Goldsbrough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We Recently stayed in Goldsbrough Apartments in Darling Harbour for three weeks .The accommodation was spacious and clean.Staff were friendly and helpful .The location was good and easy to reach all the interesting places. Will visit again .Eileen Mackley 25th October 2013.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and one that faces the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, General Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Eileen,


Thank you so much for sharing your great experience at Oaks Goldsbrough, the Goldsbrough team strives to ensure each guest as a great experience during their stay. We hope to see you again when you are back in the Harbour City!

Kind Regards,

Hotel Manager – Oaks Goldsbrough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a strange, no, quirky apartment building. It's essentially in the heart of Darling Harbour, but because there is an expressway separating it from the harbour it's a little difficult to navigate by foot. It's easy enough by taxi, and easy enough once you are there, but finding it on foot for the first time is painful.

Having said that, the apartments are really good and have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Kitchen space is ample, as is the living area. No outside noise was noticeable and there is a lovely view of the city skyline (at least from level 6 there was), in fact, the only noise that filters into the room is from the internal walkways as they are wooden and anyone with heels clip-clops along quite loudly.

The wireless (which you have to pay extra for) is patchy - one minute it's flying and the next it's non-existent. So that was a bit disappointing.

I didn't try the pool, though I spoke with a couple who did and they said it was fine.

Would I stay here again? Yes, for sure.

Room Tip: Any room on the upper levels facing the city has a great skyline view at night. I found the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadleyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, General Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear HeadleyM ,


Thank you so much for sharing your great experience at Oaks Goldsbrough, the Goldsbrough team strives to ensure each guest as a great experience during their stay. I have noted the speed issues with the WIFI on level 6 and have passed the information onto IT to investigate. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Manager – Oaks Goldsbrough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#75 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#101 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Property: Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing