We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can find better accommodtion elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #115 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Kilmarnock
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can find better accommodtion elsewhere”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ended up booking this acommodation at the last minute when we decided to stay over for an extra night. Good location but rooms are a bit dated. Bathrooms have the usual shower head over the bath with an old shower curtain. We were in a smoking room which we didn't request and it was quite obvious by the smell. Reception staff were fine and we did get into our room early. Bed linen was fine, kitchen crockery basic and no towels/cloths were provided to wash your crockery to be able to use again. Rooms were dark and ours overlooked the front of the property but with a big tree obstructing our view. The inside of the property was like a jail, there are metal rails separating each room. Bedroom was at the front of the room so we heard people trudging past all night with their luggage. Probably wouldn't stay here again but it was down to cost but it certainly wasn't the worst place I have stayed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your post. I am sorry that your expectations were not met. We are currently embarking on a refurbishment of 60 apartments. We are aiming to lift the overall standard by modernising these rooms and bringing them inline with the 4 star standard at of Oaks vision. I am concerned to hear that you believe you were in a smoking room as all of our rooms are non smoking. This is something which I will endeavour to patrol. I hope when you are next in Sydney you have the opportunity of experiencing one of our refurbished apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    837
    544
    298
    290
See reviews for
672
687
115
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were 3 girls staying at the Goldsbrough for 4 nights whilst in Sydney for a work conference. The apartment was spacious, very clean and had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets. It was great to have so much space and a kitchen and washing machine as we were back and forward from the event.
The location was fantastic as our conference was at the convention centre and the Darling Harbour Shops were right on our door.
The staff were friendly and very acommodating.
One of the best things was that we were able to chcek in early (at 9am!) and on the day we flew out they allowed us to come back that afternoon and use the showers / change rooms in the pool area. This meant we were able to spend the day in Bondi and not be covered in sand on the plane.
One thing to note was the master bedroom was noisy as it had a motorway below it. Ear plugs sorted this out and I guess it is just a trade off for such a central location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louie255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased to hear that you found enjoyed your stay and the apartment. I am very happy that we were able to accommodate you with an early check-in. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked this hotel for its central location to Darling Harbour, Check in was not easy but we arrived in a busy period. The room was spacious, clean and adequately equipped. The converted wool store was a impressive feature of the hotel as we stayed in a similar appointed hotel in Bangkok. We have stayed in a worse hotel in London and paid twice as much for the experience. Overall we found the hotel good, as we only use the rooms for sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. Thank you for your and the positive feedback regarding the location. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of our travel agent and it was so horrible that if we had been staying more than 2 nights we would have gone elsewhere. We had a two floor apartment for a family of four. On one side we looked out onto the four line flyover, on the other straight out into the central atrium so you could see into other apartments and everybody walking past. We were on a high floor and the first thing that bothered us was how to get out if there was fire as the design wasn't very reassuring. The lifts needed key cards to be operated but they were highly sensitive - they could stop working between walking from reception to the lift - ours did twice. In total we had to get them to be recoded 6 times - and we weren't in the hotel that much. Although someone came to change the towels and check the bedding, the sides of the rooms and shelves were covered in dust so cleaning couldn't have been that great. I've fed this back to the travel agent too - it was the most expensive place we stayed on our tour and the worst.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for post. I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. The building is a heritage listed building that was established in the 1800’s. The open atrium and the original hardwood floors have been maintained to uphold the authenticity that it was created. The building meets all fire safety requirements and has 4 fully graded fire stairs. Most hotel lifts require swipe card access for security purposes. I am sorry if you had difficulty operating this. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Gold Coast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked at this establishment for its proximity to the Sydney Exhibition Centre. The online photo of the pool looked okay, however it is a total misrepresentation of the offer. The inside of this property is more like what I imagine a prison would look like; I have lived in better appointed Army barracks! On opening the curtains to the window I found a balcony overlooking a plain brick wall. Poor room service, no restaurant or bar and nowhere to get meals or drinks on a room account, uncomfortable bed and an overall depressing atmosphere makes this one of the worst properties I have ever stayed in. Lift service is also very poor with passengers waiting for lengthy periods. I will not entertain any future thoughts of staying at an Oaks property and will most certainly discourage friends and business associates from doing so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diverdean07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the heritage of the building which was built in the 1800’s. Thank you for your feedback and I will be sure to look into some of the issues that you referenced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at Oaks 12 years ago and was quite new. The atrium areas have always looked like a prison, but quite enjoyed our last stay so decided to stay again. It has now become a dump. It is not cheap and at $229 you could do better in Sydney. The taps leak, blind broken and could not open for natural light. Tiles cracked and soiled. Walls are all dirty, marked and half painted. Kitchen is very old, chipped, marked. We had to change our key card 3 times throughout our stay as could not get into our room or at one stage into the building. The lifts are so slow and had issues with keycards trying to get into our floor. The cleaning staff were very polite and our room was cleaned daily but reception staff really need to go and do some customer service courses. Our room was over the freeway and as no double glazing on windows it is very noisy. Would we stay there again, absolutely not. Way too expensive for the condition and service of this hotel. This is not an Oaks but should join the budget hotel chain.

Room Tip: Easy, don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mon0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your post. I am sorry that your expectations were not met. We are currently embarking on a refurbishment of 60 apartments. We are aiming to lift the overall standard by modernising these rooms and bringing them inline with the 4 star standard at of Oaks vision. I hope when you are next in Sydney you have the opportunity of experiencing one of our refurbished apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times over the years, and always been very happy. The position is great, at Darling Harbour. The price is usually good value on the usual internet sites. I've stayed in 2 bedroom units, which have had spacious kitchens and living areas, and studio units, which are also equipped with ovens, dishwashers, king beds, dryers, washers and everything you need. Some of the rooms have city views. The pool is fantastic. Heated and indoor, with a wonderful spa, and adjacent gym. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a city view room. I like a room at the end of the building, as it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your repeated visits. I am very happy to hear that you have has such pleasant experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#70 of 179 in Sydney
670 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Property: Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing