We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay..very good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springfield Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Springfield Lodge
Ranked #11 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay..very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed for five nights over new year...half the price of hotel chains so very good find. Good location easy walk into the city across the park with views of the opera house on the way. The room was comfortable and clean with small ensuite bathroom and tv. The staff were lovely; very friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is in the Kings Cross area it is on a quiet street and we had no problems and as mentioned in previous review it is an interesting area!
Sydney is a fabulous place to visit with lots to do and lovely beaches.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florrie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    366
    141
    32
    33
See reviews for
65
299
137
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights over NYE which is a very expensive and busy time of year so we were pleasantly surprised to find something affordable and central to Sydney. We were also concerned about staying in the King's Cross area but this was no problem at all.
However I have to comment on the noise levels as we had disturbed sleep nearly every night including bin collections, and noise from other rooms, doors slamming and we could overhear other conversations and arguments from other guests.
There was a kitchen available however this was in the basement with minimal ventilation, when we checked it out there was someone cooking and the smell overtook the whole basement so I can understand why you would not want a room in the basement area - although I think the hotel advertise these at a cheaper rate.
Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinterLard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have traveled A LOT and I am not really spoiled and consider myself as very flexible. I did not expect a five star experience, but this was really, really bad. I was happy when I left after 2 nights! We were accommodated in the basement right next to the public kitchen and dining room and next to the supply rooms. I think it is ridiculous that they turned these basement cells into rooms. There is no way in hell you can sleep! The kitchen is supposed to be closed at 10 pm, but we heard people walking and shouting about until 12. Drunk teenagers everywhere yelling and banging doors all night long!

Then you get a lovely "wake-up call" from the maid vacuum cleaning right at 6am in front of your door. Lovely. This is basically an over-priced back-packer hostel labeled as hotel.

This would have been all bearable, I guess, but the reason why I write this review is that they "forgot" to schedule our airport transfer after we paid for it. Thank good we had extra time, so we could reschedule, but all they had to say was "Oopsi". "Oopsi"? Really. No apology, or offer to return the money or anything. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SingaporeSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a great 5 days in Sydney. Very central location. Clean room serviced daily. Comfortable bed.
Be prepared to be close to Kings Cross with its' interesting nightlife!
Lovely staff and great cafe downstairs. I would highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

How good to be greeted by name when I finally got to the hotel after a delayed flight and the trauma of luggage not making to Sydney. Nothing fancy about the accommodation or the price - just great value in a good location. Very clean room and the towels were changed each day of my stay, tea and coffee facilities kept topped up as well.
Girls you may want to think about the location if you are travelling on your own, the main road outside the hotel was fairly 'lively' after dark and on one occasion a bit intimidating, but hey, Kings Cross station is just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel door and buses into CBD are just as close. Great to have a Coles at the end of the road as well.
All in all a great find.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz_brist0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

After staying at the Bayswater, part of the Sydney lodge group, thought we would try the smaller, cheaper version and was not disappointed. It was fantastic to be greeted by Martin again and his very warm welcome, so we knew we were in for a great stay. This is a slightly older hotel but has some great character like the wonderful ornate ceilings. Yes the rooms are very compact and the bathroom tiny but this hotel and it's VERY reasonable price point for a central Kings Cross hotel fits the bill for a clean place to stay for a few nights. Cleaning done everyday to high standard and all staff very friendly. We have already booked to stay again at the end of this month.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shed_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel two minutes walk from kings cross station. Basic accommodation, amazing price.

Rooms are small but clean. Staff at front desk are so helpful and friendly.

Restaurant out front is great- went here three times, lovely coffee too.

Perfect place to stay if on short city break like us- we will definitely stay here again.

It's beside a "lively" street with strip clubs etc but it's fine! The hotel itself is on a quiet street nearby.

Clean, basic rooms, central, cheap, great staff- Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dinnerdinnerdinner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 64 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge

Property: Springfield Lodge
Address: 9 Springfield Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Springfield Lodge, a unique and affordable hotel in the trendy, chic area of Potts Point in Sydney. The lodge is just 1 train stop from major Sydney attractions, including stunning Sydney Harbour. Bondi Beach is easy to get to on public transport as well.With modern facilities such as wireless broadband internet access and cable television channels, Springfield Lodge is fast becoming one of Sydney’s favourite, more affordable hotels, rivalled by no other hotel on value and price.A unique designer cafe welcomes you on entry to the hotel lobby, serving delicious breakfast and lunch daily. At night, our own Pink lounge opens close to the lobby where you can enjoy award winning wines to soft background music.Walk the trendy alleyways, shop in the boutique clothing stores, or spend the day at the beach. The streets surrounding Springfield Lodge are buzzing with cafes, restaurants, bistros and fabulous night spots. Experience the real Sydney, at Springfield Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Springfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing