We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bolthole in quiet location but choose your rooms carefully”
Review of Springfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springfield Lodge
Ranked #11 of 62 Sydney B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great bolthole in quiet location but choose your rooms carefully”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a great solution for solo travelers looking for affordable accommodation that is close to the CBD. The location of this little hostel/hotel is particularly good as it is tucked away from bustling Kings Cross and Potts Point so it is quiet but still extremely close to the restaurants, nightlife and amenities of the area. This is definitely a budget option so don't expect much in the way of extras eg. no hairdryer or ironing board or bathrobe in the room. I spent three nights at Springfield but had to change rooms so got to experience a twin and a single. For the small difference in price I would opt for the twin even when travelling on my own as the layout is better with room for a suitcase and the bathroom less cramped.
One warning for travelers: rooms on the first floor that are on the right hand side as you enter the building have windows that open out to a light well that has lots of air conditioning vents and probably pipes that hook up the building's plumbing. This means that it could feel hot when you opened your window and there were a few times in my stay in the single room on that side where I could detect the smell of sewage and cooking fumes. The better option was my twin room which was 115.
I think most rates are room only and it is better that way as the options for food in the area are excellent with lots of places open early and very late.
Finally, if you have the chance to book in advance rooms can be had for as little as $90 a night.

Room Tip: Room 115 as a twin room was good. Watch out for rooms on ground level on the right hand side of buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepid_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    371
    141
    33
    33
See reviews for
68
306
137
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This well-appointed clean and tidy as well as roomy one bedroom apartment with living room, bathroom,bedroom plus sunroom and kitchen was excellent.
The leafy outlook from sunroom down the Springfield Avenue Mall provided a good deal of interest and atmosphere during our six day stay.
We loved the central location within walking distance to Elizabeth Bay, Harris Street Farm, superb restaurants and book shops, French pastry shops as well as places of interest.
Transport facilities on the doorstep also a big plus for visitors to Sydney.
Highly recommended. We will be returning sooner than later.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda_chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Finding a hotel with rates for solo travelers in Sydney isn't easy (unless you want to stay in a hostel). Springfield has single rooms and as I booked a couple of months in advance it cost less than $100 a night.

I always stay in the Cross, it's so central and I love the crazy atmosphere, so no matter how good the accom don't stay in Kings x if you're looking for sanitized or gentile surroundings!

The hotel was spotless with a smart/busy cafe out front. My bathroom was tiny but had a fantastic shower and looked brand new. I could have had my room made up everyday with clean towels etc. flat screen tv, good aircon an opening window, kettle/tea/coffee/fridge and nice linen...it really exceeded my expectations.

Staff were all friendly and helpful - even when I had to complain about a noisy late night neighbour, they were great and all was quiet after that :)

Points off for no free wifi for guests. Should be a given these days, even if it's limited, say 1 hour a day...

But that's a small thing. I really recommend this hotel. Thanks.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Memma3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landvetter, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Springfield Lodge is a very nice hotel with very friendly staff! No luxury rooms but nice and clean. It's situated in King's Cross, so it's close to the city centre.
In the lower floor, (kind of cellar), there was a kitchen and dining room with all the facility you need to cook your own breakfast or dinner.
A little bit noisy if you get a room with windows heading to the little square.
For us it was perfect, stayed there twice!

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed for five nights over new year...half the price of hotel chains so very good find. Good location easy walk into the city across the park with views of the opera house on the way. The room was comfortable and clean with small ensuite bathroom and tv. The staff were lovely; very friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is in the Kings Cross area it is on a quiet street and we had no problems and as mentioned in previous review it is an interesting area!
Sydney is a fabulous place to visit with lots to do and lovely beaches.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florrie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights over NYE which is a very expensive and busy time of year so we were pleasantly surprised to find something affordable and central to Sydney. We were also concerned about staying in the King's Cross area but this was no problem at all.
However I have to comment on the noise levels as we had disturbed sleep nearly every night including bin collections, and noise from other rooms, doors slamming and we could overhear other conversations and arguments from other guests.
There was a kitchen available however this was in the basement with minimal ventilation, when we checked it out there was someone cooking and the smell overtook the whole basement so I can understand why you would not want a room in the basement area - although I think the hotel advertise these at a cheaper rate.
Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinterLard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have traveled A LOT and I am not really spoiled and consider myself as very flexible. I did not expect a five star experience, but this was really, really bad. I was happy when I left after 2 nights! We were accommodated in the basement right next to the public kitchen and dining room and next to the supply rooms. I think it is ridiculous that they turned these basement cells into rooms. There is no way in hell you can sleep! The kitchen is supposed to be closed at 10 pm, but we heard people walking and shouting about until 12. Drunk teenagers everywhere yelling and banging doors all night long!

Then you get a lovely "wake-up call" from the maid vacuum cleaning right at 6am in front of your door. Lovely. This is basically an over-priced back-packer hostel labeled as hotel.

This would have been all bearable, I guess, but the reason why I write this review is that they "forgot" to schedule our airport transfer after we paid for it. Thank good we had extra time, so we could reschedule, but all they had to say was "Oopsi". "Oopsi"? Really. No apology, or offer to return the money or anything. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SingaporeSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#43 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 62 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge

Property: Springfield Lodge
Address: 9 Springfield Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Springfield Lodge, a unique and affordable hotel in the trendy, chic area of Potts Point in Sydney. The lodge is just 1 train stop from major Sydney attractions, including stunning Sydney Harbour. Bondi Beach is easy to get to on public transport as well. With modern facilities such as Free wireless broadband internet access. Springfield Lodge is fast becoming one of Sydney’s favourite, more affordable hotels, rivalled by no other hotel on value and price. A unique designer cafe welcomes you on entry to the hotel lobby, serving delicious breakfast and lunch daily. Walk the trendy alleyways, shop in the boutique clothing stores, or spend the day at the beach. The streets surrounding Springfield Lodge are buzzing with cafes, restaurants, bistros and fabulous night spots. Experience the real Sydney, at Springfield Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Springfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing