We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #112 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The oaks is fantastically located right in darling harbour. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms clean, comfortable and spacious. Whilst not a luxury location, the oaks provides great value for money and I would definitely stay again.

My only suggestion is perhaps a system to request not all the towels be changed quite so frequently.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the apartment and that the location and facilities were desirable for your needs while in Sydney. I appreciate your kind comments regarding the staff and will be sure to pass them on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed overnight as we were seeing a show at the nearby Lyric theatre.very clean, very well appointed, fantastic value for money with washing machine, dryer, ironing board,dishwasher, full stove, microwave, austar. Great walkway across to Darling Harbour, short walk to casino, light rail station downstairs, we will definitely be staying again. Our room was a studio apartment

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Zena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your post. I am very pleased to hear that you found the location to be so convenient. I hope that the next time you are in Sydney you have the opportunity of experiencing one of our Darling Harbour View rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, helpful Staff. Comfortable home away from home. We come to Darling Harbour once a year for trade shown and this is the best stay for us yet.

Full of amenities!

Looking forward to the completion of the new convention Centre so we can be back at our new Darling Harbour place!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank PJE125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

I would like to sincerely thank you for your post. I am very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I appreciate your positive comments about the staff and will surely pass the feedback on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This converted wool warehouse is well located with a very short walk to Darling Harbour via a walkway from level 2 of the building. The apartment was well presented, with beautiful views across the harbour and serviced daily with well equipped kitchen and washing machine/tumble drier in the bathroom. The reception staff were friendly on check in but when asking the concierge to confirm a pre-booked tour for us, he did not have a 'can do' attitude. Wifi was available for 30 minutes every 24 hours but was very slow. We were disappointed that the safe in the room didn't work and were told that 'none of the safes work' when we asked about it. We also would have liked comprehensive room notes giving us local information e.g. the location of the nearest supermarket, where to buy a travel multi pass etc. Reception was very busy to ask these questions in person or by phone. The lift system was dire with lifts very slow and lots of guests waiting for them to arrive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities within the apartment. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. I will be sure to thank them for their efforts. We are currently looking to improve our Wi-Fi services and hope the connectivity problem will be rectified in the near future. I do take your comments on board in regards to the in-room local information guide and will be discussing this further with the management. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was an unusual place, apartments all built high in the old wool mill. Felt like walking into stables when we first arrived.
The rooms were very clean, although very old, the room service was great. Close to
Attractions at Darling Harbour and surrounding areas.
Reception was very friendly, most obliging and very helpful.
We were lucky and found it on Wotif for a remarkably less price than normal.
We only needed it for a couple of nights. We would stay there again, but certainly would not pay the full price for a stay

Room Tip: Ask for water views. We had an orange wall to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majella_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you found the staff to be helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This has been my fourth stay at the Oaks Goldsbrough in Darling Harbor and the first time for my husband. We spent a week in a two bedroom self contained apartment which was serviced daily.
The Oaks Goldsbrough has a pool, spa and a well equipped gym. Not that I used it this time. Another important aspect of the hotel is that the beds are very comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly and the Hotel is very close to transport which makes it easy to get around Sydney.
One thing we would suggest is that the maintenance people should check all the taps in the bathrooms as some of the tap in our apartment were hard to turn off.
My husband would give the Oaks Goldsbrough 3.5 star but I would give it 4 stars because of the service.
We will stay at the Oaks Goldsbrough again when we go to Sydney.

Room Tip: Make sure you book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

I would like to sincerely thank you for your post. I will be sure you share your encouraging words with the staff and thank them for their efforts. It is always a pleasure to read the review of repeat guests. We do have an My Oaks loyalty program available for all our valued guests which entitles to the specially discounted prices at all of our Oaks properties across Australia, New Zealand & Dubai. Please be sure to remind us of your next visit and we would be happy to give your further details about the membership. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights on the first floor on the very Eastern end and the traffic would start on the freeways at about 4:00 am it felt like they were about to drive through the wall , shower in the bath with a pretty daggy shower screen but very spacious with a full size kitchen. Well located for Darling harbor with very easy walking access. Not sure if we would recommend this hotel but then if you were in a different room ?...

Room Tip: Avoid the highway room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your post. I am sorry that the room location did not meet your expectations. Being an old wool store centrally located in the Darling Harbour area the layout and design of the building does make some of the apartments prone to the traffic noise. And the apartments are allocated on the day of arrival however staff has always been proactive in offering the best solution of moving to a quieter room for any such guest concerns. Thank you for your and the positive feedback regarding the location. I will certainly take all your comments into consideration and I thank you again for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Oaks on Castlereagh
#69 of 179 in Sydney
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $148 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing