We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Ranked #21 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Christmas visit”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for six nights over Christmas, meeting up with my daughter who lives in Sydney. We specifically selected Kent Street for the balcony and the ability to cook a Christmas dinner just like we would have at home. Despite a few minor problems with the utensils, we managed to cook a wonderful Christmas lunch. Great location, short walks to shopping, transport and the harbour. If you are a gym junkie, the gym is a bit lacking in some equipment but still provided the opportunity for a fairly decent workout.
Value for money was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation in staying at Kent Street next time I am in Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Leanne K

Thank you for taking your time and providing feedback regarding your stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to create a home away from home for your family Christmas lunch. We do try our very best to provide as many cooking utensils to help our guests cook most dishes. I do hope the ‘minor problems’ you refer to were rectified by our staff and did not disrupt your culinary experience whilst creating your Christmas meal.

Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, is definitely in a great location. Just a short stroll down Liverpool Street and you are at ‘Sydney’s newest precinct’ Darling Quarter, a great place for young children as well as a lot of dining options. Not to mention the close proximity of the QVB (Queen Victoria Building) as well countless transport options.

I was pleased to see you made use of our gym, please kindly note that we have a commercial gym on our premises called ‘Snap Fitness’ that our guests can access at a special discounted rate should you require a more extensive work out.

Lastly, I do appreciate your appraisal in regards to the staff. We are always striving to exceed our guest expectations and it is always pleasing to receive positive affirmation. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to one of our Meriton properties in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison G
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,115
    1,722
    360
    132
    61
See reviews for
1,351
2,014
246
844
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed in Sydney on several occasions and were looking forward to this trip as it was our first to Sydney in four years. Meriton Apartments Kent Street is a great location (one block south of Town Hall Station and right in the middle of the main entertainment strip). We had a great view from our room looking towards western Sydney. The overall standard of the room was very good and we made use of the pool and gym facilities (which also were very good).

There were, however, some issues that were disappointing for such a high quality property. First, the service was very poor. On at least two occasions towels and toilet paper (fairly basic) were not replenished. On one of those occasions, service was less than prompt in responding to our request for more towels to be sent up to the room. Second, upon arrival, both the dishwasher and dryer did not work. It took more than a day to get the dishwasher fixed and the dryer never was (despite at least 4-5 requests). We had to find work around solutions to get clothes dry which was less than fun when you are on holiday. Third, the car parking situation can only be described as a joke. We had a validated parking ticket but no guarantee of a parking spot! On one occasion, we had to drive around the car park for about thirty minutes before we finally managed to get one - not good when you have a rental car. We also found the lifts a problem. They were quite inadequate for the size of the hotel. Finally, the front desk staff seemed to be perpetually inundated with people checking in and out. On the occasions that we reported the dryer situation to the front desk and concierge they were not exactly helpful or friendly. There was never any follow-up to make sure that everything was alright. I thought to myself on a number of occasions how frustrated people from countries like the USA must have been (given the quality of service in properties in those countries).

On balance, we will look around next time before we stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a sky view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Peter2307,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your apartment and recreational facilities we offer. It is our aim to ensure we are always providing high quality product.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of housekeeping services and reported faulty appliances. I was disappointed that these issues were not resolved in a timely manner and that there appeared to be a lack of communication and follow up from our front desk team. Please rest assured that your feedback has been taken seriously and I will personally investigate the issues raised.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you reported regarding our car park and lift facility. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee a parking spot as our car park management is outsourced and offers casual parking to the general public. It is rare that we receive such feedback as and more often than none our guests can locate a parking spot without fuss. Please note that at peak times our lifts can become a little slower than usual. Again, please accept my apology for any delays you may have experienced. This is certainly not to image we like to portray.

Peter2307, whilst I cannot turn back the clock, please note that your valuable feedback has been taken seriously and it is only through such reviews and comments that we can continue to learn and develop. If you would like to contact me regarding this, please email tripadvisor@meriton.net.au.

Thank you for your time and I do hope to welcome you back and allow us another opportunity to regain your business.

Kind Regards
Alison G
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We always choose apartments over hotel rooms for our family of two teenage girls plus mum and dad. Having previously loved Meriton Danks Street, we thought we'd try their city version. What a great idea!

Stayed for a week over Christmas to make the most of everything Sydney has on offer at this time of year. By day, we travelled easily by foot and on trains, getting to Circular Quay or Bondi Junction is just a couple of train stops. Darling Harbour and the inner city are easily accessible. If you walk along Kent Street for one block you will be at an entry to Town Hall arcade and can be on a train to anywhere in ten minutes. This is an easy walk and would be suitable even for small children and able bodied seniors.

Coles is nearby, so we stocked up on groceries on the first day and made use of the excellent kitchen facilities for most breakfasts and some dinners. These cheaper meals let us be extravagant for the others at the huge range of fabulous restaurants on offer in Sydney.

The lounge and beds are comfy and it was lovely to come home and put our feet up after a busy day. There is lots of room to hang your clothes and spread out comfortably. Ten minutes of careful unpacking at the beginning and it really is a home away from home.

Staff are unobtrusive, we can't say more because there was nothing that needed attention. From check in to check out everything ran smoothly. If there was anything that could be improved, and it is only minor, it is that the towels are somewhat past their use-by date. Nevertheless, they were changed regularly and did the job efficiently.

The thoughtful, efficient layout of our apartment made our stay an absolute pleasure. Whilst our South West view was mainly buildings, there are worse ways to spend an evening than sitting on a balmy balcony with a companion and a wine to gaze at the city lights.

Meriton has done it again for us, and we will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Views of Darling Harbour would be lovely and there are fireworks \\every Saturday night which you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Still_lots_to_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Still_lots_to_do,

“Meriton has done it again for us, and we will most certainly be back!” – Thanks!

Thank you for your fantastic detailed report regarding your most recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found use of our oversized, well-appointed apartments allowing you to feel like it was a ‘home away from home’. Our location is certainly very handy being so close to all the wonderful sites that Sydney has to offer. Not to mention the great dining options and transport facilities.

Please kindly note that we are always injecting new linen into our supplies to ensure our product is always at a high standard. I was disappointed to see that you found our linen out-dated. Please be advised that I have passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper for further investigation. Please accept my apologies for this.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Meriton Serviced Apartments. Your business is valuable and we appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to your return in the near future.


Kind Regards
Alison G
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a Xmas booking at the Meriton Kent Street for over 2 months. On arriving at 10pm after a long flight we were given our first key that did not work. Our 3rd key worked so we unpacked and I went out to get some water. On returning the key would not work or any of the 5 they gave me. He security guard escorted me upstairs and told us we had to Tay the night and they would get us a Key the next day after people checked out. We then fled to the Westin after getting abused or telling the security guard we would not be styling.

Absolutely appalling avoid it at all costs

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Mitchpa,

Thank you for taking the time provide feedback on your experience.

Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have reported. Due to an unforeseen computer issue at the time of your arrival unfortunately we were unable to activate the security keys for the lifts. I understand that our staff did offer to escort you to your apartment until the problem was rectified, however initially you declined and then decided to leave us.

I can certainly understand your frustration after a long haul flight and the urgency of getting to bed. Unfortunately computer situations like this cannot be foreseen, however when they do arise we make every attempt to correct them as soon as possible to minimise disruption to our guests. It appears that on this occasion you were not satisfied with our attempts and for that once again I apologise.

Kind Regards
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at Meriton on Kent street for 5 nights was very happy with everything. We will stay again when we go back to Sydney. It was a gret location as there were a lot of places nearby to eat, the Sanctuary Hotel across the road had great meals. There was a monorail station closeby. The staff were very freindly & helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments! We are thrilled to have exceeded your expectations and that our top quality services and facilities were able to leave you with such a positive impression of our brand.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

These serviced apartments are the way to go if you're traveling with more than one person (or even when traveling solo). My sister requested a high floor to get away from street noise, balcony and harbour view, all of which we received. Note that the hotel is actually quite a bit away buildings-wise from the harbour so the view is limited, but not a big deal!

The flat had a fridge, microwave, oven / hob, toaster, water boiler, utensils (but no plates or frying pan), dish washer, laundry machine and dryer. Perfect as we had just come from the whitsundays and were in dire need of doing some clothes washing. laundry liquid was provided.

This location is very central - 5 min from darling harbour, walked to surry hills for dinner, walked about 20 minutes to circular quay and the sydney harbour bridge / opera house. The only time we took a taxi was to Bondi Beach. The concierge recommended we take a taxi to The Australian museum too, but that is unnecessary - it's a 10 minute easy walk. You basically can get everywhere touristy that you want to on foot from this location save Bondi and the airport.

The service people were friendly.

Not the most luxurious place on earth, but the flats are spacious, the beds sleepable, and it's worth sacrificing luxury for the conveniences/amenities.

Oh and not that we made it there, but it has quite a decent pool and gym too.

Will definitely try to book this place again if returning to Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leorl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear leorl23,

Thanks for your great review! I'm thrilled to read that you had a fantastic stay with us! As you noted, Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street offers over sized apartments in a convenient, central city location.

Again, thank you for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street on your next return to Sydney!

Kind Regards
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stat st the Meriton on Kent. We stayed 5 nights with our 9 year old twins in a 2 bedroom apartment. Great location for dinner and Darling Harbour plus the free 555 bus to Circular Quay was near by. Lots of dinner options nearby also especially if you love Asian cuisine. Good value as well as Syndey can be expensive. The daily maid service was great and the place was very clean. The pool was the only real downer as it is not really family friendly - more of a small lap pool. We were also delayed in checking in - we arrived at 10am which is well before 2pm check-in but we finally git a room at 3:15pm. with young and tired kids that was a challenge especially after a long flight. Overall a great stay for us. We will come back!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinginAsiaAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments! We are thrilled to have exceeded your expectations and that our top quality services and facilities were able to leave you with such a positive impression of our brand.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
1,033 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,896 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney

Property: Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you step through our lobby doors is the moment your Sydney experience becomes unforgettable. Be treated to a warm welcome by our onsite porter assistance as you breathe in the refreshing signature scent of our sophisticated, marble lobby and be impressed by our exceptional Guest Services team, who will go above and beyond to deliver the five star memorable services in our promise to provide a stay of utmost pleasure. For those early arrivals, our guests are able to freshen up in the newly designed luxury Arrival Lounge, fitted with expansive living spaces with lounges, flat screen TVs, a large walk-in kitchen supplied with complimentary tea and coffee refreshments as well as an oversized outdoor terrace, where one can lounge in the beautiful Sydney weather. Immerse yourself in superior comfort with modern contemporary furnishings, a fully-equipped kitchen, internal laundry and luxury bathroom amenities that feature in all 430 suites. Towering at an impressive 56 storeys high, guests can enjoy captivating and uninterrupted views to remember forever from our Altitude Suites, witness glistening night lights over Darling Harbour from our Darling Suites or experience the ultimate luxury stay from our Penthouse Collection suites. Make the most of our onsite recreational facilities, all for exclusive use by our guests. Choose to relax and unwind to the hot bubbles of our large spa, sit in the hot steam of our sauna or give your muscles a workout in our state of the art fitness centre and heated lap pool. Share your holiday with those back home, reply to work emails or browse the net with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, accessible from all areas of our hotel including the comfort of your own suite. Situated in the centre of Sydney's vibrant city, Meriton Suites Kent Street promises the perfect mix of attractions, shopping, entertainment, dining and culture. Only moments away are the popular sights of Sydney. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Royal Botanical Gardens are all within walking distance of our front door, ensuring your stay with us is a seamless one. Adventures to Sydney's surrounding areas has never been easier with public transport only minutes away. Services to the iconic Bondi Beach, the scenic Blue Mountains and ferry rides to the prestigious North Shore are all within a short grasp. Nearby are both Chinatown and the Spanish Quarter, while some of the city's best dining, bars and cafes are found at Cockle Bay and King Street Wharf, both only moments away. In our prime location, we truly are encompassed by a range of culinary treats and cuisines, guaranteeing somewhere to tickle all taste buds. Treat yourself to a shopping splurge at World Square Shopping Centre, located directly across the road from us or venture towards the numerous boutique retail shops along the historic Queen Victoria Building and experience the buzz at Pitt Street Mall, home to Westfield Sydney and an abundance of other quality retailers. Position yourself in the hive of all activity as you choose to stay with us at Meriton Suites Kent Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing