We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just do this once in your life”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Opera Australia

Opera Australia
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.07*
and up
Opera Performance at the Sydney Opera House
Ranked #20 of 469 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: No trip to Sydney is complete without seeing an opera at the Sydney Opera House. Opera Australia performs at the Sydney Opera House January-April and July-November every year. Opera Australia also performs at Arts Centre Melbourne and on the Sydney Harbour stage.
Parramatta, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just do this once in your life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was lucky enough to experience a wonderful opera in the best seats in the house last year and have pledged to treat myself once a year to this wonderful experience. I am not a particular fan of opera but I thoroughly enjoyed the thrill and drama of Turindot and it will stay with me forever. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AussieSyd_Jen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    140
    29
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“World class venue and performance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I have just enjoyed a magical night at the opera in Sydney. This review is mostly about the performance and the opera company, Opera Australia, rather than the opera house. Of course, the Sydney Opera House is a wonder in its own right, and best enjoyed as part of a performance - the opera house stages drama, dance and music as well as opera, and really caters for all tastes. For unbelievable views across the harbour, make sure you wander up to the foyers inside the theatre, that are only accessible to theater-goers and tour groups. And enjoy a drink afterwards at one of the opera house bars and enjoy the sparkling harbour at night.
We saw/heard a bright new production of Donizetti's comic opera Don Pasquale set in 1950's Rome and starring Conal Coad (bass), internationally acclaimed Korean Ji-Min Park (tenor) and up and coming Australian Rachelle Durkin (soprano) under the baton of French conductor Guilaume Tourniaire. All were excellent, capturing both the humour and pathos of the work, although for me the highlight was the lyrical trumpet solo in the prelude to Act II leading to the forlorn 'Povero Ernesto' that has echoes of Donizett's own sad life. The Opera Australia chorus was outstanding. The sets were extraordinary, in a matter of seconds changing from inside Pasquale's house to a street cafe outside, that happened to be where the trumpet solo was performed by a very visible busker rather than by an anonymous musician in the pit as Donizetti originally required - well done.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Petercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
260 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“One of the modern wonders of the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Every tourist to Sydney will come to see 2 things, as a minimum, "The Bridge" and "The House". It can all be done at the same time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get a Seat Early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Board the boat early to get a nice seat with a view. It could get nippy in winter so bring a scarf and wear a warm coat. The view is nice and the ride was good enough.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Celestineann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Amazing Landmark : From a proud local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Even with Sydney as my home town, I never tire of visiting Circular Quay and seeing the Opera House. It makes me very proud to live here. As a visitor to this wonderful city, a tour of the Opera House is must! Only a few months ago, I did the tour again with my daughter and was blown away yet again by the building and the location.

The tour we chose, was called, “Tour and Tasting Plate”. Our guide was extremely knowledge and passionate about the Opera House and the theatre, which always make for an enjoyable experience. I would highly recommend this tour, as it is great value and a great experience, with fabulous photo opportunities. Enjoy.

Regards
Cherie
Sydney, Australia

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera Australia also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Opera Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing