We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Ranked #17 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Because we travel for business, we book a 2 bedroom apartment so that we each have our own private room yet share a common lounge / kitchen area. This suits us perfectly as the bedrooms are on opposite sides of the apartment so that if some-one wants to go to bed early, there's no noise issue. The master bedroom has an ensuite and TV but there is a second bathroom/toilet for the use of the second bedroom occupant. My only complaint about the bedrooms would be the bed-head lighting which is not quite strong enough for reading. I had to leave the ceiling light on as well.

The location is great as there is both a Coles and Woolworths supermarket close-by with which to stock the kitchen. In saying that, there are plenty of good restaurants within a 5-10min walk, but as we were there for 6 nights, we wanted a "home-cooked" meal a couple of times. Also, Sydney can be quite expensive food-wise so we purchased bread, eggs etc so we could have our breakfast in the apartment. Teabags, coffee sachets & sugar are provided. If you are planning a longer stay and want to cook, you might want to BYO salt, pepper etc. Cooking utensils are rudimentary but if you require anything extra (we needed another saucepan as we were doing spaghetti bolognaise), the staff are only too happy to oblige.

The apartment was "serviced" daily ie. fresh towels if you wanted, bed made, rubbish collected and dishwashing liquid etc replaced. Again, just a small gripe - maybe after 3 days some-one could have run a vacuum/broom over the floor.

We've stayed here a number of times now and will be back as it's value for money and has a good "home away from home" vibe. Free wi-fi would be great but not essential. All in all, a good choice if you're after apartment accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Kent Street (as opposed to George Street) are marginally quieter, but being in the cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gqueen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear gQueen8

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay here at Meriton Kent St.
As a Senior Contributor for Tripadvisor we recognise your feedback is highly regarded by like minded travellers, and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As an accommodation provider our aim is to ensure that all guests, whether they visit for business or leisure, have the most comfortable and enjoyable stay possible.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the reading light on the bedhead. I will pass this comment onto our Maintenance team for review. To keep you informed, though our internet charges are competitively priced we do offer complimentary wifi in the lobby
.
Thank you once again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to your “home away from home” shortly.

Kind Regards
Meriton Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,492
    1,360
    246
    96
    43
See reviews for
1,044
1,618
181
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location just off George St and opposite World Square which has supermarket and plenty of shopping. Only a few minutes walk to Chinatown and Darling Harbour and very convenient to train station. I stayed in a studio which was spacious and had kitchenette. Excellent value for money if not staying a Saturday night however prices for Saturday seemed expensive everywhere in Sydney.This is the 3rd Meriton I have stayed in and would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Darren B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Meriton Kent St Apartments.

Our apartments located in the heart of the city are well appointed and conveniently close to Darling Harbour and China town, as you have kindly noted.

We appreciate your loyalty to the Meriton Apartments, and look forward to welcoming you back to Kent Street again soon.

Kind Regards
Meriton Kent Street Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The best part is the location just off Liverpool St and a short walk to Darling Harbour. Reasonably priced, neat and tidy with everything you need. I have stayed here several times and always found it more than acceptable,

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, although stret noise can be loud on lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birender C, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear NicLock,

Thank you for your review, as you mentioned, our central location is very convenient for our guests, giving them access to a Darling Harbour and variety of retail and restaurant options. I am glad that this was perfect for your requirements.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back, next time you are visiting Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose a high floor (recommended for the views and less traffic noise) 1 bedroom apartment. Everything about the accomodation was good. With the comfy sofas in the living area and our little kitchen we could completely relax. The bedroom and bathroom were serviced daily and rubbish in the kitchen emptied. Staff were very helpful. My only complaint would be there is no free WiFi. This should be part of the normal hotel service nowadays not an added charge. Otherwise I was very happy and will stay again next time I am in Sydney.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birender C, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear 15pj,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street and thank you for your great review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and very pleased to read your comments about our staff.

In regards to internet though our internet charges are competitively priced for the area, we recognise the need for complimentary WiFi and we are currently working with our internet provider on this matter.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

FIrst the positives: the location was great, right next to CBD, and I was treated to an unexpected fireworks show on Friday night - the apartment had a great view of it. The apartment was well kitted-out with full sink, fridge-freezer, microwave, and dishwasher. Also the front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

However, overall I wasn't too happy and wouldn't stay here again, especially for the price - cheaper than many hotels, but not good value for money. When I arrived, I bought some stuff to put in the fridge, only to find that so much ice had built up that the door wouldn't close and it was dripping water on the floor. The bathroom was dirty with hairs from previous guests all over it, and this didn't change during my stay: it was never cleaned properly while I was there. Also there was a foul smell from the drains in the bathroom: not the fault of the cleaning staff, but certainly unpleasant.

On my last morning, I left some laundry to be done but it was never sent out - not a big deal but, like the cleaning of the apartment, not that hard to get right and disappointing. I know others have commented on internet access not being free: I don't really know what the norm is in Sydney, but it seems pretty common to charge for it, so I don't have a problem with that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birender C, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Raymond,

Thank you for your review, I would like to apologise for your service experience not being up to our regular high standard.

If you would like to contact us at tripadvisor@meriton.net.au, we would be happy to look into your feedback further.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On numerous occasions I have had the need to crash in the City (originating from central west NSW) and my choice is always the Kent St Apartments. They are always clean, everything works, fast check in ever and the staff are always happy to assist, nothing is to much. The location is immediate to the spanish quarter and china town so eating options are abound. Also just located around the corner from the cinemas and George street, so entertainment is also covered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burton1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birender C, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear burton1967,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street and thank you for your great review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and very pleased to read your comments about our staff.

We appreciate your loyalty to Meriton Kent St, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stay at the meriton sydney in October for 3 night, needed cleaning more as there were cob webs down by the side off our headboard, apart from that all ok, good location plenty off places to eat out.

Room Tip: check for cob webs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank focus206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birender C, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear focus206,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at Meriton Kent St.

Let me firstly offer my apologies for your apartment not being up to our regular high standard of cleanliness. I was disappointed to read your comments that you reported regarding the cob webs in your apartment. Please kindly note, that I have passed your comments on to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure procedures are put into place to prevent re-occurrences of such.

Besides the concern raised it is wonderful to see you did enjoy your stay. Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 179 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you step through our lobby doors is the moment your Sydney experience becomes unforgettable. Be treated to a warm welcome by our onsite porter assistance as you breathe in the refreshing signature scent of our sophisticated, marble lobby and be impressed by our exceptional Guest Services team, who will go above and beyond to deliver the five star memorable services in our promise to provide a stay of utmost pleasure. For those early arrivals, our guests are able to freshen up in the newly designed luxury Arrival Lounge, fitted with expansive living spaces with lounges, flat screen TVs, a large walk-in kitchen supplied with complimentary tea and coffee refreshments as well as an oversized outdoor terrace, where one can lounge in the beautiful Sydney weather. Immerse yourself in superior comfort with modern contemporary furnishings, a fully-equipped kitchen, internal laundry and luxury bathroom amenities that feature in all 430 suites. Towering at an impressive 56 storeys high, guests can enjoy captivating and uninterrupted views to remember forever from our Altitude Suites, witness glistening night lights over Darling Harbour from our Darling Suites or experience the ultimate luxury stay from our Penthouse Collection suites. Make the most of our onsite recreational facilities, all for exclusive use by our guests. Choose to relax and unwind to the hot bubbles of our large spa, sit in the hot steam of our sauna or give your muscles a workout in our state of the art gymnasium and heated lap pool. Share your holiday with those back home, reply to work emails or browse the net with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, accessible from all areas of our hotel including the comfort of your own suite. Situated in the centre of Sydney's vibrant city, Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent Street promises the perfect mix of attractions, shopping, entertainment, dining and culture. Only moments away are the popular sights of Sydney. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Royal Botanical Gardens are all within walking distance of our front door, ensuring your stay with us is a seamless one. Adventures to Sydney's surrounding areas has never been easier with public transport only minutes away. Services to the iconic Bondi Beach, the scenic Blue Mountains and ferry rides to the prestigious North Shore are all within a short grasp. Nearby are both Chinatown and the Spanish Quarter, while some of the city's best dining, bars and cafes are found at Cockle Bay and King Street Wharf, both only moments away. In our prime location, we truly are encompassed by a range of culinary treats and cuisines, guaranteeing somewhere to tickle all taste buds. Treat yourself to a shopping splurge at World Square Shopping Centre, located directly across the road from us or venture towards the numerous boutique retail shops along the historic Queen Victoria Building and experience the buzz at Pitt Street Mall, home to Westfield Sydney and an abundance of other quality retailers. Position yourself in the hive of all activity as you choose to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments on Kent Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Meriton, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing