We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay but wish we were higher due to noise....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Ranked #24 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent stay but wish we were higher due to noise....”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in an apartment on floor 19. So spacious and well appointed you could live quite happily here and the free wifi a most welcome bonus.

There was noise though which was expected with the bars below but over the Anzac Day period I think it was possibly louder than usual? It wasn't unbearable but if staying for a longer period of time would have been an issue.

Location wise we were 10 minutes walk to darling harbour and there is a free tourist bus running around the city during the day that we hopped on from circular quay. There is a Coles supermarket just across the road in a shopping centre and a massive selection of cafes, restaurants and bars just outside to choose from.

Would definitely stay here again if back I'm sydney but would book a higher floor with harbour view specifically.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottsscottslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear nottsscottslass,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street. I was most delighted to read your comments and note that you enjoyed your stay and the services we provide.

Our team appreciate your kind words and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Nigel L

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,160
    1,749
    368
    135
    61
See reviews for
1,373
2,034
252
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom penthouses for 3 nights. There was five of us and we found the room to be very nice with miele appliances in the kitchen and a great lounge area. We really loved the enclosed balcony which was like a sun room and had a table and chairs in it. The penthouse has 3 levels and we found the top level to be a bit of a waste. All bedrooms has LCD TV's in them. There was also a TV on the top level and in the lounge room. Beds were very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep.

There has been a lot of comments on the noise from the street and even from the top level, if we left the windows opened, we heard noise from the street. This has to be expected as you are in the middle of a major city surrounded by tall buildings that amplify all noise from below.

The gym was very small and in the morning it was hard to get a running machine.

The pool was clean and big but there were no chairs to sit on.

The only problems we had was the bedding configuration was incorrect and had to be fixed and also they did not refill the coffee pods that we were using. Everything else was refilled. Rooms are made up every morning which means beds were made and towels replaced.

We were very happy with these apartments and we found the service to be very professional and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnes016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Dunnes016,

Thank you so much for your very lovely review.

Glad to see you soaked up the mind blowing views of our spectacular city from your Penthouse apartment! Our Penthouse collection certainly has all the modern luxuriant comforts to make ones stay very special indeed!

Again, thank you for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel L

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at Meriton Apartments. It is well located for my business appointments and is close to World Square which has a supermarket in the basement and also there are a myriad of restaurants in the vicinity. It is also easy to access trains and buses. The apartments are well appointed. Mine had a washing washing machine and dishwasher although I was only there for one night and didn't use. I was on the 39th floor (I think) and had a bit of a wait at most times for lifts. There are only four and they seemed to be quite slow in arriving. It was annoying once when my swipecard key didn't work and I had to go all the way down to reception to get another. Didn't see many staff around, but those I did were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyTravellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear BusyTravellers_12,


Thank you for completing a review on your recent stay, I’m please to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent St are ideally located in the Sydney CBD yet close to all the cities main attractions making us an ideal destination.

BusyTravellers_12, we look forward to seeing you on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel L

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The room was great. It was clean, comfortable and had everything i needed. There is a Kohl's grocery store just two blocks away so i had access to any foods i needed and with a kitchenette in my room I saved on eating out. The view from the balcony was amazing. I was looking over Darling Harbour and had the Saturday night fireworks show right in front if me. From the front door it is only a short ten minute walk to Darling Harbour. The housekeeping service did an outstanding job. (Thank you Veronica). I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddJewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear ToddJewell,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street. I was most delighted to read your comments and note that you enjoyed your stay and the services we provide.

I was thrilled to hear that you received excellent service from our housekeeping team and that you were delighted with your Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street experience.

I have certainly passed on your kind words to Veronica in Housekeeping. She was delighted to receive such feedback.

Our team appreciate your time and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Nigel L

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The apartments are new, clean and well sized. We stayed in the studio apartment and it was larger than a standard hotel room elsewhere. The room is quiet and you cannot hear the next room nor the street noise.

The serviced apartment is located near the corner of Kent Street and Liverpool Street. There is an entry at George street as well. The location is 2 mins walk from Chinatown / Paddy’s Market, 2 mins to World Square, 5 mins to QVB / Town Hall station, 10 mins to Pitt Street Mall, 10 mins to Darling Harbour and about 25 mins to Circular Quay (although you can catch the free bus (555) from George Street to Circular Quay).

Staff at the serviced apartment are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White_T_Shirt_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear oceanmatt,
Dear White_T_Shirt_Man,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a fantastic review on your most recent stay.
I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that our well appointed apartments exceeded all of your expectations!

As a senior contributor on Tripadvisor your feedback is certainly well valued. You certainly seemed to have enjoyed our superior location in the heart of the Sydney commercial district.

Thank you again for your wonderful review, on behalf of the Kent Street family we look forward to welcoming you on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel L

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Welcoming and helpful reception staff. Very clean, well maintained, exceptionally well equipped, and spacious accommodation. Great view from the 54th floor balcony though perhaps not always so good in the mirror on the bedroom ceiling! Price was very reasonable for such a central location in a very expensive city. Many major attractions are within easy walking distance and the underground and monorail are close by if you need public transport. Local restaurants deliver meals to the apartment door.

Room Tip: Book a high level apartment with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear BP,

Thank you for completing a review on your recent stay, I’m please to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent St are ideally located in the Sydney CBD yet close to all the cities main attractions making us an ideal destination.

BP, I see that you are a senior contributor on Trip Advisor. I certainly agree with your room tip!

We look forward to seeing you on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel L

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My brother and I had an overnight stop in Sydney on our way to Europe from Adelaide. Location pretty good near QVB, China Town and a 10 - 15 min walk to Circular Quay. Check-in was a breeze (had booked over the net) and apartment was on 49th floor with balcony and fantastic views over Darling Harbour and Western Sydney. Apt was very clean, well appointed and having 2 bathrooms was a real bonus. Will definitely use again instead of a hotel room.

Room Tip: If not afraid of a balcony at heights ask for a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mooffy,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street. I was most delighted to read your comments and note that you enjoyed your stay and the services we provide.

'Fantastic views, I certainly agree! We do like see our lovely guests enjoy themselves and more importantly return to Meriton Serviced Apartments on the their next stay.

Our team appreciate your kind words and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Nigel L

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 179 in Sydney
1,053 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney

Property: Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you step through our lobby doors is the moment your Sydney experience becomes unforgettable. Be treated to a warm welcome by our onsite porter assistance as you breathe in the refreshing signature scent of our sophisticated, marble lobby and be impressed by our exceptional Guest Services team, who will go above and beyond to deliver the five star memorable services in our promise to provide a stay of utmost pleasure. For those early arrivals, our guests are able to freshen up in the newly designed luxury Arrival Lounge, fitted with expansive living spaces with lounges, flat screen TVs, a large walk-in kitchen supplied with complimentary tea and coffee refreshments as well as an oversized outdoor terrace, where one can lounge in the beautiful Sydney weather. Immerse yourself in superior comfort with modern contemporary furnishings, a fully-equipped kitchen, internal laundry and luxury bathroom amenities that feature in all 430 suites. Towering at an impressive 56 storeys high, guests can enjoy captivating and uninterrupted views to remember forever from our Altitude Suites, witness glistening night lights over Darling Harbour from our Darling Suites or experience the ultimate luxury stay from our Penthouse Collection suites. Make the most of our onsite recreational facilities, all for exclusive use by our guests. Choose to relax and unwind to the hot bubbles of our large spa, sit in the hot steam of our sauna or give your muscles a workout in our state of the art fitness centre and heated lap pool. Share your holiday with those back home, reply to work emails or browse the net with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, accessible from all areas of our hotel including the comfort of your own suite. Situated in the centre of Sydney's vibrant city, Meriton Suites Kent Street promises the perfect mix of attractions, shopping, entertainment, dining and culture. Only moments away are the popular sights of Sydney. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Royal Botanical Gardens are all within walking distance of our front door, ensuring your stay with us is a seamless one. Adventures to Sydney's surrounding areas has never been easier with public transport only minutes away. Services to the iconic Bondi Beach, the scenic Blue Mountains and ferry rides to the prestigious North Shore are all within a short grasp. Nearby are both Chinatown and the Spanish Quarter, while some of the city's best dining, bars and cafes are found at Cockle Bay and King Street Wharf, both only moments away. In our prime location, we truly are encompassed by a range of culinary treats and cuisines, guaranteeing somewhere to tickle all taste buds. Treat yourself to a shopping splurge at World Square Shopping Centre, located directly across the road from us or venture towards the numerous boutique retail shops along the historic Queen Victoria Building and experience the buzz at Pitt Street Mall, home to Westfield Sydney and an abundance of other quality retailers. Position yourself in the hive of all activity as you choose to stay with us at Meriton Suites Kent Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing