We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #115 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great location, enjoyed our stay very much, the staff were very friendly and helpful, in particular I must mention a great bloke named Sheikh Shahariar who was helpfulness personified, he took a real interest in making our stay really enjoyable, he was a mine of information on how to get about and what to see, always with a big smile and a friendly style.
We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have no balconies, rooms at the rear have balconies but need to be above 10 to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikemmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I would like to thanks you for taking the time share this post. I will be sure to not only pass your kind comments about Sheikh onto him, but also thank him for making your stay so enjoyable. Im sure that other travellers will also find your hints and tips regarding the balconies helpful. I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    854
    556
    307
    295
See reviews for
684
699
120
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Emerald, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed at the Oaks Goldsgrough apartments on Pyrmont st Darling Harbour Sydney for 7 days, we found them very easy to find our way around and were in a great location, just a short walking distance from Darling Harbour. Staff were always very helpfull and willing to answer all our questions as best they can. Our apartment was serviced every day. Car parking was also very easy at Harbour Side Car Park which was across the road. Lots of little cafe's close by if cooking was not your thing, although the kitcken was very well equipt.Indoor swimming pool,spa, sauna and gym were also part of the stay. We will stay again when in Sydney.

Room Tip: Higher level much quieter from traffiic niose
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I went there recently with my family. The receptionist was welcoming. The apartment was clean and spacious. It is closed to darling Harbour. Able to park our car at the designated carpark but its aud 25/day. We managed to get extra towels but it took them around 30mins to respond to us. Overall its a good stay if u have a family and want to walk all over town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to speak with my team to ensure that they are more responsive to future requests such as towels. We hope to see you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a one bedroom harbour view apartment for 5 nights over the Australia Day weekend.

Our great experience began when the lovely receptionist allowed us to check into our room two hours early. Our check in was quick, efficient and I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff, both at check in and whenever we needed advice or had questions. As we were travelling with another couple, it was also extremely nice to be placed in rooms almost next door to each other, which hasn't always been our experience in the past.

We were very lucky to be given room 801, which was right at the end of the floor and had lots of windows and was a very light and airy, clean apartment, with good furniture and a well set up kitchen and living area. The bed was very comfortable and despite all the windows and being next to a major roadway, we weren't particularly aware of any loud traffic noise. Our only gripe would be the shower, which is over the bath (which wasn't a problem) but the shower head is positioned on the long wall of the shower which meant a very narrow space between the head and the shower curtain and we had several bathroom floods as a result until we got used to it.

We made good use of the facilities such as the pool and gym and they were also fantastic.

The Goldsbrough is most impressive because of the fabulous location in Darling Harbour. We used the light rail to get around, with a stop basically across the road and loved that all the attractions of Darling Harbour were just across a short walkway.

We had a really great time at the Oaks and will certainly be looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lilylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I am very happy that you had such a pleasant time with us at the hotel. I will be sure to pass on your nice comments regarding the front desk staff and thank them for their efforts. You make a very valid point about the shower and I will certainly look into this. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This place provides one of the best service apartments in Sydney. If you can get a room in top floor with harbour facing then you have got the deal. If you have plan pleas do an advance booking as getting a room here is pretty difficult. Good room service and maintained well. You can get a good view of darling harbour and CBD from the room. Very near to CBD and located at a convenient place. Darling harbour is just a 5mins walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtkalBarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your post and sharing you experience while at the Oaks Goldsbrough. I am sure that other travellers will find your tips regarding booking the 2 bedroom Harbour View Apartments early as they often sell out at peak times. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our flight into Sydney was delayed more than two hours so not a great start to the weekend. We arrived after midnight so we were all tired and a little grumpy, truth be told. There was one person on reception - which was dingy and not appealing - not unexpected at that hour though. We were checked into a room on the 5th floor and it was a half hour trek from the lift .. well that is what it felt like anyway. There are like 500 apartments in this building with very limited, slow (and small) lifts. So we arrive in our room, ready to go straight to bed and get some shut eye... the room we had been given had not been cleaned. Dirty linen, dirty towels, food scraps everywhere, tv still blaring.... not nice. We call reception... no answer for 4-5 minutes. So down we traipse to reception again. There was NO APOLOGY at all. We were given another room on the 8th floor and closer to the lifts this time. This room had been cleaned. We had three in our party for the Friday night and required a rollaway bed for that night. This was provided but was too small and collapsed at one end due to it being rather rubbish, really. For this we were charged the princely sum of $44 for the night (well, after the delayed flight and the check in debacle it was more like five hours).
The apartment building IS well located and very handy to Darling Harbour and the CBD is only a short walk away, but frankly I would rather pay $400 per night and stay at the Rocks somewhere (my recommendation would be the Four Seasons). The staff were disinterested, the building is really noisy and full of backpacker types, it feels dingy and tired and the rooms are basic at best. I am buggered if I know how they keep a 4 star rating. I would NOT recommend this to family or friends.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the Anzac Road side of the building (lots of road noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoNQCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your post. I am sorry that your expectations were not met. We are currently embarking on a refurbishment of 60 apartments. We are aiming to lift the overall standard by modernising these rooms and bringing them inline with the 4 star standard at of Oaks vision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

All in all, goldsbrough was really nice. I had a harbour view at the 11th story, which is the highest. The apartment was beautifully furnished and I felt just at home!! I have to say, it felt like a hotel! The service was really good and for the first time, I actually look forward to showers cuz usually I don't feel too comfortable in bathrooms other than the one at home. They had everything a house needs, cooking utensils, pans, pots, knives etc, washing machine, dryer etc. I would definitely come back, especially since the location was so near the tram station and the harbour! Perfect!

Room Tip: Harbour view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the apartment was well equipped for you needs. Should you be in Sydney in the future, we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#69 of 179 in Sydney
679 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#104 of 179 in Sydney
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Property: Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing