We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and thats about it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #115 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and thats about it”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Arrived at this apartment in the afternoon with the family and first thing that went wrong was that our bookings had some problem. The receptionist was quick to correct the problem but the room given to us was not ideal..

The concierge was able to help arrange some tours which was very convenient. Room was ok albeit it felt a little old. It was big and spacious enough. Harbor View rooms are highly recommended, though the windowpanes are pretty dirty and old.

Overall service was acceptable but is below average as it varies a lot with different staff.. For instance several problems with the room were reported to the front desk but they were slow to respond and basically provided no solution. Front desk were busy with their computer most of the time and will finish their stuff before asking if they could help customers standing at their counter. I could easily count the number of smiles I've seen from their staff with just a hand.

Room had pretty thin cardboard walls so you could actually hear noise at night.. The location was excellent as it is linked to Darling Harbor by a sheltered walkway. You could get to Darling Harbor within 5 minutes. Transportation was convenient as it was linked by monorail and trams.. Final point to note would be that their pool is overly chlorinated, you could tell just by walking into the pool area..

Room Tip: High floor with Harbor View recommended Avoid 2nd floor as much as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is a shame to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and you felt your room was dated. I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager and Furniture Services for their attention. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    822
    532
    290
    287
See reviews for
655
674
115
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I booked a one bedroom apartment for three nights and I and enjoyed a hige discount as a result. I am satisfied with all aspects of my stay there. The room, with kitchen, laundry, lounge and dining area would be fine for two people, but I was extremely comfortable alone. The only drawback was the hard bed, though this did not stop me from sleeping like a log each night. The location of Oaks Goldsbrough is convenient to Darling Harbour, Paddy's Market, Chinatown and there is easy access to ferries and water taxis. The supermarkets are close and there is a convenient cafe or three in the close environs. The place is secure and I found the concierge was helpful at all times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to secure a great deal. We are pleased you found your apartment comfortable and the location convenient. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Oaks Goldsborough for two nights. We arrived very late at night and was very disappointed with the customer service we received. The gentleman at reception was not friendly at all, not even a welcoming smile. We felt we were putting him out by arriving late. We had a harbour view room. The window was quite narrow and had a desk under the window which we had to move so we could look out over the harbour. The room was clean but very tired and badly needs paint! The tv was out of the ark! The dishwasher and oven have seen better days. The coffee table was broken on one corner. The bed was comfortable. It was not a nice place to stay in. Very basic, lacklustre and the so called harbour view was disappointing. It was not value for money. We will not stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stargatefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is disappointing to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We would like to apologise for the service you received upon checking in and we will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager for investigation. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Eliza
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Value for money and close to darling harbour with easy parking across the road. In need of a coat of paint and tired, yet easy walk to harbour side. Cafe out the front is basic but restaurants aren't too far away. Has everything you need but wouldn't go for holiday unless budget was tight.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awayfrmhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are pleased to read you found our hotel value for money and positioned in a convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a one bedroom apartment because it was close to Darling Harbour and reasonable value. We were lucky that we were in a tenth storey apartment, because otherwise the view would have been of the multistorey carpark. As it was, we had a nice view of the Anzac Bridge.
The apartment itself was quite small, but had all the amenities including an oven, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine. There was a small sofa in the main room which converted into a bed. In the bedroom was a standard double bed.

What amazed me was that there was no flatscreen tv but an old analog tv connected to the Foxtel box. I was a little disappointed that I couldn't connect my Ipad because there was no HDMI input just a standard RCA one.

The rooms were clean and unusually for an apartment, ours was serviced on the first day, which was nice.

I must mention the pool and spa downstairs. It was one of the best that I've been in for a while, particularly because it didn't seem to be very popular! It reminded me of some of the Roman villas in some distant way :)

Room Tip: Stay on the tenth floor or higher to avoid a view into neighbouring carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexDWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is great to read that you found your apartment well equipped and you were impressed with the pool and spa area. We are glad you were able to enjoy the location and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We are staying here at the Oaks Goldsbrough for 5 nights to conclude a £10,000, 6 week trip in Australia. To my great dismay, they appear to have confused us as a pair of dirty backpackers with a baby looking for a poor quality hostel to stay in. On our arrival we were immediately asked to pay an extra $20/night for our baby's cot which we had pre-booked, instead of this being paid at the end of our stay on check out which would be customary for a 4 star hotel, we were required to pay this up front, as well as $150 deposit in case of any "damage" caused during our stay! We were given a keycard to access our 2nd floor room, and were informed that we wouldn't need to use the card to access the second floor, because unlike other floors this one was not locked... This was all the information we received on our arrival, no information on the location of the pool/spa, or how to access the monorail which is directly outside the 2nd floor, or anything else. On arrival on the second floor, we were greeted by queues of people waiting for the lift, and a landing identical to what a prison landing must resemble. Each door on either side has a "cage" type balcony directly onto the landing, I thought I may need to remind them that we had brought a baby with us, not a pittbull that required locking up outside our bedroom door. We entered our room, by this time it was 9.30pm, and we had been travelling most of the day, the baby's cot which they had been so quick to bill us for, was not in the room, and I would describe the apartment as a possible 2 star rating. I rang reception, which took an age as they were not answering the phones and reminded them of the cot which they then assured me would be with us presently. We then waited another 20 minutes with a very tired 5 month old baby, still no cot. By this time I was really cross, so went down to reception myself (this took another 15 minutes waiting for the lift, then being taken up to the 6th floor before being brought back down to the lobby level. I again requested our babies cot, and reminded them that our baby still had nowhere to sleep and it was late at night. I also asked what star rating the hotel was, and was told it was 4 star, I asked whether we had been put in the worst grade of accommodation they provided and they told me yes!! They said they do much better rooms with two bedrooms and a view, and that I should take up any disputes with my travel agent. I will address this with my travel agent, and will explore the cost of booking two nights in one of the neighbouring hotels to conclude our stay. The apartments are in a good location, but there are many more that seem in much better condition, in the same location, such as the Novotel and the Ibis. We dread returning to our room at the end of our day! Today we have returned to find the cleaner had thrown the bed together with the throw in a ball in the middle of the bed, under the covers, we have no towels for the baby and most of the channels on the tv don't tune in properly, this as well as the noise of next door coming straight into our room is the last straw!!! We have stayed in Australia for 5 weeks in other 4 star accommodation and have had no complaints, but wish to give this review to prevent others from making the same mistake as us, DONT BOOK THE OAKS GOLDSBROUGH!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chloe y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough. We would like to apologise for the disappointment you felt in regards to the standard of accommodation we are providing. If you wish to discuss any matters further you can contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. We would like the opportunity to rectify any issues and welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We chose to stay here as 2 couples going to a conference so we thought this would be ideal. It cost us $1251 for 3 nights. Generally, all things being equal, that would have been fair enough
But......
It was an upstairs/downstairs apartment. It only had air con downstairs in the bedrooms which sounded like a blast freezer when on, the carpet was adrift near the walls, the walls were badly marked and scuffed,a paint job was definitely needed, the lounge was so uncomfortable that you needed someone to actually pull you out of the chair. The bathroom mirror was cracked, the roomed faced dead west (must be a sauna in summer) and to top it off, someone had left a "vibrator box" in the hall cupboard. That provided much levity and conversation during our stay.

The good points - it is close to the conference centre, it is close to all the restaurants in Darling Harbour, easy access to mono rail

Next time, I will spend the extra money and stay elsewhere.

Sorry that i read the reviews on trip advisor after we had booked but they are all pretty accurate

Room Tip: there have got to be better value alternatives than this place, so look around
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are disappointed to read of your experiences and would like to opportunity to discuss the matters with you further. You can contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#68 of 178 in Sydney
651 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#103 of 178 in Sydney
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Property: Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing