We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, very central, but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #114 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a one bedroom apartment because it was close to Darling Harbour and reasonable value. We were lucky that we were in a tenth storey apartment, because otherwise the view would have been of the multistorey carpark. As it was, we had a nice view of the Anzac Bridge.
The apartment itself was quite small, but had all the amenities including an oven, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine. There was a small sofa in the main room which converted into a bed. In the bedroom was a standard double bed.

What amazed me was that there was no flatscreen tv but an old analog tv connected to the Foxtel box. I was a little disappointed that I couldn't connect my Ipad because there was no HDMI input just a standard RCA one.

The rooms were clean and unusually for an apartment, ours was serviced on the first day, which was nice.

I must mention the pool and spa downstairs. It was one of the best that I've been in for a while, particularly because it didn't seem to be very popular! It reminded me of some of the Roman villas in some distant way :)

Room Tip: Stay on the tenth floor or higher to avoid a view into neighbouring carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexDWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is great to read that you found your apartment well equipped and you were impressed with the pool and spa area. We are glad you were able to enjoy the location and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,006 - 2,012 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

We are staying here at the Oaks Goldsbrough for 5 nights to conclude a £10,000, 6 week trip in Australia. To my great dismay, they appear to have confused us as a pair of dirty backpackers with a baby looking for a poor quality hostel to stay in. On our arrival we were immediately asked to pay an extra $20/night for our baby's cot which we had pre-booked, instead of this being paid at the end of our stay on check out which would be customary for a 4 star hotel, we were required to pay this up front, as well as $150 deposit in case of any "damage" caused during our stay! We were given a keycard to access our 2nd floor room, and were informed that we wouldn't need to use the card to access the second floor, because unlike other floors this one was not locked... This was all the information we received on our arrival, no information on the location of the pool/spa, or how to access the monorail which is directly outside the 2nd floor, or anything else. On arrival on the second floor, we were greeted by queues of people waiting for the lift, and a landing identical to what a prison landing must resemble. Each door on either side has a "cage" type balcony directly onto the landing, I thought I may need to remind them that we had brought a baby with us, not a pittbull that required locking up outside our bedroom door. We entered our room, by this time it was 9.30pm, and we had been travelling most of the day, the baby's cot which they had been so quick to bill us for, was not in the room, and I would describe the apartment as a possible 2 star rating. I rang reception, which took an age as they were not answering the phones and reminded them of the cot which they then assured me would be with us presently. We then waited another 20 minutes with a very tired 5 month old baby, still no cot. By this time I was really cross, so went down to reception myself (this took another 15 minutes waiting for the lift, then being taken up to the 6th floor before being brought back down to the lobby level. I again requested our babies cot, and reminded them that our baby still had nowhere to sleep and it was late at night. I also asked what star rating the hotel was, and was told it was 4 star, I asked whether we had been put in the worst grade of accommodation they provided and they told me yes!! They said they do much better rooms with two bedrooms and a view, and that I should take up any disputes with my travel agent. I will address this with my travel agent, and will explore the cost of booking two nights in one of the neighbouring hotels to conclude our stay. The apartments are in a good location, but there are many more that seem in much better condition, in the same location, such as the Novotel and the Ibis. We dread returning to our room at the end of our day! Today we have returned to find the cleaner had thrown the bed together with the throw in a ball in the middle of the bed, under the covers, we have no towels for the baby and most of the channels on the tv don't tune in properly, this as well as the noise of next door coming straight into our room is the last straw!!! We have stayed in Australia for 5 weeks in other 4 star accommodation and have had no complaints, but wish to give this review to prevent others from making the same mistake as us, DONT BOOK THE OAKS GOLDSBROUGH!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chloe y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough. We would like to apologise for the disappointment you felt in regards to the standard of accommodation we are providing. If you wish to discuss any matters further you can contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. We would like the opportunity to rectify any issues and welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We chose to stay here as 2 couples going to a conference so we thought this would be ideal. It cost us $1251 for 3 nights. Generally, all things being equal, that would have been fair enough
But......
It was an upstairs/downstairs apartment. It only had air con downstairs in the bedrooms which sounded like a blast freezer when on, the carpet was adrift near the walls, the walls were badly marked and scuffed,a paint job was definitely needed, the lounge was so uncomfortable that you needed someone to actually pull you out of the chair. The bathroom mirror was cracked, the roomed faced dead west (must be a sauna in summer) and to top it off, someone had left a "vibrator box" in the hall cupboard. That provided much levity and conversation during our stay.

The good points - it is close to the conference centre, it is close to all the restaurants in Darling Harbour, easy access to mono rail

Next time, I will spend the extra money and stay elsewhere.

Sorry that i read the reviews on trip advisor after we had booked but they are all pretty accurate

Room Tip: there have got to be better value alternatives than this place, so look around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are disappointed to read of your experiences and would like to opportunity to discuss the matters with you further. You can contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 11th floor with another couple for 3 nights. It all looked exceptionally good the bedrooms were downstairs so we had to drag luggage up and down stairs, alright for young people. One bedroom had a queen bed in it and the other room had twin beds in it. So we had to call reception and ask for the beds to be pushed together. It took forever for someone to come and deal with this but they eventually did. The room we were in faced out onto the inside landing so was very noisy with kids screaming up and down at night and over the window was a pathetic wooden blind which let all the light in at night so we resorted to placing a blanket over the window. Problem solved. Was clean, furniture worn. Great location right on Darling Harbour and in walking distance of everything. Would choose somewhere different next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryMarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and found your apartment clean. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in the apartments. Found it incredibly noisy as construction was taken place under our room and the next door guests blasted music until early hours of the morning. Toe nail clippings from the previous guests were left in the room. The entire place could have been given a revamp due the the shoddy appearance of the apartment compared with how nice the lobby/reception part looked. The lifts were an utter nightmare being forced to go up to the top floor just to get down and out. The only thing going for this place is the great location it is in. Will be looking at a different place to stay next time for sure!

Room Tip: Lower down rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holleigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is disappointing to read of your experience while staying with us and we apologise it impacted negatively on your stay. When there is construction going on in our complex, the workmen have strict times in which they can start and finish working. If any guests feels that the work is taking place too early or late, we urge them to contact reception. This same policy applies to any noise complaints our guests might have whether it be music or general noise. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I would of rated this hotel 4 stars, except at the very end we were charged an extra $80.00 when we requested a late check-out the day before! We didn't want to interrupt our 16-month son's regular sleeping regime & without out this sleep we would not of enjoyed our last day in the harbour because of a sleep-deprived, cranky bub!!! Very annoyed. Not much of a family institution if this is the hotel policy. We were checked out just a little past 11am!!! VERY ANNOYED!!

Another, annoying aspect of the stay were the ELEVATORS. There are only 3 elevators for a massive hotel, so at check-out time we were waiting up to 20 minutes to catch a ride. I had to wait for 7 different slow elevators before one was empty enough to fit the 3 of us in on Sunday morning!!

Too bad, because the hotel was in a great location with a easy walk in a walkway to Darling Harbour, the Sydney Convention Centre & the monorail. The hotel is old, but I believe it used to be an old factory, so it is actually nice to see some of Sydney's history perserved. The room was clean & fully self-contained. The air conditioning didn't seem to be working though. The bathtub was cracked, but clean.

Because there is so much accommodation in the area, I would try a different hotel next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101Charmaine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is disappointing to hear of your problems regarding checking out later than 10am. Our policy is if guests need an extended check out time and there are no guests checking in that day, we can offer later times. Unfortunately if there are guests checking in, housekeeping need to get access to the apartment and have it cleaned by 2pm for the next guest. Depending on the time you checked out, depends on the cost as more than likely we need to charge the guests. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and do hope you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Goldsborough for 4 nights during a multi centre vacation and of all the hotels during our Australian adventure, this was the worst by a MILE. We were offered a room on the 6th floor which is the same level as the highway into the City and was so noisey with a broken window. On being moved to the 12 floor the noise improved, but both appartments were full of furniture that was old and chipped. A truely horrible hotel, and if our budget had been sufficient we would have left.
Don't let the photos on the 'official' site fool you, this facility was a a tired a run down building in need of urgent renovation. Look at other reviews and see this confirms the other result. We only stayed here because our travel operate booked the room, and we WILL be complaining to them as well!!

Room Tip: If you stay here ask for a room on the rear of the building.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Centurian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is disappointing to read that the standard of accommodation you were expecting was not what you received when checking in. If you wish to discuss any matters further please contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Oaks on Castlereagh
#70 of 179 in Sydney
754 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#131 of 179 in Sydney
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $122 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing