We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location with great space to live in and superb views.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location with great space to live in and superb views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

From the start meeting very helpful staff with a huge smile you get te feeling this is going to e a good place to stay. its not a hotel, of course, but thats why we booked it as we wanted space to live in. We got that and more so on arrival we were really happy. Great location too with train easy to reach and a short stroll to Darling Harbour.
You might ask why not a 5, and to be fair it with a little attention to detail it could be. The rooms are a little spartan and the cleanliness was not what you'd expect but please it was not dirty just not 100%.
So I'd go back again and again and maybe try Meriton without a second thought. Why pay the same for a worn out box at the Ibis Darling Harbour as my colleagues when you can have the comforts of home.
p.s heating in the winter might be a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Jonny47,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

It is fantastic to know that our service was appreciated by such an avid traveler and senior reviewer. As you have mentioned our apartments do offer much more space than the average hotel room and the modern design mixed with our location is ideal for every type of traveller.

Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street has split system air conditioning in all apartments for heating in winter or cooling in the summer! If you are ever unsure of how to operate anything while staying with us please don't hesitate contacting the staff at reception, we are always happy to assist!

I hope that you continue on your many travels, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,760
    1,528
    296
    111
    51
See reviews for
1,182
1,803
207
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Only stayed one night in transit but a pleasant surprise to find this hotel had an incredibly comfortable bed. Could walk to Darling Harbour and other places like the markets.There was wifi available in the room which we used. We also stored our luggage here as we had a later flight.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank perth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Perth01,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street!

I’m thrilled to read that you’re short, one night stay was enjoyable and that you found the bed to be incredibly comfortable! It does indeed help when transit accommodation is comfortable as it allows time for relaxation and sleep to ensure everyone is rested and ready for the next part of the trip!

It’s always a pleasure to store luggage for guests, we have two large luggage rooms at reception so there is always plenty of space.

Perth01 thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next return to Sydney, hopefully next time it will be for longer than one night!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Unfortunately, our experience staying in these apartments was ruined slightly by our treatment upon arrival. I believe that the check-in experience should always be excellent, and in this case it was far from it.

We checked in half an hour later than our scheduled check-in time, to be told that our room still wasn't ready. This was very annoying after an 8 hour flight to Sydney and subsequently wandering around Sydney on quite a cold day for 4 hours, only to return for check-in to find our room wasn't ready on time - friends who checked in before us had their room ready for them. It was even more annoying to notice that all the groups of people checking in whilst we were waiting also seemed to have their rooms ready. Reception staff were not apologetic.

When we finally received a room key, we were given a room on a low floor. We booked 4 months before our stay and specifically asked for a room on the highest floor available with a good view if possible. We even upgraded after booking from a studio to a one bedroom apartment (at a higher cost). We were also staying for 6 nights (most hotels and serviced apartments I have stayed in tend to offer better rooms to those who have upgraded or are staying for longer than 2 or 3 nights). We understood that we would be between the 15th and 40th floors. We noticed upon booking that we could have paid extra for a 'sky view' apartment, but the price to upgrade was extortionate, so we took the advice of other tripadvisor reviewers and simply requested a high floor upon booking. When we received our room key, we hadn't even been given a room half way up floors 15 - 40 (this is also a bit of a con - we were on floor 22 which we were told is actually the 12th floor). When we asked if anything higher was available, we were told by a rather patronising member of reception staff that the only room they had free was two floors below ours - and he felt the need to point out to us that this room would actually be lower than the room we had been given. Well, really?! How patronising.

As a result, we did not sleep well due to the street noise, and we had a view of some buildings and a McDonalds. We also found the rooms lacking compared to other serviced apartments we have stayed in. The bed (uncomfortable), sofa (extremely uncomfortable) and kitchen facilities (poorly designed and laid out) could have all been better, whilst if you stayed in the shower for longer than 2 minutes everything in the bathroom became soaking wet due to a lack of ventilation. The website also proudly describes the apartments as 'oversized', which is definitely an over exaggeration.

Also, be prepared to wait a long time for the lifts here. Most days the amount of time we waited was absolutely ridiculous, and we also heard a number of other guests complaining about this.

The only good aspect of these apartments to us was the location. We may have been more complimentary had our check-in experience been better, however for us that set the tone for the whole stay.

Room Tip: Asking for a higher floor meant nothing in our case. Unimpressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnorthwestuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Travelforpleasure91,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

I was extremely disappointed to read that upon arrival you experienced an unsatisfactory check in. In regards to your feedback about your apartment allocation, due to very high occupancy especially over long weekends unfortunately not all high floor requests are able to be met. We do try our best to meet all guest requests however the only way to guarantee an apartment on a high floor is to book a sky view apartment.

Meriton Serviced Apartments check in time is from 2pm, after looking into your booking I can see that you checked in at 2.15pm. Please accept my apologies for the slight delay; I have passed on your feedback to our Housekeeping Manager who will be monitoring staff to ensure all apartments are being released prior to the check in time of 2pm.

I was however very concerned and somewhat puzzled to read your comments that you found the staff to be patronising as more than often the feedback we receive about the staff and their customer service is highly praised. I would like to hear more details about your experience, if you could please contact me personally on tripadvisor@meriton.net.au with more information, I can then investigate the matter further.

Travelforpleasure91, please accept my apologies that your stay was below expectations. As mentioned before, it is very rare to receive such feedback. I do hope you give Meriton Serviced Apartments another opportunity to be your accommodation provider in the future so we have the chance to turn your perspective of Meriton into a positive one.

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullsbrook
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

A group of 8 of us recently stayed here from Interstate for an event. We had 2x2 bedroom apartments for 2 nights.
Reception was polite and friendly, and very attentive. We dealt with different reception staff over these days and they were all professional, positive and pleasant.
The rooms were very lovely, comfortable, and superbly presented. 2 bathrooms in each, and a very well appointed kitchen. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows.
We had excellent views over the city from our balcony.
The hotel is very close to numerous restaurants and shops, as well as being a 20 minute walk to the harbour.
A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaaLaa2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear LaaLaa2705,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street for your interstate event! When travelling in a group such as yourselves, a Meriton Serviced Apartment is certainly much more convenient as opposed to a standard hotel room as you get that extra space and all the extra add on’s like your own washer, dryer and full kitchen!

I’m pleased to read that your interaction with the reception staff was a positive one and that you found the staff to be polite, friendly and attentive. The staff aim to provide excellence in customer service and it’s always great to receive positive feedback from our guests indicating that this was their experience.

LaaLaa2705 we appreciate your great feedback, we hope to have the opportunity to host your stay on your next return to Sydney!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is unbeatable from checkin to checkout. Staff are prompt and super efficient. Rooms are immaculate.Housekeeping staff are polite and efficient.
Requests are promptly and positively dealt with. 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Ross M,

To receive such glowing feedback from a Senior Contributor is fantastic, thank you for your kind review!

The fact that you found Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street “unbeatable” really says it all!

The staff at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street take great pride in providing guests with five-star service to ensure everyone has a memorable stay with us, it great to hear that this was your experience! I have passed on your appraisal to the team, they were thrilled that their hard work has been recognized, thank you again or your feedback.

Ross M, on behalf of the team at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed for 5 days for work in a 1 bedroom skyview, second stay and again was very impressed. The skyview 1 bedrooms (particularly the corner rooms) have amazing views from every room. Lots of light and are very spacious.

Location was good as close to conference centre and where I was headed for work. Quite close to Townhall station so easy access to city circle and trains.

Overall excellent = only stayed in 1 bedroom skyview and I think the view is definitely worth the extra spend. Would highly recommend and plan to make this my usual Sydney accom (unless need to stay uptown in Circ Quay area), have stayed in many 4-5* around Sydney and purely based on views and space this would easily be the best pick. Free WIFI was great as well

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear JKNZ,

Thank you for your “Excellent” review following your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street!

I’m thrilled to see that the 1bedroom-skyview apartment was perfect for your five night stay! It’s certainly convenient when you are staying with an accommodation provider which is in close walking distance to work, it definitely beats travelling into the busy city each day!

JKNZ thank you once again for your review, it’s fantastic to see that you would choose to use Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street as your new preferred accommodation provider when travelling in Sydney, we look forward to your next return!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Okay, we stayed at Meriton Kent Street for three nights. It is close to China Town in central Sydney. It is close to a lot of fast food outlets and restaurants and well placed for most of the tourist attractions within a short walk. The hotel itself has a large foyer and is well staffed, it is locked at night and entrance is via a swipe card, as is the lift, a sensible security precaution. We asked for a high floor and were given a two bedroomed apartment on the 53rd floor, known as a sky view apartment. There was a balcony and stunning views across Sydney. The apartment itself is well appointed with a sitting/dining/kitchen area and a double ensuite bedroom and a twin. There was also a separate bathroom. The kitchen had a good range of equipment, dish washer, washer, dryer, cooker, microwave etc. There is a television with digital channels in each room and a bath in the ensuite. The room also has a safe. The attention on our arrival was good and things were explained to us quickly and in detail. There is a floor containing a gym, spa and swimming pool, which unfortunately we did not get the time to try. The only thing that was missing from this hotel were the little things to make it a 5 star rating. This place is not cheap it comes at a premium and the are no complimentary items outside of the usual soap in the bathroom etc. the are four bottles of water in the room when you arrive but they are three dollars($aus)per bottle. There are no drinks or snacks etc that take t that little bit further and make it 5 star. However we did have some niggles with the room and they were dealt with immediately and too our complete satisfaction. This is close to a five star rating but just needs to go that extra mile. I would return and be quite happy, and some people may say I am just being picky but I think for the price it needs just that little bit more.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Valo2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Front Office Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valo2207,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review in regards to your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from a Senior Contributor!

You mentioned some of the many fantastic things that guests are provided with when staying in a Meriton Serviced Apartment! Oversized, fully equipped apartments with a perfect central city location. Guests receive complementary use of the leisure facilities such as a heated swimming pool, spa, sauna and gym and even 1GB of complementary Wifi in each apartment!

As we are a Serviced Apartment operation we unfortunately do not have an onsite restaurants or a mini bar in the apartments. We do however provide a variety of menus in each apartment from restaurants in the close vicinity; they can even deliver directly to your apartment door!

Valo2207 thank you again for your feedback, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Nico M
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,912 reviews
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street 5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you step through our lobby doors is the moment your Sydney experience becomes unforgettable. Be treated to a warm welcome by our onsite porter assistance as you breathe in the refreshing signature scent of our sophisticated, marble lobby and be impressed by our exceptional Guest Services team, who will go above and beyond to deliver the five star memorable services in our promise to provide a stay of utmost pleasure. For those early arrivals, our guests are able to freshen up in the newly designed luxury Arrival Lounge, fitted with expansive living spaces with lounges, flat screen TVs, a large walk-in kitchen supplied with complimentary tea and coffee refreshments as well as an oversized outdoor terrace, where one can lounge in the beautiful Sydney weather. Immerse yourself in superior comfort with modern contemporary furnishings, a fully-equipped kitchen, internal laundry and luxury bathroom amenities that feature in all 430 suites. Towering at an impressive 56 storeys high, guests can enjoy captivating and uninterrupted views to remember forever from our Altitude Suites, witness glistening night lights over Darling Harbour from our Darling Suites or experience the ultimate luxury stay from our Penthouse Collection suites. Make the most of our onsite recreational facilities, all for exclusive use by our guests. Choose to relax and unwind to the hot bubbles of our large spa, sit in the hot steam of our sauna or give your muscles a workout in our state of the art gymnasium and heated lap pool. Share your holiday with those back home, reply to work emails or browse the net with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, accessible from all areas of our hotel including the comfort of your own suite. Situated in the centre of Sydney's vibrant city, Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent Street promises the perfect mix of attractions, shopping, entertainment, dining and culture. Only moments away are the popular sights of Sydney. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Royal Botanical Gardens are all within walking distance of our front door, ensuring your stay with us is a seamless one. Adventures to Sydney's surrounding areas has never been easier with public transport only minutes away. Services to the iconic Bondi Beach, the scenic Blue Mountains and ferry rides to the prestigious North Shore are all within a short grasp. Nearby are both Chinatown and the Spanish Quarter, while some of the city's best dining, bars and cafes are found at Cockle Bay and King Street Wharf, both only moments away. In our prime location, we truly are encompassed by a range of culinary treats and cuisines, guaranteeing somewhere to tickle all taste buds. Treat yourself to a shopping splurge at World Square Shopping Centre, located directly across the road from us or venture towards the numerous boutique retail shops along the historic Queen Victoria Building and experience the buzz at Pitt Street Mall, home to Westfield Sydney and an abundance of other quality retailers. Position yourself in the hive of all activity as you choose to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing