We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't recommend this place at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Ranked #113 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I don't recommend this place at all!”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

These apartments are such a disappointment! Fabulous location yes but there are plenty of other places to stay in Darling Harbour that are far more worthy of you hard earned money. The fitout of the building is just horrible. The staff are rude and unhelpful. The lifts don't even work properly and are a constant source of frustration. We had a group of 10 friends in various apartments in the building who were equally disappointed. It's expensive - which you expect for the location but not worth the money at all. I usually love my trips to Sydney but couldn't wait to leave this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SebGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    804
    519
    279
    280
See reviews for
642
656
113
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Qld
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

This place was NOTHING we expected. Travelling in a group of 11, including family and my partner, we booked a number of two bedroom apartments - paying a ridiculous $350 a night for each room. My mum has stayed there before and loved it - they have renovated rooms and non-renovated rooms. We booked 5 months ahead and specifically asked and were assured that we would be in the renovated rooms for the price we were paying. We arrived late Friday night to be greeted by rather rude staff. Then only to find out that the apartment my partner and myself was sharing with my sister and her fiance included a room consisting of 2 very small single beds - despite them being told there were two couples to be sharing the apartment. Their solution - pull out the sofa bed or push the beds together: the sofa bed linen had not been changed from the last guests (dirty and clearly unmade). Push the beds together and one of them is lower than the other. Needless to say we had an incredibly uncomfortable two nights sleep. On top of it all, the apartments were dirty with extremely dated appliances and furniture. Plus the need to use a key whenever in the elevator, meant no one could go to other peoples rooms on other floors - a major design problem.
All in all, DO NOT go here. All it has going for it is its location. NOTHING else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alissa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curry Rivel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I had high expectations of this place particularly as it had been booked and recommended through Round the World Experts but oh dear were we disappointed. Although we had a great view of Darling Harbour and the skyline the apartment was sorely in need of investment from the pots and pans to the furniture. Best summed up the by the tv remote which had elastoplast to hold in the batteries and a tv that had really seen better days. The 'gym was also worn out with some equipment I would suggest bordering on dangerous

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdenhurstBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed here night prior to our cruise departing,travelled with husband,daughter ,son in law.
Was apprehensive after reading reviews,but contacted them and they gave us a lovely 2 bedroom apartment with water views,inside building did look look like a prison,but added to charm,only downfall is bedroom and toilets are down stairs awkward when elderly,close to darling harbour with walk way from level 2 ,which was great,also once in darling harbour shoppping complex level 2 at far end is a mini grocers selling soft drinks for 1.20 a can,which was great to stock up on as we were going on cruise,rooms clean,staff helpful,would recomend for great position,mono rail andstar city bus at door

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Reception unfriendly. Position questionable but easy access to Darling Harbour. Noisy. Apartment spotless and well equipped.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed one night at these apartments on the way to the Blue Mountains. We arrived exhausted at midnight on a Friday night and on pressing the security buzzer were quickly registered and in our room. We were delighted to be on the 10th floor and enjoyed a fantastic view over Darling Harbour.

The one bedroom unit was spacious, clean and comfortable. It was also the quietest hotel we've ever stayed in. It is just so well designed. As well as a comfortable lounge the one-bedroom apartment featured kitchen, bathroom, and laundry facilities (in bathroom). The bed was comfortable and the overall apartment was fresh with a good vibe.

In the morning after checking out we walked across to Darling Harbour via the walkway and enjoyed a delicious breakfast at one of the cafes.

All the staff were courteous and helpful and we will definitely be back and hope to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

A good location close to monorail and Darling Harbour. Our room on the 10th floor was clean, comfortable and quiet - no views though. The TV controls were very complex with no instructions. Felt more than a bit ripped off when booking a single fare for the airport shuttle through the Concierge - $28 whether one or two persons. If you go to the Information Centre in Darling Harbour you can book a single for $14 and they pick you up from Reception.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keri00741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#73 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#100 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments

Property: Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments
Address: 243 Pyrmont St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments, offer central Sydney accommodation in an architecturally renovated historic landmark building. Situated in the hub of Darling Harbour and combining the charm and elegance of the 1800’s, with all the modern amenities for your business or leisure stay.With a magnificent neo-classical facade, original tallow wood floors and exposed ironbark columns featured throughout the hotel, as well as views from many of the rooms over the skyline of Sydney and one of its major attractions, Darling Harbour, Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Goldsbrough Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing