We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and view of Darling Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #114 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Excellent location right in the heart of Darling Harbour with shopping and llifestyle strip at your door. Light rail and Mono rail comes to the door. Walk to city centre and Paddys Market. Excellent facilities including indoor heated pool, spa, sauna, free luggage storage and efficient and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with full glass walls overlooking Darling Harbour skyline.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,503)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,056 - 2,062 of 2,503 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel is a former factory and still feels this ways despite renovation for serviced apartments. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Darling Harbor, and the immediate neighborhood has many good restaurants.

The apartment was large, even for our family of six. The facilities were in good order (laundry, dishwasher, indoor pool). The apartment was decorated with furniture more typically found in a nice university dormitory. The lighting was extremely poor, especially in the interior bedroom (no window) and in the kitchen. The apartment was regularly tidied up and swept, but the years of hard use and wear were obvious. The bathroom tile was stained and could have used a good scrubbing. The linens were adequate, but by no means nice.

The hotel seemed to be used mostly by budget travelers and Australians on holiday. There were more than a few loud groups staying at the hotel, including hen parties. Check in was slow, and check out was glacial. We once waited 20 minutes for a lift.

Australia is expensive, and this hotel may be a good value, but it is best to go in with low expectations. Experienced travelers throughout Asia will notice a dramatic difference between similarly priced hotels elsewhere in the region, both from a quality and service perspective.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner unit and avoid the 1st floor, which is also has access to a pedestrian walkway. Hi...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johanna1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are disappointed to read that you were dissatisfied with some elements of your stay. Your review has been forward on to the Hotel Manager for investigation and consideration.

We do hope that you choose to stay with Oaks Hotels & Resorts again one day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed at the Oaks as we attended a wedding nearby. Had been given mixed reviews but we were pleasantly surprised! Check-in was quick, staff pleasant arranged a taxi for us to get to the wedding(probably could have walk if not for the heels!)
Room was clean & comfortable looked like it had been recently refurbished, bathroom definitely new. Small kitchenette with all you would need if having a long stay. Bed comfortable & a very small balcony.
Very close to shops at Darling Harbour where there are plently of places to have breakfast looking out on the beautiful harbour.


Negative- check out took forever the line up was ridiculous

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

We very much appreciate your positive review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, and are happy to read that you found your weekend away enjoyable. We do however apologise for the issues you experienced at checkout.

Oaks Hotels & Resorts looks forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Being in the industry I had trepidations staying here (based on reviews here) and even rang the hotel before arrival to express some concerns. Well, there was no need... rooms were modern and clean, serviced daily and we were upgraded to the harbour view. When we had to request a couple of things, room attendants were prompt and courteous. There were 5 of us staying and it was spacious enough for us all.
Pool was nice as was spa, I would recommend goggles though.
Location was perfect - quick stroll to Harbourside and convention centre and light rail and monorail stops practically at the door.
Overall a very enjoyable stay and would recommend for families or business travel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZanL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Many thanks for your positive review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate your comments. These have been forwarded to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your party back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Wanted to make the most of Australia Day so we booked 5 days in a Harbour view 2 bedroom apartment.
We got the 13th floor and the view was fantastic. The Oz Day evening events we opened the windows , could hear the commentary and probably one of the best spots for viewing the fireworks..so mission accomplished there.
We will however never stay here again.
Reception staff are so busy, to contact reception internally can take up to 40 minutes. The rooms are shabby and that is been nice. The shower outlets both had collections of hair .The dishwasher was putrid and the laundry room which had a great washing machine and dryer had an absolutely foul odour. We thought it may have just been stale water but after 4 days the odour did not subside.
My mother (in her late 70s)and my 8 year old went to the pool which they thought was wonderful, however coming back up in the lifts they got caught.They spent about 15 minutes in it and when finally getting released they approached the front counter to let them know the lift was playing up they were told 'oh we heard the alarm , thought it was a hoax so didn't respond"!
We have always stayed here as it is a great location but unfortunately management don't seem to be trying to make any improvements and next time we visit Sydney we will try another place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for providing detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. It is disappointing to read that you felt a number aspects of your stay were unsatisfactory,

We always aim to provide a stay that exceeds guest expectations and we apologise that we did not achieve this during your stay. We would be very unhappy to lose you as a repeat guest and would sincerely like to address your concerns further. Please contact our Customer Feedback Representative at your convenience at customerservice@theoaksgroup.com.au.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed here mid week. We needed to be in the Darling Harbour/Pyrmont area so these apartments are positioned beautifully. The room was clean, spacious and covered all light/sound of the city. Staff were not the most attentive, but for the price we were more than impressed. Parking was offsite, however you pay $19 for 24 hours through the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wattsy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Many thanks for your review of Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Please be assured that your comments will be forwarded through to the Hotel Manager.

Oaks Hotels & Resorts looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the city side and it was spacious, well appointed with great views. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumofharryandtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Many thanks for recommending Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments. We are extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#69 of 178 in Sydney
696 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $143 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing