We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location but not too clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Location but not too clean”
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Great Location as you can walk to Darling Harbour, the City, Circular Quay and a 20 min walk to the Rocks or a short $10 cab ride. I have stayed in Kent Street several times because of it's great location. This was our first stay at Meriton Apartments and chose it because of the good rates.

The apartments are large and spacious with decent kitchen amenities and laundry facilities for longer stays. We were on the 20th floor so no view, but this did not matter. I would recommend you request a higher floor if you want a view.

I found the biggest negative is how dirty the apartment was. The floors look like they have never been mopped. All the light switches and door handles were dirty. You had to clean everything before using it from the kitchen and the shower had mildew.

On reading other reviews and the comments being the apartments were very clean maybe we just had bad luck with this particular apartment.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty Apartment
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, January 18, 2017
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations on this particular occasion. As we highly appreciate all feedback that we receive, please be assured that your comments have been duly noted and passed onto our management team.

We look forward to exceeding your current expectations on future stays!

Meriton Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,987
    1,665
    343
    126
    60
See reviews for
1,287
1,954
235
794
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
2500
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights in a studio room for the 3rd cricket test Aust vs South Africa early January 2009 (yes I walked to the SCG every day).

I have stayed here previously twice before, for one night at a time, and found it wonderful and relaxing.

This time was pretty much the same, However house cleaning only turned up once (for fresh towel and linen) that was after the 1st night. Luckily there were extra towels in the cupboard, and I was a solo traveller and only used the room to sleep and relax, so not too much of a worry

The only bad thing is when in a studio room, The main door from the hallway leads into a small hallway of which your studio room is either (a) or (b) room. And of course another door to enter your room. These two doors offer a loud *clang*, when opening and closing. Its sound like your own door is being opened and closed, when its actually the studio next door. If you have a nightowl person using the studio opposite you, then expect to be woken up suddenly, it is quite loud

Overall though, intend to stay again. Location is great, Units are clean and spacious

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, facilities
  • Disliked — Noise of opening and closing door of ajoining studio room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, January 18, 2017
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

The room itself was huge on the 31st floor and great view of the Anzac bridge.

Bathroom was spotless with a massive walk in shower!

The bed was extremely comfortable - the only downside in the bedoom was the blinds. They were paper thin and white - letting ALL the light in at 6:30am! Not good if you fancied a lie in some days. Apart from that it was really quite and you cannot hear a thing from any other room, above, below or to the side.

Kitchen was fab. We did have an issue one morning when we tried to make toast and the toaster blew the fuse and tripped out all the electric! After calling reception they sent a maintainace guy straight away and he swapped for a brand new toaster. Great service.

All the staff were extremley pleasant and would smile/say hello if they saw you in the corridor.

All in all this apartment is a great base for seeing sydney with everything in easy walking distance.

We would re-book should we happen to be lucky enough to visit again!

  • Liked — How quiet it was - thanks to the no noise policy you have to sign :)
  • Disliked — The blinds in the bedroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireAndSteve2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, January 18, 2017
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Just back from at four night stay at the Meriton on Kent. Booked a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment via Wotif.com. Check-in, kitchen and laundry great. Spacious carparking bays :)
We were on the 41st floor and although the balcony was locked shut "for security purposes" that was ok with me as we have young children. No street noise on that level or noise from adjoining apartments or lift.
Really beautiful indoor pool, also spa, sauna and gym.
Lots of family friendly places to eat at nearby.
Would definitely return.

  • Liked — Apartment and location (good security too)
  • Disliked — Had to ask for laundry powder, expensive internet
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leafygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, January 18, 2017
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We have just returned from staying 5 nights at the Meriton kent St.
It exceeded our expectations. As we booked it directly with them, we knew they couldn't guarantee us a view etc but we had our fingers crossed.
On arrival, we ended up in 3902A - a fab view of Darling Harbour and panaramic views round the city as well. We couldn't have asked for more! The one bedroom apartment was also much bigger than the one shown on their website
Very central location but incredibly quiet (couldn't even hear the people in the neighbouring apartment apart when they left their room.

We will certainy return. Great front desk assistance at all times.
Thank you Meriton Kent.

  • Liked — Views and proximity to local staions/buses etc
  • Disliked — Not a great pool set up. Very noisy but ok aoround 6:30-7pm.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank furbynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, January 18, 2017
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

My partner and I stayed here over Christmas and New Year and loved the Meriton. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 49th floor which had amazing views and was very comfortable. It was so great to have our own laundry facilities and the basic kitchen had everything you could need on a short stay. The bathroom was very small and bizarrely positioned but the shower was really awesome. The only downsides we had were inconsistent quality of service by the front desk staff and the wait time to get in the elevator (occasionally, at busy times, it could be quite a challenge). However we got a great rate on the Meriton website and loved how quiet the apartment was. Location-wise you are right in the heart of town which would be great for a short stay, but I was glad to have stayed in a more residential area also during my trip to get a real feel for Sydney. If you want a bit more independence on your stay - then I would highly recommend staying in a serviced apartment, and the Meriton on Kent was excellent value for money.

  • Liked — The space and the views
  • Disliked — Waiting for the elevator
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank R90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, January 18, 2017
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We loved the Meriton Kent Street! This time last year I stayed at the Meriton Pitt Street and really enjoyed my stay in a studio appartment. This year I was able to get a better deal on wotif.com.au for the Kent St. appartments $89 a night for a mystery room which turned out to be a one bedroom appartment, great value.
We looked out all over Sydney from the airport to blue mountains and looking down onto darling harbour. Loved seeing all of the planes flying over Sydney on their way to land.
Great facilities including all the mod. cons and full kitchen and laundry, which we used. Great restaurants close by and also a coles supermarked in the world square close by.
We used the pool and spa which were great.
Staff were really helpful and lifts were fast. We stayed on 39th floor (which is actually 29th floor as reception is on floor 10 even though it's the groud floor).
Loved this appartment and would love to live here!

  • Liked — View, room size, great rates!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slmat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, January 18, 2017
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#27 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street 5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you step through our lobby doors is the moment your Sydney experience becomes unforgettable. Be treated to a warm welcome by our onsite porter assistance as you breathe in the refreshing signature scent of our sophisticated, marble lobby and be impressed by our exceptional Guest Services team, who will go above and beyond to deliver the five star memorable services in our promise to provide a stay of utmost pleasure. For those early arrivals, our guests are able to freshen up in the newly designed luxury Arrival Lounge, fitted with expansive living spaces with lounges, flat screen TVs, a large walk-in kitchen supplied with complimentary tea and coffee refreshments as well as an oversized outdoor terrace, where one can lounge in the beautiful Sydney weather. Immerse yourself in superior comfort with modern contemporary furnishings, a fully-equipped kitchen, internal laundry and luxury bathroom amenities that feature in all 430 suites. Towering at an impressive 56 storeys high, guests can enjoy captivating and uninterrupted views to remember forever from our Altitude Suites, witness glistening night lights over Darling Harbour from our Darling Suites or experience the ultimate luxury stay from our Penthouse Collection suites. Make the most of our onsite recreational facilities, all for exclusive use by our guests. Choose to relax and unwind to the hot bubbles of our large spa, sit in the hot steam of our sauna or give your muscles a workout in our state of the art gymnasium and heated lap pool. Share your holiday with those back home, reply to work emails or browse the net with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, accessible from all areas of our hotel including the comfort of your own suite. Situated in the centre of Sydney's vibrant city, Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent Street promises the perfect mix of attractions, shopping, entertainment, dining and culture. Only moments away are the popular sights of Sydney. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Royal Botanical Gardens are all within walking distance of our front door, ensuring your stay with us is a seamless one. Adventures to Sydney's surrounding areas has never been easier with public transport only minutes away. Services to the iconic Bondi Beach, the scenic Blue Mountains and ferry rides to the prestigious North Shore are all within a short grasp. Nearby are both Chinatown and the Spanish Quarter, while some of the city's best dining, bars and cafes are found at Cockle Bay and King Street Wharf, both only moments away. In our prime location, we truly are encompassed by a range of culinary treats and cuisines, guaranteeing somewhere to tickle all taste buds. Treat yourself to a shopping splurge at World Square Shopping Centre, located directly across the road from us or venture towards the numerous boutique retail shops along the historic Queen Victoria Building and experience the buzz at Pitt Street Mall, home to Westfield Sydney and an abundance of other quality retailers. Position yourself in the hive of all activity as you choose to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing