We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Wynyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wynyard Hotel
Ranked #147 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I just spent 3 god awful days at the Wynyard.

The "continental" breakfast is an exaggeration and a half. Cereal, toast and milk are available in the kitchen area. There is absolutely no service. The room, toilets and bathroom are basic and there is no elevator. All this I could deal with.

What was horrible is that they have magnet keys that open the room doors. All the keys open the rooms. It is terrifying for a single female traveller to be sleeping and having 2 men opening the door to their room. They told me that their key opened every door. I was assured that they somehow had a master key, however, when I tried to unlock another door with my key, it opened the room.

This hotel is unsafe.

Also, it closes on Sunday so if you have a flight later in the day, they will not hold your bag for you.

I recommend paying the extra money to stay at an actual hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thanh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent place. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early (10:30 am) and they upgraded our room to family room (much larger). They also let us keep our room on the day of checking out, until 5 pm (to store our luggage). Please ignore the negative feedback regarding this hotel because I genuinely think it is a great place to stay. I've stayed in five star resorts and not enjoyed myself because the staff have been rude - that's the most important thing at the end of the day. The staff are super cool and I'd recommend staying here - especially if you're young and enjoy the nightlife; it's less suitable for families. Despite the place being old, the shared kitchen and bathroom facilities were always exceptionally clean and we didn't mind using them. We stayed there for six nights and don't have anything negative to say about the place, apart from the fact the wireless signal is pretty weak. The beds were very comfortable and the linen and towels fresh and clean. The bar downstairs means you'll never have to go far for a drink! The rooms also have fridges to store your own too, so overall it pretty much has everything you need. If you don't require absolute luxury at all times, then give it a chance! Otherwise, pay 2 - 3 times the price elsewhere :) Its general location and proximity to the Wynyard station is just awesome.

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade to a family room if they have one available :) It's great having the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarce_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Tiny rooms with almost no furniture. Kitchen is too small to properly cook. The place is not so clean, but nothing worse than old pubs when we were there. Very little staff , so not Much service. Location is great, overall we were happy because of the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CnCaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel was in a great location, just a short 5 min walk to Darling Harbour and 10 minute walk to Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House. For one guy that was out from 7am through 10pm one night, it was perfect, because low cost, clean bed and close to everything. If you plan on spending anytime in your hotel room other than shower and sleep, this place is not for you, and you could go pay three times that to stay in location to have shower in room and tea/coffee facilities in room. But for me, that likes to see destination attractions, it was perfect.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank DemonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you don't mind grubby shared bathrooms with doors that don't close and nothing in your room except 1 wooden chair, a fridge and an old TV sitting on top of the fridge, then you might consider this place.
The location is fantastic, just a few minutes to rail, buses and ferries.
The rest is very substandard.
We dropped off our bags so we could go sightseeing and they were left in the bar downstairs because our room wasn't 'ready'. If we had looked in the room we would have cancelled and demanded a refund. One thin blanket with no cover, nowhere to put anything except on the floor and a shared kitchen that also had the washing machine and ironing board. After complaining the the manager, she produced a rollaway hanger with some pockets to put stuff. We were tired, it was late, we decided to just put up with it. If the tarrif was $20 I would understand, but we paid A$100 per night and feel we were thoroughly ripped off.
Our advice - stay away. There are other central hotels that are old but also clean and tidy. Stay there.

Room Tip: Choose to stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenworthGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Terrible place, very old, reception not good, bathroom dirty, room not comfortable, TV had 1 channel only which was controlled by the caretaker. We asked a place to store our luggage after the check-out and we were told to leave them in the middle of the pub downstairs which is open to the public.
The location is the only good thing about it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I arrived here and could not believe what I was seeing. The website is so deceiving, I can't even begin to explain. The pub is so old, and has an eery feel. We walked in and it smelt like dirty washing liquid.

The room was actually just one small room. Extremely disappointing as there was no heating. We only stayed for about 30min, walked round the city, came back, and booked another hotel because Wynyard hotel was so small. The twin room is like a shoebox, we began to feel claustrophobic. The TV is old, the hanging wardrobe is actually a piece of material with 4 compartments hanging.

The communal facilities looked disgusting. I would definitely not recommend this even though its cheap. The room was so cold, I can't even imagine how cold it would be at night. Spend an extra bit more and you'll get something a million times better.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g123456789255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#126 of 179 in Sydney
144 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#68 of 179 in Sydney
298 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#131 of 179 in Sydney
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 179 in Sydney
1,910 reviews
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#124 of 179 in Sydney
103 reviews
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynyard Hotel

Address: Corner Clarence and Erskine Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $72 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wynyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1873 and oozing old world charm with an easy authenticity, The Wynyard sits comfortably on the corner of Clarence and Erskine streets. Take a short stroll to some of the city's best attractions, or stay put and enjoy a beer and great food in an honest-to-goodness traditional Sydney pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wynyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynyard Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing