We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bit akin to cell block H” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #101 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bit akin to cell block H”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Although the apartment itself was nice and clean the position of the hotel was a bit out of the way. The actual approach to the rooms was a bit uncomfortable if you are afraid of heights. We could only suggest that a solid floor would have been better than the open drops down the sides of the walkways..... My partner didn't like this one bit and walked to and from the lift in a proper state each day. Don't think I'd stay there again (although the view from the 10th floor was rather spectacular I must admit)...

Room Tip: Get one on the ground floor if you are afraid of heights
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the views we have to offer and hope we can welcome you back to one of our Oaks Hotels or Resorts in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    730
    444
    246
    230
See reviews for
563
582
99
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We had 4x 2 brms booked for a year at the oaks harmony. Two days before we were due to arrive we were moved "by email" to the goldsborough. Theyre reason was stated as council "rezoning"-only issue being that this is exactly what we had been told when we were bumped to oaks hyde park the year previous, under similar circumstances. On arrival, we were told that there was no discount for our inconvienience, but rather an extra charge for a sofa bed. They also made it difficult for us as we were a group, with two of our party arriving the following day, wanted all payment for our five nights up front. They then sent a cleaner to our room the day BEFORE we were due to check out, meaning for us a trip to reception, only to be told it had been sorted out! They didnt even bother to call the room. On checkout, they couldnt work out on their system what amount still remained to be paid, which ended in one of our party writing it out for them! On arrival home, the pre authorised amount paid from my, and another friends, credit card has been refunded. I can only assume that one of my friends has been charged for the full group amount on her card! This has been the worst hotel experience ever. Dont bother! I dont expect to be contacted for any of our inconvienience by either oaks harmony or oaks goldsborough.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Homemumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Your feedback on your experience with Oaks Hotels & Resorts is appreciated. It is disappointing to hear of your dissatisfaction and we certainly apologise for the inconveniences you suffered.

Your comments have been forwarded onto the Hotel Manager and will be used to improve our future service. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact our Customer Service Representative on customerservice@theoaksgroup.com.au.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilva, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a 1 bedroomed harbour view apartment from the 8th till the 12th of march 2012.
First of all let me start on a good point the Oaks is in a good location.
That said I must point out the negatives.We are a family with 2 small children and found the access from both the street level and the bridge from Darling Harbour very difficult to negotiate even with a light weight push chair.
I dropped my wife and children off at the reception while I returned the camper-van we had hired back off at the airport a round trip of approx 2.5 hrs but because the booking was in my name the reception staff would not let them check in to the room leaving them in reception until I returned at 16.30.
After another 45 minutes at reception we finally got our keys to the room, although the room was clean and tidy and a very good size the view of the harbour could only be seen while standing on your tip toes and placing your head to the corner of the window.
We had been led to believe (by the booking agent not the hotel)that the harbour view rooms had a balcony, this is not the case so we contacted reception who very bluntly told us it was our mistake and that any issues should be taken up with the agent. We eventually got hold of someone at reception who could make a decision who told us we could change to a city view with a balcony the next morning.
We vacated our room at 10.00am the next morning and headed to reception to be told our room would not be ready until 15.00 and our bags would have to be put in a store room.
We returned at 15.00 to check into our city view (car park wall) and realised the new room had not been equipped with a travel cot, we contacted reception and were told that one would be brought up shortly, we were told the same at 18.00 and 19.00 I went to reception twice as well as constantly trying to phone (voice mail) to be told that the cot was on the way.
We eventually got the cot at 20.00 without any bedding.
When we came to check out we were informed by Bonny the receptionist that we had been charged $80 aud for the hire of the travel cot i asked if the change in room to a lesser value (approx $75 a night cheaper) could be taken into account and a truce be called to which he replied that because we had requested the change that we were not entitled to any compensation in any shape or form.
All in all our views of the Oaks Goldbrough are that it is an under staffed and over booked establishment with little or no time to deal with customer satisfaction if you want to feel although your been looked after don;t go to the Oaks

Room Tip: Harbour views don't have balcony's and the city views don't have views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough. We apologise for the disappointment you felt at the standard of service you received. We continually strive to provide the very highest levels of service in all our hotels and it is disappointing to know that on this occasion we failed to achieve this.

Please be assured your concerns will be raised with the hotel manager. We do hope you will consider staying with Oaks Hotels & Resorts again soon in order to experience the high level of service to which we aspire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Excellent place and room fantastic home from home. great pool, spa and gym
My view was ............. a brick wall and a large carpark level 5 shame it was the only thing that let it down
thank you Oaks

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you very much for providing a review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the apartment – perhaps next time you can try one of our harbour view rooms? We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The price is not cheap, but then again, nothing in Sydney apparently is.
Had a nicely appointed room on the second floor. There was noise from the road nearby, but it was surprisingly well isolated with the windows closed; the rooms are tastefully done with modern and useful amenities. In room wifi is expensive and doesn't fully cover the living room, but that's my main complaint.
The location is near Darling harbor and 10 minutes from the CBD.
All in all, slept well and enjoyed coming back to it when the day was done.

Room Tip: 201 worked well enough for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amir z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is great to read of your satisfaction with our location and value. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

These apartments are situated at Darling Harbour and are only a short stroll to the waterfront. The location couldn't be better. The building is a converted warehouse, with a strange interior. We had a one bedroom apartment. The bedroom was on the small side but the lounge/kitchen area was quite spacious. Furniture was plain and basic but the kitchen was quite well equipped. The bathroom contained a washing machine and dryer. Fortunately, we think the apartment above was empty for most of the time, but at the weekend we could hear that it was occupied. This made me think that the apartments could at times be noisy. There is a swimming pool. Staff were helpful and friendly. Most certainly the situation of the apartments is a BIG PLUS.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MayWest42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your stay with us at our Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can accommodate you again soon to enjoy what Darling Harbour has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We spent three nights in a one bedromm appartment on the 9th floor with a harbour view. The appartment was well furnished and clean, however it could have done with a bit of a freshen-up - lower walls were scuffed in the bedroom and appliances were a bit tired and some water damage to the ceiling in the kitchen area needed some attention. But that is the extent of the negatives. The room was bright and smart and had a laminated wooden floor instead of carpet - a big plus. The view was fantastic, the room was very quiet, the bed was comfortable, the service from the helpful front desk staff was excellent and it was very close to Darling Harbour which could be accessed vis a covered walkway. The cost of parking (in the car-park across the road) was also quite reasonable. The appartment whilst not huge was easily big enough for the two of us. We'd be happy to stay again in a similiar appartment.

Room Tip: A room in the upper floors facing the harbour is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for your review of our Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. Your comments on our kitchenware are appreciated and will be taken on board. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy the facilities and view of Darling Harbour and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Oaks on Castlereagh
#90 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#104 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Property: Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing