We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Ranked #25 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The staff was wonderful and the rooms were clean and well-appointed with kitchen, balcony, washer/dryer, etc. I just wasn't thrilled with the location. I chose this place in part because other reviewers had said it had a great location. For me personally, it was quite far from the areas I wanted to be close to, mainly Sydney Harbour, Opera House, Botanical Gardens and The Rocks. It was about a half hour walk (and I walk fast!) to those places. I would recommend some place a bit further north for folks interested in similar attractions. This hotel is either in or closely bordering Chinatown near the Darling Harbor. Didn't find much interesting to see near the hotel - just a lot of fast food and touristy shops.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view - otherwise you may end up facing another building as I was
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MellyMelinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Melly,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Sydney’s commercial district which makes things very convenient when getting around Sydney!

We are close to the those areas of Sydney such as the Opera House and the rocks which are only 10 minutes away via public transport.

I was sorry to hear that you preferred that end of the city but when selected hotel location it can be such a personal choice of preference.

I was happy to hear that you found your rooms clean and well appointed. From the team at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next return to Sydney.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,039 - 5,045 of 6,044 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Meriton for 5 nights incorporating NYE in a Studio apartment on the 32nd floor. Because we were staying at a peak time of year we had to pay for the privilidge - but the Merition worked out the cheapest accommodation by far for the location and the quality.

The room was an ok size, would have been nice to have more than a single chair/sofa to sit on (with there being two of us after all!) but this didn't matter too much as the TV swung around and we could watch it in bed. We found it odd that the apartment had 3 of everything in the kitchen - would have been more helpful to have 4 and then we wouldn't have had to wash up every time we'd used something (and although there is a dishwasher you'd have to use everything in the kitchen to warrent putting it on - and even then it would only be half full). We were happy to discover a washing machine and dryer in the apartment as we'd been away for a while and needed to refresh our wardrobe - the only problem being no hanging space anywhere to dry items that couldn't be tumble dried - ended up using the ironing board!

The bed was comfy and we had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. It's well located near Town Hall station and only a 30 minute walk to Circular Quay. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Nicolac34,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the apartments, definitely much better value than hotels.

Again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us, and do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Meriton Kent Street for 2 nights late Dec 2012 and found the place very clean and the location was just fantastic. We plan to stay there the next time we visit Sydney.No hesitation in recommending this property and believe me we are VERY fussy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Undae,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a fantastic review on your most recent stay.
I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that the staff and apartment exceeded all of your expectations!

As you noted, we are located in a very central city location which makes it very convenient when shopping and visiting Sydney's most famous sites.

Thank you again for your wonderful review, on behalf of the Kent Street family we look forward to welcoming you on your next return to Sydney!

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hubby and I stayed four nights as part of a three-week trip through Oz and NZ. Always nice to have a kitchen and laundry facilities on a long trip. Nicely located to Darling Harbour and Chinatown, large supermarket nearby, had to pay for internet in the room, though. Circular Quay and The Rocks are about a 40-minute walk, so recommend the free 555 bus to get there.

The apartment was sufficient, clean and tidy but got the overall feeling that the staff and service was a bit lackadaisical. Bed comfort was average, the foam pillows were about the most UNcomfortable pillows we've experienced in a long time.

Cannot heartily recommend, but cannot discourage either. Be sure to ask for a high floor with harbour view.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a high floor with harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clearview3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Clearview3000,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Sydney’s commercial district which makes things very convenient when getting around Sydney!

I was disappointed however to read your feedback that you felt the apartment had average and
pillows and bedding were not up to our high standard.

Please be advised, we are continually updating our apartments, furnishings, towels and linen to ensure everything is always at a high standard. I have passed on your comments to the Housekeeping Manager who is going to personally check the apartment you were staying in to ensure that everything is up to the high standard that we provide and pride ourselves on.

I would also like to know what aspect of our service you found 'lackadaisical'.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. Its valuable feedback such as yours which allows us to evaluate ourselves and find room for improvement. From the team at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next return to Sydney.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at the Meriton Kent Street for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a one bed skyview apartment which was on the 54th floor and provided fantastic views across the city and Darling Harbour.

Check in was a bit slow but friendly, keys can be a bit temperemental, but apart from that had no issues at all.

We could see at least glimpses of the sea from every room in the flat and really enjoyed watching the fireworks in Darling Harbour from our balcony on Saturday night. The furnishings were comfortable, kitchen was well enough equipt fora couple of people. Having a washing Machine was a godsend and a definite one up on a hotel.

Minutes walk to Chinatown, Darling Harbour, and Town Hall station.

Will absolutely stay again when in Sydney.

small anecdote, there was a mirror over our bed, which I found very odd, though amusing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear RLMUK,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a fantastic review on your most recent stay.

As you noted, we are located in a very central city location which makes it very convenient when shopping and visiting Sydney's most famous sites.

Thank you again for your 5-star review, on behalf of the Kent Street family we look forward to welcoming you on your next return to Sydney!

Kind Regards

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

One of the best Sydney locations and the apartment was wonderful. We stayed in 3 bedroom penthouse. However, the service was so bad, the staff so unprofessional that i would find it terribly hard to return or to recommend these apartments to anyone. The underground parking is very poor and inadequate and the lifts (one was out of service for several day) was not enough to cater for the vast number of visitors.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your most recent stay at MSA Kent St.

I am please that you enjoyed your 3 bedroom apartment (the views are most spectacular) and also our superior location in the heart of the Sydney CBD.

Sharon, I do apologise for the comments you made in regards to the ‘poor service’ you refer to during you encountered during your stay. I am puzzled by your comments; however I will be monitoring your feedback closely.

Please rest assured that our front desk team are trained to offer our guests the best service possible and our management team monitor our service standards daily.

Thank you again for your time and I do hope that you will reconsider returning to Meriton Serviced Apartments and I wish you all the best for 2013.

Warm Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights over new year. Good location within a reasonable walk of most of what Sydney has to offer. If you don't like walking, Town Hall metro station is just around the corner. Also, the rooms were pretty quiet for a CBD location.

Wouldn't recommend the pool area unless you are deaf - it has a really low ceiling and any noise is amplified to the point of being unbearable. Also, the Sauna seemed only to heat up when someone turned the dial, so if nobody uses it for a while, it will be cold.

Maintenance issues in the room were: tumbledryer that didn't work properly, bathroom sink that didn't drain and a hi-fi with only one speaker working - nothing to ruin the trip, but seems to show that a bit more attention to detail is needed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Normski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel L, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Normski99,

Thank you for completing a review on your recent stay, I’m please to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent St are ideally located in the Sydney CBD yet close to all the cities main attractions making us an ideal destination.

In regards to your feedback about your maintenance issues experienced during your stay, I do apologise that you encountered these during your stay.

We take all guest feedback very seriously and have followed up on the issues you encountered during your stay.

These maintenance issues are certainly not the expectation with the Meriton Serviced Apartments Brand.

As you mentioned I am please that this did not effect your overall experience with us.

Normski99, thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you on your next return to Sydney!

Kind Regards,

Nigel Logue

Senior Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#31 of 186 in Sydney
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Meriton Suites Zetland
#13 of 186 in Sydney
3,392 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney

Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $162 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in superior comfort with contemporary furnishings, a fully-equipped kitchen, internal laundry and luxury bathroom amenities that feature in all 430 suites. Our suites come up to three times larger than the typical hotel room, including our Studio and 1-bedroom suites. Indulge in an uncompromised stay with 2 and 3-bedroom suites designed with a complete second bathroom and copious living space. Towering at an impressive 56 floors high, guests can enjoy captivating views from our Altitude Suites, witness glistening night lights over Darling Harbour from our Darling Suites or experience the ultimate luxury stay from our Penthouse Collection suites. Unwind in the hot bubbles of our large spa, sit in the hot steam of our sauna or give yourself a workout in our exclusive fitness centre and heated lap pool. Situated in the centre of Sydney’s vibrant city, Meriton Suites Kent Street promises the perfect mix of attractions, shopping, entertainment, dining and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing