We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great balance of Comfort and economy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Ranked #22 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Macleay Lodge was welcoming, not only in the personal sense but in the facilities in the room. A mini kitchen for having a tea and toast or heating in the microwave. Good quality bed and a quiet sleep. Very clean and presentable. It's very handy to some of the best parts of Sydney. A good ambience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocco40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Macleay Lodge Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 243 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2011

My sister and I had an enjoyable stay at Mcleay Lodge in Sydney. The room was great, the beds were good, the location fantastic. If I had to give any constructive feedback I'd say, the bathroom could be a little cleaner, and there should be more blankets as we got very cold the first night.
Thank you for a wonderful Sydney stay!

Room Tip: 12a - next to bathroom and noisy, but balcony
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaKeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed in this hotel several times, the first room we stayed in was very nice, and was quiet and light the next time we stayed a few weeks later we were in a room behind reception, (room 3) which was very dark as it only had a small window which opened into about a half meter gap between two walls! it was very dark and gloomy! and it also had what seemed to be hot water tanks over half the window which made a humming noise all night!
overall this is a good place to stay for the money, as long as u are in one of the other rooms, the staff were helpfull and freindly, and its in a good location.

Room Tip: avoid room 3
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This hotel is nothing fancy, but has everything you need and is in a great location. Staff were excellent to deal with. Rooms were small and a little tried but very clean. All the rooms have shared bathrooms.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank droneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We are somewhat budget-conscious travelers. An accommodation for us is just a place to get a nice warm shower and a comfortable place to sleep. We don’t need a lot of space, either, as each of us only has a carry-on backpack & a personal bag. Because of this reasoning, we believe that a budget of less than $100/night is reasonable.

Since we only had one day and one night in Sydney, we wanted an accommodation that is not too far from Sydney CBD. Because one day did not justify renting a car, the accommodation also had to be somewhat close to any bus/train station for easy access to public transportation.

Based on the reviews we had read, we almost omitted Macleay Lodge from our list of possible accommodations due to the shared bathrooms facility. However, we found out that there is actually one ensuite bedroom with its own private bathroom after a few e-mail exchanges from very responsive and helpful staff at the lodge. It was still less than AUD 100/night, so we booked the room.

We were able to check into our room as early as 8:30 AM since nobody stayed there the previous night. The room had its own bathroom as expected, although we had to walk outside to our patio to reach it. We had a TV, fridge, kettle, toaster, & a few dinnerware/utensils in the room. Both the room & bathroom looked & smelled clean, although we noticed a couple minor coffee stains & little holes on the bed sheet/comforter. They were not enough to bother us, though.

The location turned out to be pretty decent, too. Of course, it wasn’t right in the CBD, but it was within walking distance to the Kings Cross train station. Then, by train, it only took a few minutes to get to Sydney CBD. It was convenient. Considering Kings Cross’s notoriety, we thought everything was more quiet & safer than what we had expected. Yes, we saw a lot of neon signs for all sorts of nightlife entertainments, & some of the people dressed in questionable fashions, but nobody bothered/pestered us, or even approached us.

The front desk staff was helpful, too. We were able to book our shuttle directly from Macleay Lodge to the Sydney airport for the following morning at AUD 12/person.

We were happy to find that such decent budget accommodation like Macleay Lodge is still an option in the Sydney area. If we go back to Sydney, we will definitely consider staying at Macleay Lodge again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lotfius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. I pretty much got what I expected. Location is the highlight. Walking distance (if you like a brisk walk, that is) to the botanic gardens and Opera house. Located in a mostly backpacker district, so finding a decent place to eat is easy. Rooms were pretty small and decently stacked with basic amenities. You also get a small 'kitchenette' with microwave, mini fridge and some silverware to fix a small meal for yourself. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful and really genuine. Small bathroom but clean. Overall, a great place to be if you are on a shoestring budget. Contrary to some previous reviews, we did not find the place noisy.
The only issues we faced, was the lights would go off and on at their own descretion. Now, I am sure there is a technical explanation to that, however, we found that to be more annoying than spooky.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j_joshi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We used the hotel as a base while we cruised around sydney. We would definitely recommend it as a budget place to stay. Fridge, microwave and plates, utensils etc make it easy to prepare your own food instead of having to eat out for every meal. Rooms were clean and we had plenty of space. We'll definitely be back when we're in Sydney next. Thanks for a great stay. Danielle and Aidan

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielleandAidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#48 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#82 of 178 in Sydney
1,033 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#124 of 178 in Sydney
102 reviews
Springfield Lodge
#9 of 57 in Sydney
731 reviews
The Maisonette
#4 of 57 in Sydney
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Lodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $70 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The property is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates. Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point it is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing