We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for a family short stay”

Parkridge Corporate Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkridge Corporate Apartments
Ranked #159 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Good value for a family short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed at the Parkridge for 3 nights, as we were meeting up with my new husband’s 2 young teenagers in Sydney and wanted somewhere to stay in Sydney with 2 bedrooms.

The Parkridge more than did the job. The location is excellent and the apartment had 2 decent sized bedrooms (1 double, 1 twin) with a dining table and chairs, living area (with sofa, chair, coffee table, tv), kitchen, utility area (with washing machine and dryer) and 2 good-sized bathrooms with shower cubicles (1 also with bath) which was an unexpected surprise that came in useful with a 16 year old female about!

I can’t comment about the cleaning/servicing aspect of the apartments because we were there for such a short space of time compared to many people and didn’t require this. The room was spotless when we arrived though, with plenty of towels/hairdryers etc. Likewise we didn’t use the pool area.

We were on the 10th floor, and had a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs. We could just about see the top of the Opera House from there and were treated to the hundreds of bats flying over from the Botanic Gardens every evening at dusk!

The décor is a little dated/tatty and the TV aerial was in need of some attention – my husband managed to fix the socket back into the wall with 10mins of TLC, but the reception was patchy. Likewise, some of the kitchen cupboards had seen better days, but everything did at least work and, for the price and location, I think we got a good deal.

The guy that runs the place was extremely helpful when we arrived with regards to providing us maps and giving us local info about where to go/when/how to get there etc. Security is also good with an electronic key tag to get in the building after 6pm, and the same tag needed to be inserted into the lifts at all times in order to get them to move.

Buses stop virtually outside (there are stops all the way along Oxford St) and it’s a 5-10min walk to the Museum train station, 15mins to the main Central station. We bought a weekly pass that gave us use of the trains, buses and ferries and found it invaluable.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel 'Evans' Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

Excellent location. Everything within walking distance. The main advantage of this place is the price. We stayed in Sydney for a month so we had to pick somewhere cheap. However it does come with drawbacks. Dated furnishings, a tumble dryer older than Moses that sounded like an aircraft taking off, tiny balcony with no room to swing a cat, small pool downstairs with only about 5 sunbeds and the sun vanishes by the afternoon behind the buildings.
But our main concern was the cleaning (or lack of it). You are told the rooms are serviced twice a week but I'm afraid they are not. Our's was serviced twice in one month and the second time was only the day before we went home after I complained. The cleaners there need a stick of dynamite up the rear end.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank planearm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

Stayed with my family (and the boyfriend) here when we went off for Sydney. I found great convenience in choosing Parkridge Corporate Apartments because it practically allowed us to visit the touristy areas in Sydney. We didn't have problem regarding where to eat, or shop, or get public transportation because it's definitely accessible to a traveler's needs. Service was fine. The staff was kind and attentive, as well. We had a great time.

  • Liked — excellent location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glitch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2007

The apartments here are dated but funtional and the location is great (other than on thrus-sat nights when the nightclub accross the road is so loud you can hear even with earplugs!) The pool area is lovely and the apartments are very spacious with some good views (we were on the 12th floor)

However we had some pretty bad service, our booking was for one week and despite being told that the apartment would be serviced twice a week, after 5 nights it still had not been done. At the same time one of the taps broke in the bathroom and so only after I had to call to ask for that to be fixed did they finally service our apartment, the day before we left.

On check out we said that we were not very happy at not even getting clean towels until the penultimate day of our stay and were told (not in a polite way) that the room had been serviced mid week, implicating that we had lied and asked for it to be done when it had been done already. This in itself was bad enough but it was the manner in which we were spoken to which very aggresive, threatening and involved us being told to shut up that has left us feeling very upset and we certianly will not be staying there again. We did not receive a single apology for the delay in servicing, we just got shouted at for complaining.

In addition to this, there was no hand towel in the room for the first 6 days, the toilet roll was not replenished even on servicing (we had to buy our own) and on checking under our bed on leaving we found a dead cockroach - the whole place needed a very good clean.

There are definately better places about than this!

  • Liked — The pool area, the space in the apartment
  • Disliked — The management, lack of servicing, general cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want a serviced apartment check what the place takes
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LollyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2007

Good location. Spacious but in dire need of refurbishment.
Shabby, old, curtains dirty and stained, walls bilious lime green covered in marks and stains. Grill didnt work on cooker. Holes in sofa. Curtains in bedroom hanging off rails. Wardrobes old and very difficult and noisy to open.
Stayed over New Year so not possible to find alternative accomodation. Good to watch fireworks over harbour.
Pool shabby and grubby. Never saw anyone in it in over 6 days. Freezing cold and looked dirty so didnt venture in. Spar bath closed and looked derelict. Piles of tiles lying around.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalot1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2006

Nice enough apartments, reasonably basic but comfortable enough, not very comfortable beds, reasonable lounge and kitchen area, decor needs something maybe a paint job, Nice building but starting to show its age,
OK for a few nights only but wouldn't want to stay to long, some interest clients who did not seem all that they claimed to be, not woman origionally.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmikeNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2006

fantastic location, shame about the accommodation....the ceiling was peeling and the walls were cracked, the whole place was dated and in need of refurbishment, our apartment stank of damp where there had clearly been a leak around the dishwasher

we checked out after one night and moved into 5 star accommodation for just AUS$ 40 more per night

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAM1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#100 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#141 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Surry Hills
Abey Hotel
Abey Hotel
#115 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkridge Corporate Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkridge Corporate Apartments

Property: Parkridge Corporate Apartments
Address: -14 Oxford Street Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010 , Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Parkridge Corporate Apartments Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing