We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Cozy Double Premium Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Ranked #22 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The fancy name 'Double Premium' does not do justice to its small size. Nonetheless, the room heats up well in winter and has a small round table by the large window looking into the central void of the building - cozy enough for a couple to have a meal.

There's a microwave in the room but I did not use it. First hotel room with a sink built in by the bed in my experience. The shared toilet facility is that of a high end shopping mall. Towels are changeable daily but housekeeping is nonexistent. Reception staff are decently friendly and helpful.

Location is a plus especially for those who like to walk through the 'for adults only' part of town to get to Kings Cross Station - not that this place is actually seedy anyway. On the contrary, things are pretty well kept here and all the 'intriguing' sex related stuff are not obvious to the passer-by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatWalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges.

We're happy to hear you found Macleay Lodge to be comfortable and convenient. The rooms at Macleay Lodge do have a small kitchenette with a sink in the room so that preparing food is a little easier than in a normal hotel room with no kitchenette. Macleay Lodge is at the more affordable end of the Sydney Lodges scale, so extras like daily housekeeping and 24 hour reception are reduced down at this property so at to keep the room rate as low as possible.

I notice that you have also reviewed The Bayswater Sydney, we're happy you got to experience two of the Sydney Lodges in Kings Cross on your visit.

Thank you again for staying with Sydney Lodges, I do hope you received a 'Guests with Benefits' card on your departure so that you can book direct with us next time to receive some great benefits such as late check-out and free WiFi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Macleay Lodge Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 243 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice enough hotel, great location, but very noisy inconsiderate fellow hotel patrons! Banging around & loud chatting at midnight! Helpful staff, very near Woolies & other restaurants.. Near Kings Cross.. Easy walk to botanic gardens, will stay again but bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassy6727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. We're always interested to hear what guests thought of Macleay Lodge, it helps us to continually improve the Macleay Lodge experience for future travellers.

I'm sorry to hear you experienced some disruptive noise from other guests at the time that you stayed with us. We always recommend contacting reception or the night manager if noise levels are ever unacceptable so that we can do all in our power to attempt to reduce or stop it. I do hope this did not disrupt your stay too much.

It's great that you found the location convenient and the rooms comfortable.

Thank you again for leaving your comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I was in Sydney for a few days - alone and with no desire for another hostel experience. I managed to get a single room with sink, microwave, fridge, toaster and tv for $55 a night.

The room was a pretty good size and pretty basic but clean. Carpets are pretty new but building isn't. Shared bathrooms are pretty small but also clean.

If you just want somewhere to sleep and don't care about a view or impressing a girl then Macleay Lodge will do the trick for a few days

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TGMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you for leaving your feedback and comments on Tripadavisor.

We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to see you found Macleay Lodge good value, one of the Sydney Lodges brand promises.

We hope to see you again someday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place is riddled with damp, not very clean and cochcroach invested. Whilst checking in we were asked to pay up front which i find unusual so i asked to see our room before we paid. It was on the ground floor, dark, dingy and smelt of damp covered up with alot of airfreshner. It wasnt very clean either. We asked for an alternative room on the first floor and this was the same. This was our first stop in Australia and was very dissappointing. Ive stayed in hostels that are a fraction of the price with much higher levels of cleanliness. When my husband went to the toilet he found he had the company of a couple large cochcroaches. Thats we decided not to stay. The member of staff on the reception was extremly unhelpful and just shrugged his shoulders when we complainded of the damp and the cochcroaches. What a waste of our first day in sydney!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jocelyndaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for leaving your comments.

We're very concerned to hear that you had such a horrific experience on your first day in Sydney. At Macleay Lodge we don't hold money off your credit card like most hotels do, so we take payment up front instead. Other hotels will secure the payment by holding money from your credit card while you stay, which sometimes takes weeks to return to your card. This system is called a 'pre-auth' system where they pre-authorise your card for the total accommodation amount at check-in. We find this option not ideal because of the time it takes for the money to return to the card if you choose to pay with another card on your departure. I'm sorry if you would have preferred this system to the simple pay on arrival system we have in place.

We take cleanliness and hygiene very seriously at all Sydney Lodges properties. We have very high standards of housekeeping which are managed vigilantly. I'm sorry if we have fallen short on your experience at Macleay Lodge. We would definitely be interested in hearing more detail from you with regards to how you found the room unclean.

With regards to the cockroaches, I apologise immensely for this. Cockroaches in Australia actually don't mean that a property is necessarily unclean, especially if they were larger. Australia has a lot more bugs than other continents and this unfortunately causes some misconceptions when they appear in buildings with guests from overseas (especially if it's been raining which can worsen the problem at times). While it is very unfortunate that you came across a cockroach, which might be something you assimilate with uncleanliness in other countries, the fact is that in Australia they are a fact of life. I'm sorry this disturbed you as much as it did, the building is most certainly not infested on any level.

Thank you again for leaving your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is bare bones and a little shabby, but it's a good deal if you're on a budget in the most expensive city I've ever been to. The staff were friendly and helpful (especially the lady who works on Tuesday mornings), the bed was fine (ask for extra pillows if you need them), the bathrooms were clean and the in-room mini-kitchen was convenient, especially since there's a full-size grocery store a block south. The Potts Point neighborhood is quiet and cute, although walking through seedy King's Cross to get to the closest train station wasn't always pleasant.

Temperature was our only real complaint. We stayed here in winter, and the bathrooms were quite cold, with unreliable hot water. I haven't been to Sydney in the summer, but I imagine this hotel might get pretty hot in January, since the only apparent cooling mechanism is a ceiling fan.

We got past it over the course of our four nights at the lodge, but we initially considered changing hotels, as our initial impression was that this might be a place you'd wind up in if you were, shall we say, down on your luck. The signs on the back of the room door and in the bathrooms that referred to guests as "tenants" and advised that clean linen would be distributed only upon payment of weekly "rent" were partly responsible for this feeling, and the dim fluorescent lighting and air-shaft window view did little to assuage it. However, the staff treated us as hotel guests and the lobby is full of tourism brochures. I got the feeling the Macleay Lodge was trying to shift its identity from sad-sack SRO to bargain tourist hotel, but it's not all the way there yet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front-- I think only those have a view that isn't depressing. Don't wo...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerthaNougat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We think it's always best for future guests to hear from previous guests to get the best idea of where they want to stay.

We're happy to hear you found the lodge great value and location convenient. I have passed your comments regarding the hot water on to the maintenance manager to have this looked at, thank you for letting us know. I apologise for this.

The sign on the back of your door is a very old sign that has unfortunately not been removed years ago when Macleay Lodge started operating as a budget hotel. I apologise for this and have passed your comments about this on to the hotel manager to have these signs removed. Thank you for letting us know about this.

Thank you kindly for providing your feedback here on Tripadvisor, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Travelled to Sydney for work and wanted a budget hotel that could provide a "home-like" environment for a week long stay. The hotel was very clean and the bathrooms sparkling, newly refurbished and consistently maintained during my stay. My room was a single and it was basic and undecorated but it contained a fridge and microwave and tv. The only real issue was the noise made late at night by other patrons and it was only on a Saturday night. Excellent for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Hi Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge. It's great to hear you found the rooms comfortable with all the amenities and facilities you required for your weekend stay.

I apologise for the noise on Saturday night. As you can understand, it's very difficult for us to keep the noise from other guests to a minimum when there is a situation. Had this been an ongoing issue through the night of course you could have contacted the night manager to investigate. I do hope the noise didn't keep you up for long.

Thank you again for leaving your comments. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Travellers on a budget and wishing to avoid the budget hostels in Sydney will find Macleay Lodge a very good alternative. It is well located within walking distance to Kings Cross station, supermarkets like Woolworths and Coles and plenty of dining places. Despite the simplicity of the room we stayed in, it was really clean and was equipped with all the necessary amenities (e.g. TV, fridge, sink, plates, cups). The shared toilet was surprisingly clean and we never had to queue for it. Moreover, the staff at the front desk was helpful and friendly in giving us directions to places of interest. Overall, a good decent accommodation in Sydney, for what your money is worth.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Hi Tay,

We love it when we get it right! Thank you for sharing your Macleay Lodge experience with other travellers here on Tripadvisor. It's always great to hear when guests find staying with Sydney Lodges great value for money.

We hope to see you at a Sydney Lodges property again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#48 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#83 of 178 in Sydney
1,033 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#125 of 178 in Sydney
102 reviews
Springfield Lodge
#9 of 57 in Sydney
731 reviews
The Maisonette
#5 of 57 in Sydney
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Lodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $69 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The property is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates. Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point it is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing