We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay, and will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Ranked #24 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My daughter and I took a quick trip up to Sydney for a bit of sightseeing. Last trip, I stayed at the Medina Grand, another great hotel (but with terrible lifts! - read my review on this site). This time, I did a bit of reading and saw all of the great reviews for the Meriton properties so I decided to book this one. It was also a bit less expensive than the Medina, and slightly closer to Town Hall Station (train) and the monorail.

Check in was quick and efficient. Our accommodation was a one-bedroom apartment, with all the comforts of home. We had our room set up for 2 single beds, and we each slept well. There was no disturbing noise, and the bedroom had its own A/C unit, split-system type (the main living area had a larger one).

Bathroom was spacious, modern and clean, with a tub and a stall shower. Very nice.

The kitchen was well-equipped, with gas cooktop, electric oven, microwave, dishwasher, cooking utensils, pans, crockery, kettle, and toaster. The hotel provides little sachets of dish liquid and dishwasher powder. The refrigerator door opens the wrong way (it's reversible), but it's no big deal. The kitchen, like the rest of the apartment, was very clean. The top few dishes were a bit smudgy-looking, but I always pre-wash food utensils I use in accommodation, anyway.

There was a washer and dryer in a laundry cupboard, along with a trough. Again, the hotel provided a couple of sachets of detergent. There was an ironing board and iron hanging in the laundry cupboard (the ironing board has seen better days, as it kept falling apart and the cover padding was so threadbare that the metal underneath was being imprinted on my clothes. A very small complaint - I forgot to even mention it to the staff when I checked out).

The main living area has a couch, chair, and entertainment unit with a small LCD TV which worked fine. There's also a little mini-stereo which I think plays DVDs, though we didn't have any so didn't take much notice of it. There is a dining table for 6.

Our room had a balcony with a small outdoor setting for two. The table had an ashtray on it for smokers.

We never had to wait long for lifts (I think there were 5).

The indoor pool was lovely. I was afraid it would be heated, but it was cool - just cool enough to be refreshing, not cold. In the same area was a hot tub, which my daughter enjoyed after swimming in the pool. I think the hotel had a spa in that area, though we didn't have time to take much notice of it. Our foray to the pool was very quick.

My daughter forgot the wall charger for her iPod (which also functions as her camera), and they were kind enough to recharge it for her at Reception.

Based upon our experience at the Meriton Kent St this past week, I very much look forward to staying there again when I have to be in Sydney next month.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AxellaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,574)
There are newer reviews for Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,022 - 5,028 of 5,574 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2011

A colleague and I spent 4 nights at the Meriton Kent Street Apartments in a 2 bedroomed skyview apartment (5307) on floor 53. WOW...what a great apartment. Wonderful balcony to sit out and have meals while overlooking the city, very spacious, great beds and excellent seperate bathrooms for each room..one ensuite. kitchen well equiped and good sized. the location is ideal for business and leisure. We were attending a conference and the local enabled us to make the most of our free time because it is so central to Darling Harbour, close to trains, and because Sydney CBD is so walkable, you can shop, see the sights and then return to a fabulous well airconditioned apartment to relax and plan your next adventure. I have stayed in apartments around Australia and think this one was the best so far...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank totarapom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Having stayed at the Meriton in Kent Street when it first opened, I was somewhat disappointed when my husband and I stayed for a second time this week: firstly, on arrival, we were informed that we were going to be upgraded from a one-bedroom to a two-bedroom apartment... seemingly good news, until we were then told that the second bedroom and bathroom in the apartment would be locked. (So, in actual fact, we weren't being upgraded at all, merely bumped to another apartment, likely so that the one-bedroom apartment we'd booked could be given to someone else!) Secondly, when we got to our apartment, we found that the couch was stained and torn and that no extra blankets or pillows had been provided, (as, I've found, is standard practice in Australian hotel rooms). Presumably, this was intended to prevent us from sneaking a third person into our apartment to sleep on the couch... surely no way to treat paying adult guests!
While all of the points I've mentioned may seem minor, when you're anticipating 5-star service, you don't expect to be treated like a second-class guest, which is how I felt on my stay at hte Meriton!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jakbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations on this particular occasion. As we highly appreciate all feedback that we receive, please be assured that your comments have been duly noted and passed onto our management team.

We look forward to exceeding your current expectations on future stays!

Meriton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Booked a studio apartment for my girlfriends birthday.

Pros:
- Big, clean rooms
- Good amenities
- Good service
- Great location (near the main strip of George St, World Square, Darling Harbour)

Cons:
- Check out is a bit slow around 10am
- No free WiFi

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimsum8six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The Meriton Apts. Kent St. Sydney were much nicer than I expected. The apts. are very roomy and extremely clean. The service was excellent, the price was very reasonable. We had plenty of room for our family of 5, including 3 teens. We were in walking distance to great shopping on George St, the monorail and Circular Quay to see the Opera House and to catch a ferry to Manly (highly recommend). We also walked to Darling Harbor and Chinatown. Would highly recommend Meriton properties.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keds55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at the Meriton on Kent St for a week which included New Years Eve. The check in was a breeze. We stayed on the 47th floor which had an amazing water view of the harbour (Cockle Bay). The room was large, quiet, clean and we felt very comfortable. The staff were friendly & helpful, they also organised a shuttle bus to get us to the airport.

The price was excellent considering it was peak season and the location is great. We would recommend staying here if you don't have the budget to stay at Circular Quay. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Very spacious 1 bed apartment with great views over Darling harbour. Well equiped and comfortable and 5 mins walk to Darling harbour. Close to Museum and town Hall stations as well as the monorail. Many oriental eateries on the doorstep but probably Darling harbour for any variation.

Pricing structure on this and other Meritons vary considerably so if you are flexible you could get a good bargain.

Front desk sometimes chaotic and not very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngandfiftyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to see that you were able to make the most of our convenient location making it easy to discover all that our area has to offer.

Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Belinda A
Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 178 in Sydney
1,070 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney

Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $129 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you step through our lobby doors is the moment your Sydney experience becomes unforgettable. Be treated to a warm welcome by our onsite porter assistance as you breathe in the refreshing signature scent of our sophisticated, marble lobby and be impressed by our exceptional Guest Services team, who will go above and beyond to deliver the five star memorable services in our promise to provide a stay of utmost pleasure. For those early arrivals, our guests are able to freshen up in the newly designed luxury Arrival Lounge, fitted with expansive living spaces with lounges, flat screen TVs, a large walk-in kitchen supplied with complimentary tea and coffee refreshments as well as an oversized outdoor terrace, where one can lounge in the beautiful Sydney weather. Immerse yourself in superior comfort with modern contemporary furnishings, a fully-equipped kitchen, internal laundry and luxury bathroom amenities that feature in all 430 suites. Towering at an impressive 56 storeys high, guests can enjoy captivating and uninterrupted views to remember forever from our Altitude Suites, witness glistening night lights over Darling Harbour from our Darling Suites or experience the ultimate luxury stay from our Penthouse Collection suites. Make the most of our onsite recreational facilities, all for exclusive use by our guests. Choose to relax and unwind to the hot bubbles of our large spa, sit in the hot steam of our sauna or give your muscles a workout in our state of the art fitness centre and heated lap pool. Share your holiday with those back home, reply to work emails or browse the net with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, accessible from all areas of our hotel including the comfort of your own suite. Situated in the centre of Sydney's vibrant city, Meriton Suites Kent Street promises the perfect mix of attractions, shopping, entertainment, dining and culture. Only moments away are the popular sights of Sydney. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Royal Botanical Gardens are all within walking distance of our front door, ensuring your stay with us is a seamless one. Adventures to Sydney's surrounding areas has never been easier with public transport only minutes away. Services to the iconic Bondi Beach, the scenic Blue Mountains and ferry rides to the prestigious North Shore are all within a short grasp. Nearby are both Chinatown and the Spanish Quarter, while some of the city's best dining, bars and cafes are found at Cockle Bay and King Street Wharf, both only moments away. In our prime location, we truly are encompassed by a range of culinary treats and cuisines, guaranteeing somewhere to tickle all taste buds. Treat yourself to a shopping splurge at World Square Shopping Centre, located directly across the road from us or venture towards the numerous boutique retail shops along the historic Queen Victoria Building and experience the buzz at Pitt Street Mall, home to Westfield Sydney and an abundance of other quality retailers. Position yourself in the hive of all activity as you choose to stay with us at Meriton Suites Kent Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing