We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and tastefully designed”

The Rocks Discovery Museum
Ranked #45 of 479 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Rocks Discovery Museum is a free, family friendly museum which tells the story of The Rocks area of Sydney from pre-European days to the present. Housed in a restored 1850s sandstone warehouse, The Rocks Discovery Museum is home to a unique collection of images and archaeological artefacts found in The Rocks. The exhibits are filled with interactive fun, using touch screens, audio and visual elements to bring the history of the area alive.Learn about the area's traditional custodians, the establishment of the English colony and the time when sailors, whalers and traders made The Rocks their home; through to the 1970s union-led protests which preserved this unique part of Sydney for future generations to explore and enjoy.
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Informative and tastefully designed”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was surprised to learn this place was already a couple of years old - everything seems brand new and so well designed! I loved the colour scheme, materials, children's corner, everything. A very good compilation of photos, items and short movies featuring the history of the Rocks. You can watch how the Harbour Bridge was built, for example.
As in most museums, it can take a while to go through if you really want to see the exhibits, read the signs and actually learn something, so allow yourself enough time and don't go there if you're too tired.

Have I mentioned it's free? And the Info centre next door is very good too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jana_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    154
    28
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We had some time free while waiting to go on a lunch cruise so were needing something to do close by and this was perfect. We also loved that there are free things like this to do (gold coin donation accepted but not compulsory). We enjoyed looking at the old items and reading up on history. Well worth a visit and I think it would be great for kids too. There are stairs though so I would not suggest it for people with mobility issues or prams.

Helpful?
Thank TasMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place was just packed full of information about the history and culture of Australia and the Rocks. Did not expect much but it was great. All 3 floors were open when I went and the top floor was a very nice photo exhibit. The staff were friendly and helpful. The area is very interest. The alley in front the museum is lite buy lights with old fashion lamp shades. This is a must see. A short way away on Fridays they have a street feast of food vendors.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank realfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Found by accident”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I am a Sydney sider, and I pride my self on knowing my city, but I found this by pure chance, and it is free to wonder though, and there are lots to look at, and children are very well catered for, made my Saturday.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pflynn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The little Rocks Discovery Museum packs a big wallop”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

When I first entered this little museum, I wasn't expecting much, but it actually has a lot of information about the early days of Sydney, particularly the colonial period. It really was a little gem of a place--definitely worth the time to seek out and savor.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocks Discovery Museum also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Rocks Discovery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing