We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Ranked #24 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Sydney
1 review
“Good location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

I stayed in Macleay Lodge in Sydney woth my boyfriend and a friend of mine. The place was supposed to be better than what we aspected. No sign of cleanliness was in the room but the location was good just to approach the centre of Sydney and good for ealthy walk.
The guy at the reception was kind and the lady also helped us in booking our trip to Blue mountains and the airport. Not a special service but good enought not to get harder in trouble.
There was always lights on during the night , what I really think is a waste of energy for nowadays world. Sometimes the vantilator went by its own on, who knows why ...ghosts?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenLemure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    114
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
21
90
65
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

You get what you pay for. It is not the Holiday Inn but it does the job when you are travelling and barely sitting down and seeing the sights. It is great for a shower and bed and in good location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dons0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

For what we paid it was good. The room was small but that didn't bother us. It was nice and quiet here, and very clean. The only thing I had against the room was it was stinking hot (no air con, but it was a cheap room), and every time I need to use the bathroom it seemed to be busy, even at 4am! Very very good location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehaylinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

quite a distance to walk from the train station, no lift, shared bathroom with poor ceiling fan, but is close to supermarket, service was friendly and rooms were clean

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason504286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

Initially we were taken aback by how tiny the room was and were hoping there were a little more kitchen/cooking facilities. But after a few days we began to love the cosyness. The shared bathroom was very clean and always unoccupied when needed. The room was good, the bed was extremely comfy. We were deeper inside and hence didnt experience any problems with street noise and slept like babies every night. The location is fantastic. Macleay street is lovely, full of nice little shops, cafes and restaurants. a 5-10 walk around the area lead to a beautiful marina. The room has a nice little Tv, toaster and electric kettle. The room was quite clean when we got there. A laundromat was next door and a grocery store just down the road. The only negative point was walking through the kings cross red light area on the way to and from the station. Overall, for the price and the period of stay (new years) i think it was worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanechoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

My husband and I were in Sydney for 5 days because we got tickets to the Oprah show on short notice and needed a hotel for less than $100 a night. I was not apprehensive about the shared bathroom because we've done it before, I just wanted the hotel to be nice and convenient. The hotel is in a upscale neighborhood very convenient to getting around Sydney. We had a balcony room that had a double bed and a twin bed. Having a kitchenette was great with microwave, small frig , sink, coffee-maker, toaster, dishes and silverware. There is also a dining table with 2 chairs. The balcony was nice with a table and 2 chairs so you can sit outside and relax. The ceiling fan was adequate and there is a nice HD tv with cable. The shared bathroom was right outside our door. I took sanitary wipes to wipe the toilet and faucets down but basically the bathroom was always clean. The staff, especially Tracy, was friendly and very helpful. There is no daily room service but if you ask for towels, you get new ones. There is a very good grocery store half a block away as well as a laundry mat and internet service 2 doors down with reasonable rates and a convenience store on the corner. My husband and I were very pleased with everything except for the 3 story walk up the stairs (no elevator) and all balcony rooms are on that floor. The metro is a 5 minute walk away and the bus picks up 3 doors down. There is also airport shuttle service for $12 a person.
Getting there: If you come by train, you come out at the Kings Cross station which used to be the "red light" district. It is extremely diverse now with some "red light" stuff still there but mostly more shops, restaurants, discos, and small businesses. Go 2 blocks and turn the corner and the neighborhood changes drastically so that by the time you get to the hotel it is very quiet and genteel. The bus stops are also on that block. Lots of restaurants to choose from within walking distance but the restaurants are expensive (at least for us!) so having the kitchenette and grocery store so close was great! Prices in the grocery store for most things were the same as in the US. There are lots of restaurants, coffee shops and fast food places in Potts Point where the hotel is located. We only ate out once at a Thai restaurant 4 blocks away near the fountain on Darlinghurst Rd. Really good, fresh food. We found a food court in a shopping mall downtown and also another food court in the Darling Harbor mall where the food choices were very varied and prices were not so expensive. Sydney has a weekly bus, train and ferry pass that is $41 a person and we used that to get everywhere. The ferry goes to many attractions and we rode almost every line just to see where they went...very fun! If you like to walk, you can walk in about 20 minutes from the hotel to the Botanical gardens and then next door is the Sydney Opera house which then puts you at Circular Quay where the ferries, buses and trains all meet up and next to that is The Rocks neighborhood and also downtown with all its attractions. We took the bus to Bondi beach, which was really easy because the bus stop is across the street. It’s not hard to save money in Sydney if you pay attention, ask questions and be adventurous. There is another hotel in the lodge chain that has ensuite bathrooms that we might try next time but if that one is booked again, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

The rooms are not cleaned during the stay. When I removed some furniture I saw a lot of dirt. Not so clean.

Also very noisy. People are walking around which makes a lot of noise. I therefore slept with earplugs.

if you just need a place for less money its a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delta909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Springfield Lodge
#11 of 61 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
The Maisonette
#7 of 61 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Posh Hotel
#12 of 61 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe
Alishan International Guest House
Hotel Challis
#6 of 61 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Surry Hills
Central Private Hotel
Central Private Hotel
#49 of 61 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Lodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Property: Macleay Lodge Sydney
Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The property is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates. Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point it is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing