We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing gold about this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #115 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Nothing gold about this place”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place had no business centre, poor wireless even if you pay full rates, no concierge, poor parking, staff that failed to clean units fully, and disinterested staff on the front desk. They were understaffed continually and pretty much exhausted.
Rooms were tired but big. Lifts either didn't work or were so full you have to wait up to 10 minutes for one . No one staying there appeared satisfied, quite the reverse.

Room Tip: Pick somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taniaaspland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your post. I am sorry that your expectations were not met. We are currently embarking on a refurbishment of 60 apartments. We are aiming to lift the overall standard by modernising these rooms and bringing them inline with the 4 star standard at of oaks vision. I have also taken on board your comments regarding the staff and I will work with them in an effort to improve this shortfall. I hope when you are next in Sydney you have the opportunity of experiencing one of these apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    823
    533
    290
    288
See reviews for
655
675
115
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

3 nights stayed and it was a pleasure to do so. We had a 2 bed apartment and also had a couple of balconies to sit outside. Rooms were clean and also had a limited amount of Foxtel TV channels. An easy 5 minute walk to Darling Harbour. Staff were very pleasant and checking in and out was a breeze. No complaints what so ever and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seat151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the location and had an enjoyable stay. I hope to welcome you back when you are next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is one block back from Darling Harbour with a walkover to the monorail and lightrail and onto Darling Harbour. We were able to catch the light rail down to the casino and the fish market and used the monorail into town and back to Darling Harbour. The facilities were clean, the staff pleasant and we had everything we needed. The hotel is a redeveloped heritage listed woolstore, the corridors are timber and feature many of the original wood and structure and is a great atmosphere about it. There are a few little cafes nearby for breakfast/brunch and a lovely day spa just out the front.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom unit that faced onto the freeway flyover but was still quiet and no issues of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased to hear that you found enjoyed your stay and the apartment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our family holiday started with 2 days at the Oaks Goldsbrough. Having not stayed in Sydney before, we couldn't have picked a better place. The appartments were very nice and modern. Walking distance to main attractions like Darling Harbour, IMAX, Australian Maritime Museum, Shopping and Restaurants and the Monorail.
We enjoyed it so much that i would most definitely go back next time i go to sydney.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased to hear that you found enjoyed your stay and found the lo9cation to be such a positive attribute. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ended up booking this acommodation at the last minute when we decided to stay over for an extra night. Good location but rooms are a bit dated. Bathrooms have the usual shower head over the bath with an old shower curtain. We were in a smoking room which we didn't request and it was quite obvious by the smell. Reception staff were fine and we did get into our room early. Bed linen was fine, kitchen crockery basic and no towels/cloths were provided to wash your crockery to be able to use again. Rooms were dark and ours overlooked the front of the property but with a big tree obstructing our view. The inside of the property was like a jail, there are metal rails separating each room. Bedroom was at the front of the room so we heard people trudging past all night with their luggage. Probably wouldn't stay here again but it was down to cost but it certainly wasn't the worst place I have stayed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your post. I am sorry that your expectations were not met. We are currently embarking on a refurbishment of 60 apartments. We are aiming to lift the overall standard by modernising these rooms and bringing them inline with the 4 star standard at of Oaks vision. I am concerned to hear that you believe you were in a smoking room as all of our rooms are non smoking. This is something which I will endeavour to patrol. I hope when you are next in Sydney you have the opportunity of experiencing one of our refurbished apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were 3 girls staying at the Goldsbrough for 4 nights whilst in Sydney for a work conference. The apartment was spacious, very clean and had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets. It was great to have so much space and a kitchen and washing machine as we were back and forward from the event.
The location was fantastic as our conference was at the convention centre and the Darling Harbour Shops were right on our door.
The staff were friendly and very acommodating.
One of the best things was that we were able to chcek in early (at 9am!) and on the day we flew out they allowed us to come back that afternoon and use the showers / change rooms in the pool area. This meant we were able to spend the day in Bondi and not be covered in sand on the plane.
One thing to note was the master bedroom was noisy as it had a motorway below it. Ear plugs sorted this out and I guess it is just a trade off for such a central location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louie255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased to hear that you found enjoyed your stay and the apartment. I am very happy that we were able to accommodate you with an early check-in. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked this hotel for its central location to Darling Harbour, Check in was not easy but we arrived in a busy period. The room was spacious, clean and adequately equipped. The converted wool store was a impressive feature of the hotel as we stayed in a similar appointed hotel in Bangkok. We have stayed in a worse hotel in London and paid twice as much for the experience. Overall we found the hotel good, as we only use the rooms for sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. Thank you for your and the positive feedback regarding the location. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#69 of 178 in Sydney
653 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Property: Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing