We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spacious appartments - seriously need renovating!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #99 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Robertson
Level Contributor
308 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Spacious appartments - seriously need renovating!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were there for a conference and location next to the convention centre was great. Wonderful old building and the appartments were spacious but really there is no need for peeling paint, fretted woodwork, stained carpets and furniture. It wasn't dirty, just old and tired athough the common areas were OK. Lifts VERY slow and no business centre. Our international guest were unimpressed. Not worth the money

Room Tip: North side of building away from the freeway - better still stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are pleased to read that you found the location of our hotel convenient to the convention centre and that you found your apartment spacious. We were however also disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction in some areas. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    760
    462
    251
    239
See reviews for
586
606
105
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Oaks initially looks like a funky, retro place to stay. I was excited when I first checked in to my "harbour view" room. What I discouvered was:
- harbour view = view of 6 lane highway with harbour view if you press your head hard against thw window. The traffic noise was LOUD!
- stained couch, chipped cupboards, moldy smell
- this review took 1h to write because the expensive internet connection dropped in and out. I had to call IT support 4 times!

Th staff are freindly and helpful, but unprofessional in appearance. Time to lift your game Oaks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jensywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We would like to apologise for the issues you have experienced while staying with us. Unfortunately there is a highway near our complex and we are unable to control noise. We appreciate this can be a problem for some guests and our reception staff are willing to help any guests who find the noise level an issue. The internet we offer is run by an external company and all IT assistance is provided by the company. Apologise for any inconvenience you experienced with the internet during your stay. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

the walkway to our apt looks like a prison,the reception area was good,we check in ok,the best part of the apt is the bed the sofa in the front room is disgrace stains all over it,the curtains in the front room look that they havent been washed in years,ther is a draft coming through the window the carpet is filthy,i would stay here again because of the location near to monorail and darling harbour,but the price for these apts are $400 a nite is rip off,to stay in the hilton in the city is cheaper and you get bloddy breakfast with that,

Room Tip: get a higher floor to get a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eryn F, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is disappointing to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and we apologise for the issues you had with your apartment. Oaks Goldsbrough building is a historic building. Being listed under the Australian Heritage Buildings, it remains protected for any changes in its original structure. We do hope you will choose to stay at an Oaks Hotels and Resorts property again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

As I had never been to Sydney and I was turning 50 (eek) I said to Hubby lets do Sydney, I wanna walk the bridge and to my surprise he agreed. We were recommended Oaksborough from a friend so booked in for 3 nights. We arrived easy from the airport and check in was good but our first room had two single beds in it when I had booked a King bed.

But it was easily changed and we settled in. Easy to navigate to the city centre, the mono rail and Darling Harbour. Room was good, a little cold until we figured the heater had been turned off. Easily fixed. Room had a mini kitchen and we would stay there again for the next visit.

Staff were very busy at times but always helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janih106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eryn F, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to play a part in making your 50th birthday holiday to Sydney an enjoyable one. We are pleased you were able to move to a room more suited and found the location of our hotel convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Oaks Golsbrough while attending a conference in Sydney.

The apartments were great with excellent rooms and a lovely location.

Service by staff and other facilities such as sauna and pool were also very good, but the best thing was that all of this was available at such a reasonable price.

Great value, definitely staying here again when in Sydney and recommend it highly as well.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viresh_Chandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment excellent and value for money. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the hotel facilities and found the location lovely. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at Oaks Goldbrough for 7 nights attending a conference at the Sydney convention centre. Booking for 1 bedroom apt was made online from nearly 2 mo before. Had a few doubts before coming because lack of experience on staying at a serviced apt before & never received an answer on request via email to drop our baggage before check-in time. But our doubts are proved to be wrong because we got a good room at the 11th floor overlooking the darling harbor, furniture quality are good, all the kitchen appliances are working just fine, bathroom is clean, bed isn't too soft for us. Our floor was very quiet & as our bedroom wasn't near any outside window, the noise from the traffic below didn't bother us at all. The only downside is the air conditioning, because it can't heat our apt thoroughly & the bathroom was still cold at night. The pillows are also too soft for us. Overall, I would highly recommend staying at Oaks Goldbrough when in Sydney, and night stroll at the surrounding Darling Harbor area is a plus side too!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Krisandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are pleased to read that you were impressed with your 1 Bedroom Apartment and were able to enjoy the view of Darling Harbour. It is great you found the location convenient to your needs while in Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

There was 5 of us staring in one of the Executive Penthouses for 2 nights. This was comfortable for this lenght of time but if you are staying longer I would look for something else. The apartment is in need of a make over as it looked a little tired and worn. The bathrooms especially. The blinds in the bedrooms don't close properly which wouldn't be a problem if it wasn't facing the main walkway. The walkway is noisy but bearable though. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a convenience store around the corner in Harris Street for basic things. The hotel reception also provided us with a pizza menu which came in handy when it was pouring with rain and we stayed in. The view was excellent and we were able to enjoy the fireworks on Saturday night.

The staff are friendly but we did get conflicting information at times - especially regarding the airport shuttle which was first going to cost us $10 and then it was $12 each.

All in all if you are looking for somewhere close and got a good rate then this would be worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lifts. The second floor has a walkway across the road to the monorail carp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy56Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is great to read that for your short stay, our hotel was comfortable for you and you found the kitchen well equipped. We are pleased to read that our staff were able to assist you with a pizza menu to enjoy while it was raining and the fireworks were able to be viewed during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Oaks on Castlereagh
#79 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#103 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Property: Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing