We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth $700 a night” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Ranked #19 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth $700 a night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here with 3 friends for my hens night last Saturday.
Upon checking in we paid $200 security deposit which is not a problem, asked receptionist named Bart if its taken out of the account he assured us many times that no it won't be and it's just incase of damage to the room etc.
check my bank and they did in fact take it so I called receptionist named Rita and she said I would get it back in 5-7 business days. She was quite rude and not apologetic that we weren't told this.

The room didnt have an iPod dock so called reception to ask if we could have one (apparently some rooms have it,others don't) Josh was very helpful with this .

-Carpet had rips in it
-Ceiling mirror was dirty
-Pubic hair found in one of the bedrooms
-wasn't overly clean
-glasses were dirty

We were expecting a lot more for our money for such a special night.

The balcony and view were great but that's the only thing we liked about this place.

Waiting to hear your comments below with excuses to these problems .



  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSWnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, January 18, 2017
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations on this particular occasion. As we highly appreciate all feedback that we receive, please be assured that your comments have been duly noted and passed onto our management team.

We look forward to exceeding your current expectations on future stays!

Meriton Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,881
    1,607
    321
    120
    59
See reviews for
1,238
1,881
224
752
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a flying visit with my girlfriend and my son.
Arrived a little too early to check in, but there was no problem with our luggage being securely looked after until 2pm (check in time).
We had a couple of hours to kill, so wandered down to Darling Harbour for a spot of lunch.
At this point, I must say how gutted I was to find out about the monorail's very sad decline (RIP).
We went back to check in. No problems, staff very friendly and pleasant.
We were on the 43rd floor and the views were magnificent.
The apartment itself was great. We had a 2 bedroom one with 2 bathrooms (1 ensuite) and it was clean, spacious, comfortable and well stocked with utensils and welcome packs. Wonderful.
Upon checkout, we simply popped our key cards into the envelope provided, filled in our details and posted them into the express checkout box. There are always taxis right outside too, which made it very easy to get to the airport.
It was the 1st visit to Sydney for 12 years and staying here at the meriton on Kent made it all the better.
Excellent location in the CBD, walking distance to all the major points.
We will definitely stay here again on the next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaRsh_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear DaRsh_108,

Receiving such a great review from a Senior Contributor is fantastic, thank you for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street!

We are delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and loved your apartment on the 43rd view with magnificent views!

I am happy to see that you made use of our express check out facility – it certainty does make check out swift and convenient especially when on your way to the airport.

DaRsh_108 I am so pleased to hear that you regularly come to Sydney and this visit was all the better become of your experience at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street. We are excited to welcome you back on your next return to Sydney!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at these apartments on a number of occasions. They are modern apartments in a handy position. The apartments are clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend them. The only drawback for us was that the check-in time is always so slow. They are busy but there is always a wait. I am not particularly patient, but think that could be improved. Otherwise, have a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Margie V,

Thank you for continually choosing to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street and for recommending us to fellow travellers!

It’s great to see that you find the apartments to be comfortable, modern and in a handy location for your needs while in Sydney.

Please accept my apologies for the delays you have reported during the check in process, unfortunately during peak check in times, particularly on days where we are fully booked there can sometimes be slight delays. We do try to ensure there are always plentiful staff available during peak times of the day to ensure all guests are attended to as soon as possible.

Marhie V, thank you for completing your first Trip Advisor review in regards to your experiences at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, we hope to continually be your Sydney accommodation provider in the future!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Finishing our travel in Sydney was a God send. We arrived at the Meriton on Kent late in the evening and were able to check in quickly... wonderful for weary travelers! The apartment was clean, fresh and comfortable to be in.
I appreciated having a washing machine and dyer in the apartment, however the washing machine initially did not work properly. This was resolved within a short time, with the offer to have our washing done while the machine was replaced. A welcome gesture, which we appreciated and were thankful of receiving.
Located in the Sydney CBD is great, close to shops, services, transport and various attractions, yet when in the apartment the quietness allows you to relax and taking in the cityscape away from the hussle and bussle down below.
The apartment was great to catch up with friends and family before heading out or having a quiet meal in at the end of the day. There is space to sit, eat, and chat without steping around a bed or over luggage... wonderful.
We enjoyed staying at the Meriton on Kent, for us it is the ideal location with everything we need to feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Judy S,

It’s fantastic to read that your final part of your travels was with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, what a great way to end a holiday!

As you kindly mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street provides fully equipped, spacious apartments, all in a fantastic Sydney centre location. The apartments provide guests with a special home away from home and are a perfect place to relax and unwind after a day out exploring Sydney.

I’m sorry to hear about the problem you experienced with the washing machine in your apartment, I am however pleased to read that the matter was attended to and resolved quickly. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused during your stay.

Judy S thank you for providing a detailed review after your stay with us, we hope to have the pleasure of hosting your next Sydney holiday!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overall we were very impressed with the quality of service, how well appointed the room was and the excellent location. It is so central to everything and only a short walk to Darling Harbor.
My only disapointment was I booked the room more than two months in advance and not all my requests were met. We were hoping for Darling Harbor views, but unfortunately didnt get that.I realise there is no guarentee with requests but booking that far in advance I would have thought we would get it. In saying that, we would definately stay there again and will be using Meriton again in December, this time on the Gold Coast for another trip away.

Room Tip: Next time i would book a sky view room with floor to ceiling windows. Not that you spend all that lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for completing your first Trip Advisor review in regards to your stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, your comments are greatly appreciated!

It’s pleasing to read that overall you were very impressed with the service provided to you and that our location suited your needs while in Sydney.

In regards to your mention about the apartment you were provided with, we do try where possible to meet all special requests however the only way to guarantee an apartment on a high floor with a view is to book a sky-view apartment. All sky view apartments are above level 39 and have amazing views over the city!

Paul M Once again thank you for taking time to provide feedback, we hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My sister and I spent four days at the Meriton in Kent street. Located a short stroll from Town Hall station and therefore easily accessible from Mascot airport if you're on public transport. This was my second time here and once again the room didn't disappoint. A large living/dining area with a well stocked kitchen. Couch could have been a little more comfy though. Housekeeping were very accommodating when I asked for a softer pillow. Gym facilities excellent. Location spot on for transport, shopping, dining and entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank McLovin_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear McLovin_King,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback!

We are delighted to have been you and your sisters accommodation provider during your recent four night stay in Sydney. I would have to agree with you about our great location – we really are situated in a perfect position for accessing public transport such as trains, buses, ferry’s and the light rail.

It’s great to see that you made use of the complementary leisure facilities we provide – the gym, heated swimming pool, spa and sauna are open from 6am to 10pm each day so there is plenty of time to relax and enjoy!

McLovin_King thank you once again for your review, we look forward to seeing you and you sister back hopefully in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our stayed was extremely comfortable, the staff was helpful and cordial. Very good location close to all major attractions. The apartment we chose had good view of the city skyline and our stay was very comfortable. I will recommend families to stay here as the moving around the city attractions very easy. The nearby food outlets were plenty which also helped to save time.
.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Farah151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Farah151,

We appreciate you completing your first Trip Advisor review in regards to your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, welcome to the exciting world of Trip Advisor!

It’s great to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and took time to enjoy the stunning views from your apartment!

I have passed on your positive comments to the team; they were delighted to hear your kind appraisal. The team at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street strive to provide guests with personalized, exceptional customer service to ensure everyone has a memorable stay with us.

Farah151 thank you for writing a great review, we hope to have the opportunity to host your next Sydney stay!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street 5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you step through our lobby doors is the moment your Sydney experience becomes unforgettable. Be treated to a warm welcome by our onsite porter assistance as you breathe in the refreshing signature scent of our sophisticated, marble lobby and be impressed by our exceptional Guest Services team, who will go above and beyond to deliver the five star memorable services in our promise to provide a stay of utmost pleasure. For those early arrivals, our guests are able to freshen up in the newly designed luxury Arrival Lounge, fitted with expansive living spaces with lounges, flat screen TVs, a large walk-in kitchen supplied with complimentary tea and coffee refreshments as well as an oversized outdoor terrace, where one can lounge in the beautiful Sydney weather. Immerse yourself in superior comfort with modern contemporary furnishings, a fully-equipped kitchen, internal laundry and luxury bathroom amenities that feature in all 430 suites. Towering at an impressive 56 storeys high, guests can enjoy captivating and uninterrupted views to remember forever from our Altitude Suites, witness glistening night lights over Darling Harbour from our Darling Suites or experience the ultimate luxury stay from our Penthouse Collection suites. Make the most of our onsite recreational facilities, all for exclusive use by our guests. Choose to relax and unwind to the hot bubbles of our large spa, sit in the hot steam of our sauna or give your muscles a workout in our state of the art gymnasium and heated lap pool. Share your holiday with those back home, reply to work emails or browse the net with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, accessible from all areas of our hotel including the comfort of your own suite. Situated in the centre of Sydney's vibrant city, Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent Street promises the perfect mix of attractions, shopping, entertainment, dining and culture. Only moments away are the popular sights of Sydney. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Royal Botanical Gardens are all within walking distance of our front door, ensuring your stay with us is a seamless one. Adventures to Sydney's surrounding areas has never been easier with public transport only minutes away. Services to the iconic Bondi Beach, the scenic Blue Mountains and ferry rides to the prestigious North Shore are all within a short grasp. Nearby are both Chinatown and the Spanish Quarter, while some of the city's best dining, bars and cafes are found at Cockle Bay and King Street Wharf, both only moments away. In our prime location, we truly are encompassed by a range of culinary treats and cuisines, guaranteeing somewhere to tickle all taste buds. Treat yourself to a shopping splurge at World Square Shopping Centre, located directly across the road from us or venture towards the numerous boutique retail shops along the historic Queen Victoria Building and experience the buzz at Pitt Street Mall, home to Westfield Sydney and an abundance of other quality retailers. Position yourself in the hive of all activity as you choose to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing