We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maralyn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Ranked #23 of 59 Sydney B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maralyn”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Me and my grandson stayed two nights at Macleay Lodge, I am getting on in age and it was a long way to the top of the stairs as there is no lift. Our room got afternoon sun even with the blind down it was very hot, we found it very hard to sleep as there was no aircon. We didnt have a propblem with shared bathroom. The Lodge is very handy to restaurants, bus stops and a supermarket just up the road.

Room Tip: Hi me and my grandson had two nights at Macleay Lodge, it was anice old hotel, but I am getting on n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maralyn M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're sorry to hear you found the stairs a bit challenging. Unfortunately as Macleay Lodge is a heritage listed building we're unable to install an elevator. I hope this didn't detract too much from your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    114
    68
    18
    13
See reviews for
22
90
65
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at Macleay Lodge in early December for 5 nights after the end of a long work trip. I had stayed here 12 months earlier and was happy to return as the Lodge offers excellent value for money. I stayed in a single room for $60 a night - a bit on the small side but it was clean and comes with a colour TV, fridge, kettle and microwave with complimentary tea and coffee. The bed was comfy and the linen clean. The shared bathroom was spartan but clean and always seemed to be spruced up once it had been used. The building itself is quiet although Potts Point is by its very nature a busy (and sometimes noisy) area. There is an abundance of cafes, restaurants, shops and delis nearby and a dry cleaners next door - they did all my laundry for $10. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Macleay Lodge. It's not the Ritz but offers terrific value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank media_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us! We love it when we get it right!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted, free WiFi and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Macleay Lodge is a great place to stay for few nights and close to beautiful walks in the Botanic Gardens, ferries across the harbour and nightlife in Potts Point/Kings Cross. Staff are very helpful and friendly and you are 1 min away from about eight great places to get good coffee, breakfast of brunch.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are very nice twin rooms with a large covered balcony facing the street. Side room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annablume31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge and for booking direct with through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to continually improve ourselves, as well as pat ourselves on the back when we've got it right!

We hope you were able to take a Guests with Benefits card with you on check-out. This gives you discounted, free WiFi and free late check-out when you book direct with us to stay again in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We used Macleay Lodge as our base while in Australia, taking a trip out to Uluru and the Blue Mountains from Sydney. We stayed in three different rooms and all had comfortable beds. This place was great for us because we were able to walk to the Opera House and the Art Museum ver easily. The Kings Cross station is about a 10 minute casual walk the other way. What we also like is the Woolworh's grocery store is less than a block away. The staff is very friendly and helpful, we felt extremely welcomed. The bathrooms are down the hall, but they were very clean and only once did I have to wait to use it. Front rooms each have a huge balcony, great for us but if you like quiet, book an interior room. We would stay there again: great value for Sydney.

Room Tip: Room 3 is small but the quietest (no stairs to climb), Room 25 was the nicest room (quiet and view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge.

We're so happy to hear your group found Macleay Lodge clean, comfortable and conveniently located. We hope you enjoyed your onwards travels.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with future travellers. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

A perfect location in trendy Potts Point. The lodge offers very good value for money. Rooms are basic of course, but with comfortable space. Having a little kitchenette, fridge, micro and table is a good advantage. I stayed in an premium room on top floor which was great. Only 4 rooms sharing a bathroom on the same floor, hence 5meters from room to bathroom door. Floor/rooms/surroundings very quiet, so you'll get a good nights sleep. Positively surprised by the pretty comfortable bed (and i am picky..)! All in all: very good, can recommend it and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim74zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It's great to hear you found our beds comfortable, we do invest in these because even though our accommodation is on the more affordable end of the scale, you really cannot go past comfortable beds. We're happy you enjoyed them.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with future travellers. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Korea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Overall, a very pleasant experience.

First, the booking process through their own internet site was very easy and starightforward.
Check-in time was in the afternoon but, since my room was ready and available, I checked in early in the morning...
The room was small, but the kitchen corner was a welcome addition.
Also, the shared bathrooms on the ground floor were small, but clean.
Very helpful staff added to the overall very positive impression.
...
Location, while not perfect, is very good: lots of points of interest within easy walking distance.
So, it met and exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lappino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge.

We love it when we get it right! Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. It's great to hear you found the booking process on our own Sydney Lodges website easy to use, it is the most secure way to book after all, with no booking fees.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sydney. Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the MacLeay Lodge. The room was cozy, nothing fabulous but you get what you pay for. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If you are one a budget or just want to save money, when you think about how much time you actually spend in the room when you are traveling, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcoghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge.

We love it when we get it right. It's so great to hear you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to see you in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#6 of 59 in Sydney
675 reviews
The Maisonette
#5 of 59 in Sydney
486 reviews
Springfield Lodge
#11 of 59 in Sydney
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#13 of 59 in Sydney
448 reviews
Glebe
Alishan International Guest House
City West
Dunkirk Hotel
Dunkirk Hotel
#30 of 59 in Sydney
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Lodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Property: Macleay Lodge Sydney
Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The property is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates. Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point it is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing