We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied guests! Worth considering.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Ranked #24 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a 4 night stay over Australia Day long weekend in a 1 bed sky view apartment on the 49th floor. Booked by phone so negotiated an acceptable price using entertainment card and specials offered via Meriton Newsletter. Apartment had everything you needed, was clean conservatively furnished, and totally adequate. The bedroom not over large and made smaller by putting in a cabinet and TV in the corner. But had opening windows and a view. The built in mirror on the ceiling was a bit tacky tho!!! :-) king bed was great. Bathroom was small, with shower over bath, not the best but adequate. But the reason I would return was the balcony and the uninterrupted view of Darling Harbour. We realise we were fortunate that we had this position, and it certainly makes our rating of these apartments high. Checked out a 2 bed for another visit, great size bedrooms and bathrooms, excellent size really, but location of this 51st floor apartment did not get the same uniterupted fabulous view we had due to location. So I would say location of apartment would be critical in your satisfaction if the view is a factor. Also would pay extra for sky view. We could hear traffic etc even on the 49 floor. One negative was the high price asked for late checkout. $50 per hour totally unreasonable! Would return and recommend to others. Thanks to Tyson, Ronel and Shawn for their great service.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank philljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Philljan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a fantastic review on your most recent stay.

I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that the staff and apartment exceeded all of your expectations!

Yes Ronel, Tyson and Shawn are valuable team members that excel in all facets of customer service. We are certainly pleased to have them represent us at Meriton Kent Street.

As you noted, we are located in a very central city location which makes it very convenient when shopping and visiting Sydney's most famous sites.

You have offered great feedback in regards to the appointment of the apartment you stayed which is wonderful.

Thank you again for your wonderful review, on behalf of the Kent Street family we look forward to welcoming you on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,651 - 4,657 of 5,678 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel was lovely, the rooms were very clean and modern, however it lacked in service. Staff on the front desk were not helpful at all and the lady 'hayley' in reservations is very rude. Next time we will probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Sarah J,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your most recent stay at MSA Kent St.

I am please that you enjoyed your apartment (the views are most spectacular) and also our superior location in the heart of the Sydney CBD.

Sarah J, I do apologise for the comments you made in regards to the ‘lack of service’ you refer to during you encountered during your stay. I am puzzled by your comments; however I will be monitoring your feedback closely.

Please rest assured that our front desk team are trained to offer our guests the best service possible and our management team monitor our service standards daily.

Thank you again for your time and I do hope that you will reconsider returning to Meriton Serviced Apartments and I wish you all the best for 2013.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed with my little one for 3 nights. The check in was quick and the room was ready when we arrived (late evening).

Location wise - this is a little far off from the rocks/ opera house - its about 20 minutes walk to the Circular Quay area. Otherwise one could always take the 555 loop bus. Its close to paddy markets / harbour side and china town.

Room sizes were decent and the bedroom had a TV which we didnt use. The view from the 39th floor wasnt great but we didnt pay for a skyview room so thats what we got. It had a good alundry facility and kitchenette.

The housekeeping was poor - even the beds which were to be made everyday wasnt done well. On the day of the full service they hadnt cleaned the dust on th tables/ tv stand etc. They never bothered to replenish the bathroom supplies and said we need to ask the reception everyday. We complained to them on day 1 that the sink in the bathrooom wasnt working and water clogged and no one bothered to come and look for 3 days even after repeated complaints.

On the last day the housekeeping lady blocked the sink on the whole and it was overflowing - what a shame to have this happen on the last day.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny. Dont take the room on the floor where the swimming pool is located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LavDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear LavRams,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Sydney’s commercial district which makes things very convenient when getting around Sydney!

I was disappointed however to read your feedback that you felt Housekeeping was 'poor'.

In your case it is evident that we have let you down and not kept our high standards of cleanliness and upkeep of our lovely Apartments. I do apologise for this.

I have passed on your comments to the Housekeeping Manager who is going to personally follow up with the team to ensure that we are executing our procedures and as a result, that our high standards will be maintained.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. Its valuable feedback such as yours which allows us to evaluate ourselves and find room for improvement. From the team at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent St.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

So far I have stayed in Sydney CBD at The Westin Martin Place, Sheraton Blue, Rydges World Square, Rydges Capital Square (do not stay there), Park Royal Darling Harbour and Meriton Kent Street, each time with two children, and of all those Kent Street is my favourite. We got a great deal and it was incredible good value for money. Apartment really nice (maybe smaller than in Kent Street, but somehow it had more soul), staff great and a very good location. Pool great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather_12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Heather_123456789,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed the location of the apartments, definitely much better value than hotels.

Also I noted that you rated us higher than our competitors which is fantastic.

The fact that our well appointed apartment style accommodation rooms are well versed to

cater for the needs of families is another reason why our lovely guests keep returning to

Meriton on Kent St.

Again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us, and do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is great. Apartment large and spacious, clean, pool great, nice staff. The only major drawback was the large air conditioning units of the cinema complex next door. They were very, VERY loud. The complex has over 400 apartments so it felt a little bit soulless. My favourite is Meriton Pitt Street, but I will definitely stay at Kent Street again if I can't get Pitt.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather_12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Heather_1235678,


Thank you for completing a review on your recent stay, I’m please to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent St are ideally located in the Sydney CBD yet close to all the cities main attractions making us an ideal destination.

In regards to your feedback about your Air con noise experienced during your stay from the adjacent complex, I do apologise that you encountered this during your stay.

We take all guest feedback very seriously and have followed up on the issue you encountered during your stay. I have not had this feedback before and will en devour to look into this.

As you mentioned I am please that this did not effect your overall experience with us.

Heather_123456789, thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked these serviced apartments after our travel agent let us down with our hotel booking.

The apartments are spacious and well equipped. We had a "skyview" room on 53rd floor and had fantastic views.

Not only do you get all of the additional space of having an apartment washing machine is useful when on a long trip.

Didn't use the pool or the gym so can't comment on that. However we would rather pay o stop somewhere like this where you get more room for money as opposed to facilities that we are unlikely to use.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff were thorough and was as you would expect at a hotel.

Would look to book serviced apartments again as an alternative to hotels in future.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baggie_Bird82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Baggie_Bird82

Thank you for your lovely review!

Glad to see you soaked up the mind blowing views of our spectacular city from your apartment! Our sky-view apartments are most certainly worth the extra spend! Thank you for your kind recommendations for taking your time in providing your feedback.

Great to see that you received excellent service customer service during your stay with us. We certainly strive to create a 'home away from home' environment for our guests.

We do hope to welcome you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments in the near future.

Warm Regards

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in these apartments over the Christmas holidays. The apartment was very spacious and clean . Large separate living and kitchen area , washing machine and dryer ( very handy for mid-travel). We stayed here 10 nights and slept soundly every night , bed very comfortable , curtains heavy for blackout and very very quiet. Signs in elevator they have zero tolerance for loud noise/music/parties. There was not one night of disturbed sleep even NYE was quiet. Location very good 2mins to Chinatown , 2 mins to Darling Harbour and about 25 mins direct walk to Harbour. Highly recommend mamas restaurant across the road fab pasta and pizza. there is a Coles about 2 mins from apartments to get groceries so very handy. It took a lot of research to book our trip to Australia and I was particularly anxious about where we were going to stay for Christmas and my research paid off , we were soo happy with the Meriton and highly recommend the apartments we had a lovely Christmas and New Years in wonderful Sydney!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank am25k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear am25k,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your apartment and recreational facilities we offer. It is our aim to ensure we are always providing a high quality experience for our guests.

You also seem to enjoy or great location in the commercial sector of the Sydney CBD which is another reason our lovely guests keep coming back to experience Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent St.

I am so happy that we made your Sydney Christmas and New Year experience a memorable one.

We certainly hoped to see you again in 2013.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney

Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $143 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you step through our lobby doors is the moment your Sydney experience becomes unforgettable. Be treated to a warm welcome by our onsite porter assistance as you breathe in the refreshing signature scent of our sophisticated, marble lobby and be impressed by our exceptional Guest Services team, who will go above and beyond to deliver the five star memorable services in our promise to provide a stay of utmost pleasure. For those early arrivals, our guests are able to freshen up in the newly designed luxury Arrival Lounge, fitted with expansive living spaces with lounges, flat screen TVs, a large walk-in kitchen supplied with complimentary tea and coffee refreshments as well as an oversized outdoor terrace, where one can lounge in the beautiful Sydney weather. Immerse yourself in superior comfort with modern contemporary furnishings, a fully-equipped kitchen, internal laundry and luxury bathroom amenities that feature in all 430 suites. Towering at an impressive 56 storeys high, guests can enjoy captivating and uninterrupted views to remember forever from our Altitude Suites, witness glistening night lights over Darling Harbour from our Darling Suites or experience the ultimate luxury stay from our Penthouse Collection suites. Make the most of our onsite recreational facilities, all for exclusive use by our guests. Choose to relax and unwind to the hot bubbles of our large spa, sit in the hot steam of our sauna or give your muscles a workout in our state of the art fitness centre and heated lap pool. Share your holiday with those back home, reply to work emails or browse the net with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, accessible from all areas of our hotel including the comfort of your own suite. Situated in the centre of Sydney's vibrant city, Meriton Suites Kent Street promises the perfect mix of attractions, shopping, entertainment, dining and culture. Only moments away are the popular sights of Sydney. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Royal Botanical Gardens are all within walking distance of our front door, ensuring your stay with us is a seamless one. Adventures to Sydney's surrounding areas has never been easier with public transport only minutes away. Services to the iconic Bondi Beach, the scenic Blue Mountains and ferry rides to the prestigious North Shore are all within a short grasp. Nearby are both Chinatown and the Spanish Quarter, while some of the city's best dining, bars and cafes are found at Cockle Bay and King Street Wharf, both only moments away. In our prime location, we truly are encompassed by a range of culinary treats and cuisines, guaranteeing somewhere to tickle all taste buds. Treat yourself to a shopping splurge at World Square Shopping Centre, located directly across the road from us or venture towards the numerous boutique retail shops along the historic Queen Victoria Building and experience the buzz at Pitt Street Mall, home to Westfield Sydney and an abundance of other quality retailers. Position yourself in the hive of all activity as you choose to stay with us at Meriton Suites Kent Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing