We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay , Good staff ...but apartment not as photographs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #110 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Soutport Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good stay , Good staff ...but apartment not as photographs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recently stayed here after visiting Melbourne & flying to Sydney for new year fireworks et al .My son booked "Harbour view" apartments online .On arrival check in busy but staff courteous especially "Tahni" -think thats how you spell her name- who was efficient and pleasant organising rooms quickly ...One surprise however was that after paying $4500 up front for the stay I was asked to deposit another $300 dollars - for breakages- which would be returned on departure .Having reached rooms found location and views excellent looking out over Darling harbour , the Sydney City skyline and Anzac bridge and acces to these was within a 10 minute walk wth the the harbour less than Two accessed directly from apartments via a bridge .
The room however although clean was a bit of a let down & bore no resemblance to the "professional photographs " on their web-site . The furniture and Tv were "dated" and tired and the Kitchen followed suit .That said the bedrooms were spotless with crisp white sheets and that compensated to some degree . In all a good Holiday which could have been great .. Access to all central attractions and the harbour itself is good with plenty of bars , restaurants , and entertainment only a few hundred metres away ...If asked would I recommend ,the answer would be "yes" but make sure you get a harbour view room ...and look at traveller photos on this site to see what you -WILL- be getting ...prior to booking

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view rooms and ask for floors 10-11 which have great panoramas ...Any lower views ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cranlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for you post. I am sorry to hear the room was not up to the standard to which you were expecting. I would be grateful if you could inform me which room you stayed in so I can conduct a personal inspection. We are currently about to embark on a refurbishment of 60 apartments. It is quite possible that this unit has already been identified as one which will receive a refurbishment. Never the less I am still regretful that it did not meet your standards. On a positive note, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments regarding Tahni’s customer service. It is always encouraging to receive positive feedback for your hard work and I am sure Tahni will be grateful to receive it. I hope that should you stay in Sydney again you have the opportunity to experience one of our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    792
    512
    275
    276
See reviews for
634
649
111
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was a sightseeing trip for us so we needed a great location, a 2 bed apartment. a walk in shower and reasonable parking as we had travelled from WA. Oaks Goldsbrough provided all of these needs. Admittedly there were a few maintenance requirements in our apartment but we were there to see the sights and some kind soul had upgraded us to a harbour view. This just made our stay so much better as it was very hot in Sydney and my elderly mother could watch Darling Harbour in the cool of the airconditioning. The apartments are very close to one of the Hop on Hop off bus stops - so convenient.

Room Tip: Harbour view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaKalgoorlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit B, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2015
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I visited this hotel late August for meeting in Sydney Convention Center with my family. It had expensive cost than other hotels in city center of Sydeny, however, nice equipments like stove, laundries and washing machines were very good.

I also couldn't feel any discomfort about hotel services. However, there were some discomfortness in this hotel.

1st, there wasn't any big supermarket near this apartment. There was just a small convinient store nearby Novotel hotel. A big supermarket was located so far from this apartment.
2nd, many taxi drivers didn't know about this apartment (I think there is a problem of my pronounciation), you should bring the adress of this apartment when you want to ride a taxi from city center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your post. I am pleased that you found the amenities in the apartment to your satisfaction. Thank you for your tip in suggesting that future guest bring the address written down. The building is very famous in the city of Sydney as it use to be a old wool store. However it is true that some people may not be aware that it has been converted into Serviced Apartments. Thank you for sharing this helpful tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have just finished a two week stay here with my boyfriend and was very pleased with our stay. We had a different apartment each week (our choice to move a few floors up for the view) and both were spacious, very clean and had all modern features and appliances. The bathroom had a washing machine, tumble drier and iron, the lounge had a flat screen TV and there was a good range of kitchen utensils/appliances. We cooked easily on several evenings of our stay. The location - so close to Darling Harbour and a short walk to city centre - made it even better and easy to get around. Overall, great value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful and would recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in central Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit B, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, January 14, 2016
I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the location and had an enjoyable stay. I hope to welcome you back when you are next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am glad that I chosen this hotel for my stay in Sydney.
It was certainly worth for the money that I paid for due to the spacious room, it has a kitchen, fridge and washing machine which makes it extremely convenient for us. It has all the facilities which is an added 'bonus'.
From the second level, it links to the sky train station. Walking distance to Darling Harbour and convention centre.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolPei26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit B, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, January 14, 2016
I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the location and had an enjoyable stay. I hope to welcome you back when you are next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My family and I recently stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The hotel was excellent value for money, so close to everything, very clean with a few fabulous coffee shops right outside the door. Whilst a little understaffed, we found the service at reception outstanding, very friendly staff and exceptionally helpful. We booked a tour and our airport transfer from Troy at the concierge desk and he couldn't have been more helpful or informative. We will definitely use this hotel again as our base for a Sydney holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit B, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, January 14, 2016
I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the location and had an enjoyable stay. I hope to welcome you back when you are next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The biggest problem with these apartments is the front desk. They are under staffed (we waited for approximately 20 minutes anytime we needed to use the front desk), and not overly friendly. However, the price was reasonable, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the location was great. I wouldn't bother paying the money for a harbour view. Great for longer stays with the kitchen facilities. Overall really enjoyed my time here. Would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your post. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and found the standard to be favourable. I apologise for the wait that you faced during your dealing with front desk. Check in and check out times can get very business in the foyer which can lead to delays. I will endeavour to use his feedback to better streamline our front desk procedures. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#75 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#101 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Property: Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing