We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to High school camping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #112 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back to High school camping”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After staying at Hilton Surfers Paradies in Gold Coast, it's a great change to move into oaks apartment. Good things are quick arrive by taxi from airport, well equipped with what you need and close to attractions.

Same as the previous experience, same floor request are not available, this is unbelievable when you see there're almost 50 rooms on one floor, but reception can't arrange this small request prior or when we check in. It's common sense for a group to stay on the same floor.

When we get into the rooms, what we felt was old and the no design at all, it is with the same furnishing as camp site in Hong Kong. Safe was not working and it needs to be fixed. Shower curtain was too short causing the water splashing out after a bath. Lift was not working suddenly and almost trap us inside.

Quite disappointed as the rate we paid are similar for Hilton and Oaks, if you just expected an average room, i would still recommend because of its location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit B, Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2015
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    802
    519
    279
    280
See reviews for
642
656
113
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As we wanted to be near Darling Harbour, we opted for Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. Since there were 5 of us, they gave us the penthouse unit in the 13th Floor. It was in 2 floors with 2 rooms located at the lower floor.
What impressed us was not the room but the view of Darling Harbour from the room which was beautiful.
The location of this accommodation is actually ideal as it is both near the monorail and light rail that stops at the Convention Center and it is easy to get around to all other tourist areas in Sydney.
The apartment was a bit old but functional and most importantly well maintained and clean. The apartment was equiped with all the facilities you require, from a washing machine to all the kitchen utensils.
The staff was businesslike. Can't really detact much friendliness.
For the view and the location, I will give it a 4+. Rooms & facilities, probably a 3.

Room Tip: Get the upper floors for a better view of Darling Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is great to read that you were able to enjoy the central location of our hotel and explore Sydney, We are pleased you found your apartment well equipped and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Arrived at this apartment in the afternoon with the family and first thing that went wrong was that our bookings had some problem. The receptionist was quick to correct the problem but the room given to us was not ideal..

The concierge was able to help arrange some tours which was very convenient. Room was ok albeit it felt a little old. It was big and spacious enough. Harbor View rooms are highly recommended, though the windowpanes are pretty dirty and old.

Overall service was acceptable but is below average as it varies a lot with different staff.. For instance several problems with the room were reported to the front desk but they were slow to respond and basically provided no solution. Front desk were busy with their computer most of the time and will finish their stuff before asking if they could help customers standing at their counter. I could easily count the number of smiles I've seen from their staff with just a hand.

Room had pretty thin cardboard walls so you could actually hear noise at night.. The location was excellent as it is linked to Darling Harbor by a sheltered walkway. You could get to Darling Harbor within 5 minutes. Transportation was convenient as it was linked by monorail and trams.. Final point to note would be that their pool is overly chlorinated, you could tell just by walking into the pool area..

Room Tip: High floor with Harbor View recommended Avoid 2nd floor as much as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is a shame to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and you felt your room was dated. I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager and Furniture Services for their attention. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I booked a one bedroom apartment for three nights and I and enjoyed a hige discount as a result. I am satisfied with all aspects of my stay there. The room, with kitchen, laundry, lounge and dining area would be fine for two people, but I was extremely comfortable alone. The only drawback was the hard bed, though this did not stop me from sleeping like a log each night. The location of Oaks Goldsbrough is convenient to Darling Harbour, Paddy's Market, Chinatown and there is easy access to ferries and water taxis. The supermarkets are close and there is a convenient cafe or three in the close environs. The place is secure and I found the concierge was helpful at all times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to secure a great deal. We are pleased you found your apartment comfortable and the location convenient. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Oaks Goldsborough for two nights. We arrived very late at night and was very disappointed with the customer service we received. The gentleman at reception was not friendly at all, not even a welcoming smile. We felt we were putting him out by arriving late. We had a harbour view room. The window was quite narrow and had a desk under the window which we had to move so we could look out over the harbour. The room was clean but very tired and badly needs paint! The tv was out of the ark! The dishwasher and oven have seen better days. The coffee table was broken on one corner. The bed was comfortable. It was not a nice place to stay in. Very basic, lacklustre and the so called harbour view was disappointing. It was not value for money. We will not stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stargatefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is disappointing to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We would like to apologise for the service you received upon checking in and we will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager for investigation. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Eliza
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Value for money and close to darling harbour with easy parking across the road. In need of a coat of paint and tired, yet easy walk to harbour side. Cafe out the front is basic but restaurants aren't too far away. Has everything you need but wouldn't go for holiday unless budget was tight.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awayfrmhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are pleased to read you found our hotel value for money and positioned in a convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a one bedroom apartment because it was close to Darling Harbour and reasonable value. We were lucky that we were in a tenth storey apartment, because otherwise the view would have been of the multistorey carpark. As it was, we had a nice view of the Anzac Bridge.
The apartment itself was quite small, but had all the amenities including an oven, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine. There was a small sofa in the main room which converted into a bed. In the bedroom was a standard double bed.

What amazed me was that there was no flatscreen tv but an old analog tv connected to the Foxtel box. I was a little disappointed that I couldn't connect my Ipad because there was no HDMI input just a standard RCA one.

The rooms were clean and unusually for an apartment, ours was serviced on the first day, which was nice.

I must mention the pool and spa downstairs. It was one of the best that I've been in for a while, particularly because it didn't seem to be very popular! It reminded me of some of the Roman villas in some distant way :)

Room Tip: Stay on the tenth floor or higher to avoid a view into neighbouring carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexDWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is great to read that you found your apartment well equipped and you were impressed with the pool and spa area. We are glad you were able to enjoy the location and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#72 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#101 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Property: Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing