We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit”
Review of Springfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springfield Lodge
Ranked #9 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived in the morning with our friends and were checked in promptly and our baggage stored. Returning a hour later, both couples were upgraded to 4th floor rooms with king size beds. We enjoyed the area and the convenience of being within walking distance to area attractions. This little hotel was neat and tastefully decorated and all staff were courteous, friendly and prompt in answering our queries.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 743 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

What do you require of a hotel on a short city visit? Well the Springfield has it all. Small ,quiet rooms , not necessarily with a view ,reasonably priced , close to but NOT adjacent to a really buzzy,bohemian part of town bursting with bars and restaurants to explore. If you are not in the mood the pavement /cafe diner belonging to the hotel catches the sun throughout the day. The city centre is a 15 minute pleasant walk away via Woolamaloo(?spelling...sorry OZ!) and the Botanic gardens. The hotel is clean,well staffed and friendly and also has a residents kitchen and laundry for those who like to remain independent of the service industries! All in all ideal for a central major city break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croftsline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Me and my body were so good at Springfield Lodge. We arrived at 10:00 a.m. and at 11:00 thay gave us the room and not only this, they also upgraded us to a 4 flour room with a king size bed. Nothing but awesomeness and kindness there. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acerito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

HUGE room, kitchen is well appointed, clean, quiet, there is a lift. It is in Potts Point/ Kings Cross so it can be a little colourful at nighttime, but we found it perfectly safe and our room was really quiet. Close to the train station and there are loads of cafes and bars to choose from within a 2 min radius. I will stay here again. Note - the bathroom is very small (clean and perfectly functioning).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleCurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Dear LittleCurrant,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very happy that you had an excellent time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

enjoyed our stay , close to shopping and railway. very friendly and helpful staff in lodge, bed was comfy and clean. great cheap place for stop over.a couple of the staff members at the resturant which i believe to be indepent of the lodge could do with some customer service skills.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lana u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge. Thanks also for booking directly with us on our Sydney Lodges website!

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You are quite right, the Petrol cafe is a separate business to Sydney Lodges, but we will pass on your comments nonetheless to the manager.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My partner and I booked the hotel room on a non-refundable pay up front basis as we considered it a pretty decent price, using the room for travelling to attend a wedding so we knew there was no risk of us cancelling. Immediately after booking, we read the reviews... Kings Cross, Red Light, Prostitutes, Drunks, Drugs etc etc....

I can reassure anyone going its nothing like what is portrayed, yes it is in a Red Light District' but this is nothing more than a few 'Gentlemen’s' clubs and adult shops, certainly no more than you'd see in many suburbs in any city, and after all you don’t actually have to go in... Yes, there were a few rowdy groups, probably Hen and Stag do's which can be loud but again, this is found almost everywhere. My advice is stay aware, don’t flash your valuables and just walk through and you'll be fine (again, much like any slightly uncomfortable areas in cities). Even better, from Kings Cross station rather than walk up the main street take the street behind, its well lit, quiet and stress free.

The hotel, we stayed in Room 310 on the second floor, it was clean, spacious and had a real boutique feel to it. It was obvious that the building had been chopped and changed from what it was originally to its now hotel form but it didn't detract from being a nice room. The bed was comfy, we even had one spare. The TV worked (if that's your thing, Sydney offers much better viewing!), the bathroom although small was clean tidy and the shower was always hot and had a good pressure.

I will admit where this room had the windows toward the Kings Cross area I was woken a few times during the night because of loud people, however my partner slept through it all so I guess if you're sensitive to noise and its absolutely essential you need undisturbed sleep, ask for a room at the back, or stay elsewhere.

We didn’t try it because we had a pretty full on schedule, but the hotel has a lovely cafe set up outside the front which catches the morning sun and it seemed to serve great food and coffee at a good price.

Room cleaning is an option, a free one, but if you want it done leave the card on the door, if you don’t, don’t leave it out. It's pretty self explanatory. We personally chose not to as we didn’t see a need over 3 days.

The hotel is a minutes’ walk from Kings Cross station where you can catch public transport to anywhere in the city, Circular Quays is about 10-15mins away, and Bondi is about 45mins. Aside from the hotel, if you're planning a short trip to Sydney we would strongly recommend a mymulti travel card, it makes travelling effortless and its cheap ($44 for 7 days, bargain.)

Hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. If you're going to arrive late, call them, don't just expect them to wait for you, they are real people with working hours like the rest of us. If you call however they make arrangements for you to get into the property.

Summary, we are a mid/late twenties couple, whom I would consider fairly well travelled, and I would recommend staying in this hotel. We paid $280 for 3 nights in one of the 'better' rooms not including breakfast, now if you want to see Sydney on a budget and don’t particularly want to stay in hostels, enjoy your own space and want to stay extremely central to the City, what more could you ask for?! Highly recommended, we'll be staying again.

Hopefully you can ignore the comments made by some people who appear to have never travelled out of their own lounge before and have a great time in Sydney.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear will be quieter. If you're there for a special occasion, tell the hotel in ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanF1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge, and thank you for booking directly with us on our Sydney Lodges website!

Thank you for your kind and honest words. Thank you also for writing such a detailed account of your stay with us, I'm sure this will be very helpful to future travellers. We can't thank you enough for going through everything from location to room comfort. Not only is it great for future travellers, but it's fantastic for us to hear detailed information about different aspects of our hotel. It seems you very much enjoyed your stay with us, and we're so pleased you did.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again someday soon. We also hope the wedding went well and you had good weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in April 2013. Hotel accommodation in Sydney seemed v expensive due to our poor exchange rate and the hotel staff here were so helpful in advising us that the website had a cheaper price if we selected unserviced rooms for the 2 nights. (this meant that we just didn't get the room cleaned for our 2nd day's stay which was no problem!) We paid $89 for a clean v comfortable double with great en suite, TV, air con etc and in a central location easy walking to everything we wanted in Sydney. There is a great small restaurant at the entrance which does lovely meals, coffees etc and also the cafe near the fountain called Alice's Ithink ...good for breakfast and free wifi and plenty of other cafes for eating, although we eventually found the food hall in one of the shopping malls which is amazing and really worth visiting to stretch the budget. (we had 3 hungry teenagers to feed!)..has every sort of style of food and amazing fruit salad/smoothie/juicers. You can pay for wifi at the hotel but most cafes give it free when having a coffee etc. Also there's a transfer bus to the airport for $12 each which is cheaper than the train and picks up every 15 mins but needs to be booked a day in advance. Maybe leave plenty of time: our collection was a bit late but the hotel automatically chased them up for us and the journey was quick and really hassle free. The hotel staff were so helpful and stored our bags until our room was ready. Thank you Peter for yr warm welcome! Theres a kitchen & washing machine etc downstairs so its fantastic for anyone travelling for a while or on limited budget. Really recommend them & would definitely look up their other hotels & use them too.

Room Tip: I think we might have been upgraded but we had room on 2nd floor which didn't have a view but wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobbotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge. Thanks also for booking directly with us on our Sydney Lodges website!

We love it when we get it right! It seems we were exactly what you were after. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much that you would return to a Sydney Lodges property again.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#81 of 179 in Sydney
1,082 reviews
Hotel Challis
#52 of 179 in Sydney
767 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,958 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#38 of 179 in Sydney
4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge

Address: 9 Springfield Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $84 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Springfield Lodge, a unique and affordable hotel in the trendy, chic area of Potts Point in Sydney. The lodge is just 1 train stop from major Sydney attractions, including stunning Sydney Harbour. Bondi Beach is easy to get to on public transport as well. With modern facilities such as Free wireless broadband internet access. Springfield Lodge is fast becoming one of Sydney’s favourite, more affordable hotels, rivalled by no other hotel on value and price. A unique designer cafe welcomes you on entry to the hotel lobby, serving delicious breakfast and lunch daily. Walk the trendy alleyways, shop in the boutique clothing stores, or spend the day at the beach. The streets surrounding Springfield Lodge are buzzing with cafes, restaurants, bistros and fabulous night spots. Experience the real Sydney, at Springfield Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Springfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing