We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Ranked #17 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here. We had a studio on the 50th floor. Great city view, nice clean room. The location was so much better than the first place we stayed. It was easy to get around. It had everything we needed. The staff was very helpful with all of our needs. They clued us in to the free bus.
The washer dyer combo was a bit confusing but we did finally figure it out.

The only complaint I had was we used a transfer service to the airport that was recommended. We were suppose to be the last stop before the airport but the guy stopped at least 4 more times before we finally did head out to the airport. We had time but it was not what is was suppose to be. They might want to re-think that recommendation.

We would stay there again and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear gingerqueen,

Thanks for your great review! I'm thrilled to read that you had a fantastic stay with us! As you noted, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street offers well sized apartments in a convenient, central city location.

Again, thank you for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,658
    1,456
    271
    104
    47
See reviews for
1,113
1,722
196
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We got a great deal on a 1-bedroom apartment ($160/night) over the Australia Day weekend. We ended up with a huge corner apartment on the 19th floor. Not the greatest view, but we were able to see the Darling harbor fireworks from our balcony. We loved having a dining room and kitchen - well stocked and tons of space. Took advantage of the washer and dryer in the apartment and caught up on our laundry.

Perfect location right on the edge of Chinatown. Loved being so close to tons of restaurants and there is a Coles supermarket about a block away.

The only downside to this hotel is the elevators. Sometimes we waited 5-10 minutes for an elevator to arrive (especially on saturday night!).

We took a taxi to and from the airport - it was about $30 each way.

We would definitely stay again and we would definitely recommend.

p.s. don't go to the vietnamese restaurant right next to the lobby - terrible IMO

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear wanderingage,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a fantastic review on your most recent stay.
I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that our well appointed apartments exceeded all of your expectations!

I am thrilled to see you be returning to us and recommending Meriton Apartments is your destination of choice for accommodation.

As you noted, we are located in a very central city location which makes it very convenient when shopping and visiting Sydney's most famous sites.

Thank you again for your wonderful review, on behalf of the Kent Street family we look forward to welcoming you on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
216 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Clean and functional, our studio apartment served a purpose - a base in Sydney where we could do our washing in the middle of a long trip - but it isn't anything special. I liked the fact that there is a gym and pool. The apartment is clean, but quite basic, and our balcony looked over a derelict building full of pigeons. We were unable to get a decent wifi signal most of the time we were there. OK but not particularly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear LondonRob1961,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your apartment and recreational facilities we offer. It is our aim to ensure we are always providing high quality product.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of view. Our higher floors (Skyview Apartments) with a North/Northwest aspect would be the best rooms to request at time of reservation for a complete view.

In regards to your comments about the apartments been 'characterless', we have a refurbishments of our lower level floors commencing in April/May.

Thank you for your time and I do hope to welcome you back and allow us another opportunity to regain your business.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 1 night - when visiting Metro Theatre in George Street. Perfect loctaion for what we required, many eating places nearby, close to Town Hall and Central Station - service from reception area was fine, room was tidy and comfortable - we had no issues and would gladly return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear AustraliaTim,


Thank you for completing a review on your recent stay, I’m please to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent St are ideally located in the Sydney CBD yet close to all the cities main attractions making us an ideal destination.

AustraliaTim, we look forward to seeing you on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at two hotels while in Sydney. We first stayed at Meriton Serviced Apartments-Kent Street when we arrived, and then the Four Seasons on our return.

Located in the Central Business District, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street was an easy walk to Darling Harbour, right next to the Monorail, very close to the Metro Light Rail, and it was backing onto George Street, with the free shuttle bus 555 to Circular Quay.

We booked direct from the hotel's own website, and picked the Skyview studio apartment. We had a gorgeous view of the Darling Harbour from the sub penthouse balcony. We watched the fire display which they had every Saturday night. The hotel was so close to shopping at World Square and many restaurants. The room was very spacious and had a huge balcony. This hotel was definitely a good deal for its location and size.

Sydney was in the middle of our long trip. Serviced apartment hotels were very popular in Australia, and I picked it because of the ensuite laundry. We didn't use the kitchen but we used the ensuite laundry everyday. It took forever to figure out how to use the washer and dryer in one combo, and every time we had to wait till all clothes were dried to start washing another load. Never buy those machines!

Other than that, the stay was very pleasant an memorable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isimpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear isimpo,

Thank you for completing a review on your recent stay, I’m thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments offers fully equipped, spacious apartments which are perfectly suited to a long stay in the harbour city.

In regards to your feedback about our quality of accommodation, thank you for your kind words. These are the essentials of what Meriton Serviced Apartments represents!

Please note that the next time you stay with us and have difficulties with any of the in room appliances to give me or one of my team and we would be more than happy to go how to operate them.

isimpo, thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed in the apartments for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. There were a couple of small cosmetic things that showed the apartment was not brand new but none of these changed or limitied its functionality. Extra touches with the free wi-fi, excellent servicing with touches like dishwasher put on if forgotten, and super friendly and helpful staff made it a totally enjoyable stay. No more noise than expected for city centre, nice views and good features.

Room Tip: Higher floors are worth getting as view is better and reduced noise from street level and A/C units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mike J,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street. I was most delighted to read your comments and note that you enjoyed your stay and the services we provide.

"Extra Finishing touches"-you are very kind ! But in reality this is the difference between ourselves and our competitors!

I am please that you mentioned the superior service that you received as well as the Free Wi-fi.

Our team appreciate your kind words and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and found the apartments very clean with all that you would need for a comfortable stay. They were also located very central, a bit noisy at night but that's to be expected staying the city centre. However we had trouble with wi-fi access, we vertually had no access in our room, I rang up reception twice to see if something could be done about this but there was no change so we got used to the fact that we would have no internet connection in our room for the stay. I mentioned it to the staff member on reception when I checked out but not even an appology was offered. For this reason I would think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey-x-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Joey-X-78,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your most recent stay at MSA Kent St.

I am please that you found your apartment clean, well appointed and also our superior location in the heart of the Sydney CBD.

Joey-X-78, I do apologise for the comments you made in regards to the ‘poor service’ you refer to during you encountered during your stay. This is certainly not Meriton Service Behaviour and as a result I will be monitoring your feedback closely.

Please rest assured that our front desk team are trained to offer our guests the best service possible and our management team monitor our service standards daily.

If you would like to discuss further then I would be more than welcome to go through the points you raise.

Thank you again for your time and I do hope that you will reconsider returning to Meriton Serviced Apartments and I wish you all the best for 2013.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you step through our lobby doors is the moment your Sydney experience becomes unforgettable. Be treated to a warm welcome by our onsite porter assistance as you breathe in the refreshing signature scent of our sophisticated, marble lobby and be impressed by our exceptional Guest Services team, who will go above and beyond to deliver the five star memorable services in our promise to provide a stay of utmost pleasure. For those early arrivals, our guests are able to freshen up in the newly designed luxury Arrival Lounge, fitted with expansive living spaces with lounges, flat screen TVs, a large walk-in kitchen supplied with complimentary tea and coffee refreshments as well as an oversized outdoor terrace, where one can lounge in the beautiful Sydney weather. Immerse yourself in superior comfort with modern contemporary furnishings, a fully-equipped kitchen, internal laundry and luxury bathroom amenities that feature in all 430 suites. Towering at an impressive 56 storeys high, guests can enjoy captivating and uninterrupted views to remember forever from our Altitude Suites, witness glistening night lights over Darling Harbour from our Darling Suites or experience the ultimate luxury stay from our Penthouse Collection suites. Make the most of our onsite recreational facilities, all for exclusive use by our guests. Choose to relax and unwind to the hot bubbles of our large spa, sit in the hot steam of our sauna or give your muscles a workout in our state of the art gymnasium and heated lap pool. Share your holiday with those back home, reply to work emails or browse the net with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, accessible from all areas of our hotel including the comfort of your own suite. Situated in the centre of Sydney's vibrant city, Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent Street promises the perfect mix of attractions, shopping, entertainment, dining and culture. Only moments away are the popular sights of Sydney. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Royal Botanical Gardens are all within walking distance of our front door, ensuring your stay with us is a seamless one. Adventures to Sydney's surrounding areas has never been easier with public transport only minutes away. Services to the iconic Bondi Beach, the scenic Blue Mountains and ferry rides to the prestigious North Shore are all within a short grasp. Nearby are both Chinatown and the Spanish Quarter, while some of the city's best dining, bars and cafes are found at Cockle Bay and King Street Wharf, both only moments away. In our prime location, we truly are encompassed by a range of culinary treats and cuisines, guaranteeing somewhere to tickle all taste buds. Treat yourself to a shopping splurge at World Square Shopping Centre, located directly across the road from us or venture towards the numerous boutique retail shops along the historic Queen Victoria Building and experience the buzz at Pitt Street Mall, home to Westfield Sydney and an abundance of other quality retailers. Position yourself in the hive of all activity as you choose to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Meriton, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing