We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Springfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Springfield Lodge
Ranked #11 of 59 Sydney B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a brilliant place to stay if you want clean comfortable accommodation for great value in the city. We were apprehensive about where to stay because this was our first time in Australia and in Sydney. We didn't know where any place was so we looked up places on tripadvisor and this seemed to be the best place.

We arrive late due to our flight and had to get a taxi ($45), shuttle buses go to and from the hotel from the airport, or you can catch the train. Kings Cross station is a 2 min walk around the corner.

We were not expecting such a nice hotel for the price we paid for the room. There is a kitchen and laundry downstairs so you can cook your own food, eating out everyday is costly and it helped to have a normal breakfast eg. nice cereal we got in the shops.

The rooms are lovely and spacious, clean and comfortable. Our friends stayed at another hotel and found the rooms alot smaller and they had paid more.

As for all this business about the red light district, there is nothing to worry about. The district is basically alot of bars, nightclubs and a few strip clubs, what you normally find in any city. The hotel is located at the bottom of the district, we didn't hear any noise, only the normal you would on any Saturday night in any town or city.

The supermarket and all the shops are a 2 min walk from the hotel, there really is nothing you can fault about this accommodation.

We will definitely be back to stay here again when we return to Australia.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the 3rd floor because we had just arrived from Ireland, it was a very long fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    373
    142
    32
    35
See reviews for
68
309
140
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were looking for reasonably priced accommodation in Sydney that was not too far out of the city, handy to transport and conveniently located.
Springfield Lodge ticked all the right boxes.
The front desk staff were not only very welcoming, but extremely helpful and seemed really happy, with lots of genuine smiles. First impressions of an establishment do count for a lot!
Room was modestly proportioned and equipped with all the basic necessities.
A reasonably equipped kitchen area is provided for guests in the basement, as is a guest laundry, both pluses, especially for a hotel in this price-range.
In addition to no lift access to the third floor we have to agree with other reviews concerning the compact size of the shower and toilet. Having said that, I'm 6 foot (1.8m) tall and managed. The plentiful supply of hot water in the shower, and good pressure too, made up for the limited space. However, to be reasonable, we did not pay a fortune for our accommodation, so this is an observation rather than a complaint!
Would we stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper like me ask for a quiet room at the time of booking. Third floor rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uhuru6948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Springfield Lodge. I was massively impressed that when I arrived at 9am, they had the room ready for me to check into. The room itself was nice, well presented, admittedly a small bathroom but one of the best showers I have ever had. The location is absolutely fine and for those who are a bit open minded, it is actually a really fun area and walking distance to Sydney Opera House. The only reason I dont give it full marks is that I dont think that the sheets on the bed were changed for a few days and also the internet that I paid for cut out a couple of times and I had to pay again. Other than that, a really great choice for anyone staying for business and leisure and trying to keep in budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Springfield Lodge is a value for money accommodation at King's Cross. Its very close to the train station and easy to locate, in the middle of the bustling suburb of Potts Point. Within walking distance, you have pretty much everything you need. There are good food and bars everywhere. Room is spacious and clean, with AC or heater. Big TV screen too. Bondi Junction with its big mall is just 2 train stops away. All your shopping can be done there if you want to avoid the crowded and packed central.

Downside: It can get a little noisy especially on Saturday nights as you would expect as bars are pretty close by. But after an entire day of shopping and sight-seeing, I guess you would probably fall asleep pretty fast.

p.s You got to try the restaurant/café that shares the same building as Springfield Lodge. Its called Petrol. The food is AMAZING. Coffee is wonderful too.

Room Tip: Book way in advance. They have very good deals for early birds. And do get the "insurance"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darius J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had one of my favourite experiences here. The hotel is right in the centre of everything & everything you need is close by. Buses & trains are literally 2 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel itself was lovely! I had the no room service option but you do not need it for a short stay to be honest. The room was big, the bed was huge and was well maintained and beautiful. The bathroom was a bit small, but I wasn't in there a huge amount so I didn't mind. This will be the hotel I stay in every visit to Sydney. I absolutely loved every minute!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had stayed for 3 nights in Springfield Lodge and found the location is pretty convenient , circa 3-5 minutes walk from Kings Cross rail station exit . Booked via online for its 3 days ' Do Not Disturb Deal' around 79 dollars a night with private bathroom (it's clean!) ,considering quite a good deal. Sound proofing is so so as you can hear sounds from upstairs when people walking and outside the room corridor. If you don't mind staying slightly further from CBD, it will be a perfect choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Was very happy with our room. Very small bathroom but was very clean. Had Foxtel, quiet location, close to action, nice bed, nice view and received complimentary upgrade and early check-in at reception! Very happy, would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 179 in Sydney
1,799 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,141 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#46 of 179 in Sydney
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,897 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 59 in Sydney
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge

Property: Springfield Lodge
Address: 9 Springfield Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Springfield Lodge, a unique and affordable hotel in the trendy, chic area of Potts Point in Sydney. The lodge is just 1 train stop from major Sydney attractions, including stunning Sydney Harbour. Bondi Beach is easy to get to on public transport as well. With modern facilities such as Free wireless broadband internet access. Springfield Lodge is fast becoming one of Sydney’s favourite, more affordable hotels, rivalled by no other hotel on value and price. A unique designer cafe welcomes you on entry to the hotel lobby, serving delicious breakfast and lunch daily. Walk the trendy alleyways, shop in the boutique clothing stores, or spend the day at the beach. The streets surrounding Springfield Lodge are buzzing with cafes, restaurants, bistros and fabulous night spots. Experience the real Sydney, at Springfield Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Springfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing