We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Ranked #24 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great location, clean, and friendly staff. The was 1 toilet and shower per floor but this was enough. We never had to wait to use it. Great location. 5 mins walk from kings cross train station and 15 mins walk to Sydney opera house. Plenty of restaurants to choose from within 2 mins walk. We will definitely stay here when we're back in Sydney!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    114
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
21
90
65
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

i had a good time here but the room was a lot smaller than what it looked like in the pictures.
the place was clean and did the job well. also very close to kings cross and woolworths. it came with a microwave AND kettle with cutlery/plates which was a real surprize! it felt like a mini appartment.
I stayed for 2 nights (but paid for 3 because it was cheaper), so when i changed my mind and decided to stay for an extra night, the staff were really helpful and told me that my room was still available. they gave me a fresh towel and everything else. the instructions for a late check-in were very clear and simple.

Room Tip: go for a bigger room. the small room is a bit tiny but you get over it after a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We only stayed one night in this hotel since there was a mix up with our RES at the Challis Lodge around the corner. They sent us here for the first night and we got a very small room ( probably their last one ) with a bathroom accessible via the balcony? It was OK though. A kitchenett is also squeezed into the room. It was clean and the staff was VERY helpful and well informed about the whole area and city. You are in the middle of elegant Potts Point and close to the night life of Kings Cross. Nice boutiques, good restaurants but also cheap eats on the Backpacker's street around the corner, a real good location to get everywhere by walking as well as Transportation. Do not miss close by "Elizabeth House", a period home with garden and views of the Sea............We did move in the end drawn to the Voctorian House of Challis Lodge but next time we will come back here.

Room Tip: rooms to the back are quieter, no lift for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1aprilfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
196 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and regardind that it's a Lodge (meaning: shared bathroom/toilet and no daily cleaning) it was worth the price, prices in Sydney are crazy! Area is good, felt safe walking in the dark but avoided to walk through King's Cross, walked through the Botanical Gardnes during the night and never felt unsafe, at the end you have to climb several stairs (where there's always people jogging any time of the day). The couple who run the place (we only met her in person) is really nice, she was very helpful with everything and always friendly. Our room had a great patio but was a bit noisy during the night as on the main street. The area is called Potts Point.

Room Tip: rooms on street have nice patio but are a little bit noisy though
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psymaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Nice place to rest. Rooms were okay. Shared toilets were clean. Provided adequate necessities such as blankets for the night. However, as you would imagine on a cold winter night in Sydney, there isn't any heater in the room, my gf was pretty much freezing. Had to put on extra clothing on top of the blanket. Well if you come from the UK, its probably another summer day so it wouldn't bother you that much. But if you are from somewhere warmer, it's indeed cold.

Location wise, can't be any more fantastic. Woolsworth is just 2 mins walk away. Lots of nice restaurants and cafes and you will be spoilt for choice. Near to the King's Cross station and its a safe neighbourhood.

Overall, value for money for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darius J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Three of us stayed 2 nights in one of the balcony rooms. It was a pleasant experience all round. Location is great, staff are friendly and helpful and value for money is excellent. The bathrooms are pleasant and clean, in fact I think the shared bathroom format rather suits a fine old building like this. I like to wake up to a bowl of cereal so was glad of the plates etc provided. I recommend Macleay Lodge to travelers seeking simple, no nonsense accommodation at great rates!

Room Tip: The balconies are a nice place to relax with a cup of coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiddlestips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My second time staying at the lodge- make sure as a repeat visitor that you take advantage of the Guests with Benefits program (you need to pick up a Guests with Benefits card from reception the first time you stay) as this gives you a 12pm checkout which is nice and access to deals.

This time I was staying in a single room on the first floor (stayed second floor previously) - room 5 - my suggestion is to get some ear plugs as you'll get noisy garbage trucks in the morning as well. The sound of smashing glass as they compact the trash would be shrill enough to wake up even a deep sleeper. A prior warning on the noise would have been great.

Whilst the rooms get hot in summer, the cooler months are perfect - and there's a small heater that heats the room well. I had no problems getting a bathroom when I needed one. The staff are friendly and the lodge is still very affordable.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5, it backs onto the alleyway where garbage trucks make a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieThunderThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Springfield Lodge
#11 of 61 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
The Maisonette
#7 of 61 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Posh Hotel
#12 of 61 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe
Alishan International Guest House
Hotel Challis
#6 of 61 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Surry Hills
Central Private Hotel
Central Private Hotel
#49 of 61 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Lodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Property: Macleay Lodge Sydney
Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The property is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates. Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point it is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing