We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #114 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our family of four spent two nights here and found it excellent.
Very spacious, well equipped and comfortable.
Most importantly it was very close to monorail, light rail and also the excellent harbour side.
Made for a very convenient base to enjoy Sydney.
Staff also were outstanding, And the kids enjoyed the pool!

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper ask for northern end!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is great to read that you found our hotel spacious, well equipped and comfortable. We are pleased you found our staff outstanding and the location was convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,503)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,930 - 1,936 of 2,503 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

From the moment we stepped into the reception area we got brilliant service from the staff. That continued throughout our stay & especially Jonathan & Megan who were brilliant in helping us to get tickets to Cirque Du Soliel (which was'nt easy to do!).
We were lucky to have a Harbourside Room with glorious views. Yes, the motorway was there, but that is what you would expect having a Hotel in a major city!!! Everything in our room was spotlessly clean & our furniture was fine.
The location for us was perfect, with shops, restaurants & transport a few minutes walk away.Also, having the Harbour to look at was lovely, We preferred that to being right in the middle of the City being surrounded by buildings. It was so pretty at night looking over at the City lights & a bonus was sitting on my bed watching the Fireworks right in front of me!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your girls shopping getaway an enjoyable one. We are pleased to read that you were able to sit back on your bed and enjoy the view of the harbour and the bonus of the fireworks. I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager in regards to the brilliant service you received from our staff, Jonathan and Megan in particular. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were there for a conference and location next to the convention centre was great. Wonderful old building and the appartments were spacious but really there is no need for peeling paint, fretted woodwork, stained carpets and furniture. It wasn't dirty, just old and tired athough the common areas were OK. Lifts VERY slow and no business centre. Our international guest were unimpressed. Not worth the money

Room Tip: North side of building away from the freeway - better still stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are pleased to read that you found the location of our hotel convenient to the convention centre and that you found your apartment spacious. We were however also disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction in some areas. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Oaks initially looks like a funky, retro place to stay. I was excited when I first checked in to my "harbour view" room. What I discouvered was:
- harbour view = view of 6 lane highway with harbour view if you press your head hard against thw window. The traffic noise was LOUD!
- stained couch, chipped cupboards, moldy smell
- this review took 1h to write because the expensive internet connection dropped in and out. I had to call IT support 4 times!

Th staff are freindly and helpful, but unprofessional in appearance. Time to lift your game Oaks!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jensywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We would like to apologise for the issues you have experienced while staying with us. Unfortunately there is a highway near our complex and we are unable to control noise. We appreciate this can be a problem for some guests and our reception staff are willing to help any guests who find the noise level an issue. The internet we offer is run by an external company and all IT assistance is provided by the company. Apologise for any inconvenience you experienced with the internet during your stay. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

the walkway to our apt looks like a prison,the reception area was good,we check in ok,the best part of the apt is the bed the sofa in the front room is disgrace stains all over it,the curtains in the front room look that they havent been washed in years,ther is a draft coming through the window the carpet is filthy,i would stay here again because of the location near to monorail and darling harbour,but the price for these apts are $400 a nite is rip off,to stay in the hilton in the city is cheaper and you get bloddy breakfast with that,

Room Tip: get a higher floor to get a good view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eryn F, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is disappointing to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and we apologise for the issues you had with your apartment. Oaks Goldsbrough building is a historic building. Being listed under the Australian Heritage Buildings, it remains protected for any changes in its original structure. We do hope you will choose to stay at an Oaks Hotels and Resorts property again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As I had never been to Sydney and I was turning 50 (eek) I said to Hubby lets do Sydney, I wanna walk the bridge and to my surprise he agreed. We were recommended Oaksborough from a friend so booked in for 3 nights. We arrived easy from the airport and check in was good but our first room had two single beds in it when I had booked a King bed.

But it was easily changed and we settled in. Easy to navigate to the city centre, the mono rail and Darling Harbour. Room was good, a little cold until we figured the heater had been turned off. Easily fixed. Room had a mini kitchen and we would stay there again for the next visit.

Staff were very busy at times but always helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janih106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eryn F, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to play a part in making your 50th birthday holiday to Sydney an enjoyable one. We are pleased you were able to move to a room more suited and found the location of our hotel convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Oaks Golsbrough while attending a conference in Sydney.

The apartments were great with excellent rooms and a lovely location.

Service by staff and other facilities such as sauna and pool were also very good, but the best thing was that all of this was available at such a reasonable price.

Great value, definitely staying here again when in Sydney and recommend it highly as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viresh_Chandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment excellent and value for money. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the hotel facilities and found the location lovely. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#68 of 178 in Sydney
697 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $144 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing