We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #117 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed December 24, 2012

it was really excellent and fantastic experiences at this hotel appartment, i spent 5 days with my family, we received all our requirpment as per our request, and reception staff is really good,cooperative,helpfull & full of courtesious manners, specialy MR.SHEIKH & TAHNI. thankyou very much, location is verygood, all facilities are appreciable, we ll definatly prefer this appartment when ever my next visit to sydney.

Room Tip: request for beautifull harbour view rooms, top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haren j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and thanks to Sheikh and Tahni. It makes be very happy to hear that they contributed to making your experience at the Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments such a memorable one. I will be sure to pass on your thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,101 - 2,107 of 2,749 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

Me and my partner, we stayed at the oaks goldsbrough in december on a very nice room over looking the harbour on level 13.Purpose of our stay was to cruise around and to see the beauty of sydney city. The hotel is in a great location, very close to everything and specially the beautiful harbour is just minutes away, the room rate was also very reasonable, but i must say one of the main highlight was very good customer service from the time we came in to the time we left.

We drove all the way from brisbane and had large number of baggages with us and one of the main inconvenience was there was no ramp on the hotel door, but of the the beautiful staff named SHEIKH was very helpful from day one.
We are elderly couple and unloading car full of baggages was a hardship for us, that good fella was drinking coffee outside on his break saw us struggling carrying bags and single handed carried the bags on the stairs and took them upstairs, when we offered some tips he dint take it but said "it is duty of everyman to help each other". We stayed there three days and everyday when we saw sheikh, he would ask us how was the day with a great smile, rest of the crew member serving on the front line was as great .

We would love to stay there again when we come to visit sydney, but one request to the hotel management "PLEASE PUT A SIGN ON THE MAIN DOOR WITH HOTELS NAME" because its very confusing to find where the hotel is located.

Room Tip: Findng this hotel can be a Nightmare, so try to look for a caffee on the right side of Pyrmont stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am aware that the property can often be difficult to find if you are not familiar with the local area. The issue regarding the lack of signage is due to the fact that we must comply with the building’s Body Corporate Guidelines and as such cannot display the signage directly out the front. This is an issue that we are currently trying to address. Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding the level of service that Sheikh provided you. I am very pleased that he was able to help you even when he was on his break. He is a great asset to our team and I will be sure to pass on your thanks to him. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I was extreemely nervous about staying at these apartments after reading mixed reviews however it was quite good. The location is great, not far at all to the darbour and attractions. The rooms were large, a concern was the stair case that was very steep, there were many a falls had by my 2 yr old. Our room did not have a good view at all but we did not spend much time in the room. The building does echo very badly and people can be heard loudly running and carrying on along the hallway at all hours of the night, not to mention the noise that can be heard from the room next door. Just hope you dont get a group of loud party animals as it is impossible to sleep. The pool is a great facility, long operating hours which was handy. I would stay here again but would hope for a view of some kind.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Nearoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your post. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please let us know when you are next staying and we will try our very best to allocate you a room with a view. I look forward to hearing from you before your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have stayed at hundreds of hotels and the guest experiance from Tahni at this particular hotel was outstanding. I went out for a game of golf and i broke my ankle while i was playing.
Tahni is a little woman and she helped me to my room and it was far. She let me put all my weight on her and she walked me to my room. She went above and beyond the normal.
She has called the room every half hour to make sure i was ok. What a great asset to the Goldsbrough hotel.
Thank you Tahni your the best.
Scott O'Daniel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing your positive comments regarding the service that Tahni provided you. It is always very encouraging to hear the positive feedback and I will be sure to pass on your thanks to Tahni. We wish you a speedy recovery with your ankle and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We chose this hotel for its location, size and Cost . It lived up to all of these. Only comments were cleanliness was average and 1 Receptionist lacked basic knowledge of local area and sent us on wild goose chase for a close by supermarket. Staff need to be trained more on this info.
Other then that Great location, friendly staff, good sized rooms. Perfect place if you want to explore Sydney.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit B, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2015

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed for two nights in December 2012 and after booking then reading the reviews I was worried. Absolutely no need to worry though. The service is great and friendly, the apartment was nice and clean with great views. However the most important factor for me was the location, once you understand where you are and the quickest way to darling harbour you realise how central it is. Very happy with my stay and look forward to the next time I am down in Sydney. Will be staying in Oaks Goldsborough again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimboG92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksGoldsbrough, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your post. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the location and facilities to be an asset to your stay. We very much look forward to your return visit. Please be sure to let us know when you are next in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Whilst the postion is convenient, the client service was poor.
On check-in, room time was advised to come back, on return had to wait another half an hour, even though we checked in at 11am to hold our luggage.
On a six night booked stay, the fourth night at 11pm, the room was given to another guest booked, therefore walked in while we were sleeping. I brough this up with two different staff members and till now not formal apology or reimbursement.
Would not recommend to stay here, for the heart of Sydney a very poor performance.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit B, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Oaks on Castlereagh
#81 of 186 in Sydney
841 reviews
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $147 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing