We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price”
Review of Springfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springfield Lodge
Ranked #9 of 58 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Springfield for three nights in a deleuxe double room last weekend. We basically chose the place because of the price and location. Accommodation in Sydney seems expensive compared to other Aussie cities, so AU$334 for three nights was pretty good. Check in was friendly and efficient, and we were able to store our bags while we went out for the day (we'd arrived on a very early morning flight).

The room itself was adequate - just a double bed rather than queen sized, and the bathroom was very small so if you're a larger person or like more space you might want to look at their more expensive rooms. Decor was average and the TV was quite old, although that didn't bother us as we hardly watched it. Some of the linen (towels) was starting to look a little frayed and old. On the upside, the bed was comfortable, the aircon was good and quiet, the bar fridge was fine, and the bedroom itself was a good size for two. My husband used the wifi ($5 an hour - pretty good speed, although the whole hour needs to be used in one go).

Reception was very helpful when we asked them to book a Blue Mountains day trip for us (Oz Trails - recommended - pick up from Holiday Inn round the corner).

The location of the hotel is really good, as long as you don't mind having to walk past a few Kings Cross crazies and junkies to get to the hotel from the train station - just makes things a bit more interesting :-) Potts Point on the other side of the hotel is nice (good cafes - try Cafe DOV) and it's a walkable distance to the city and Paddington, and easy to get transport to Bondi. There are several supermarkets nearby - one just over the street, as well as Coles and Woolworths a bit further away. Good to be able to grab some breakfast essentials as the hotel has a very basic kitchen for guests to use.

My only real gripe about the hotel is something that was kind of beyond its control. We had a terrible night's sleep on Saturday night due to some other guests talking very loudly in the corridor outside our room about 2am. My husband eventually told them to keep it quiet, but it would have been nice if reception had been open at that time so we didn't have to do this ourselves. It was the kind of behaviour I'd expect in a youth hostel rather than hotel.

However, I'd be totally happy to stay at the Springfield again if in Sydney on holiday.

Room Tip: We had room 317, a deluxe double at the back of the hotel. No view out the window, but had no worrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaNZ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge. Thank you for booking directly with us on our own Sydney Lodges website as well!

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 749 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

enjoyed a one night stay in a double room at a pleasant and comfortable lodge situated in the heart of kings cross -was good value for the cost and would have no trouble recommending it. excellent stay if you're looking to see the character of the area and don't plan to spend too much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakoRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge. Thank you for booking directly with us on our own Sydney Lodges website as well!

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the lodge comfortable and conveniently located.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I only booked this because it was the only hotel under $200/night during Mardi Gras. The 2 women at the desk were super friendly. They force a 10AM checkout (otherwise you have to pay $25 to stay until noon)....an advantage of this is I was able to check-in relatively early after a long international flight. Several of the bulbs in my room were burned out, and the general maintenance of the room was rather poor. The maid staff did not vacuum or change the bed sheets...I had to go to the front desk and ask for my own replacement sheets and toilet paper. The desk closes at 11pm, so you are out of luck if you need anything beyond that time. The sink is ridiculously small. There was an annoying bird outside my window that chirped all morning long. The hotel is very close to McDonald's and other stuff on Kings Cross. I'd only recommend staying here if you can get it dirt cheap. Otherwise, there are much nicer places to stay. This is not a place to stay if you want to impress someone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

An annoying bird chirping? Really? Ohhhh dear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed five nights in a single room - big enough and included desk, chair, fridge, storage, kettle. The ensuite is tiny and I doubt larger body types would fit. Love the location close to King's Cross subway and just off backpacker alley; do walk around the 'hood and you'll find some cool and interesting restaurants and a library on Darlinghurst with free wifi. The onsite resto Petrol is very good but a tad pricy. Front desk very helpful. Definitely would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge, and thanks for booking directly with us through our own Sydney Lodges website!

We're so pleased to hear you found Springfield Lodge comfortable and conveniently located.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Good location. Fairly quiet and only stones throw from Darlinghurst Rd and Kings Cross Station. Rooms quite small and double bed just a double. Could do with a bit of a spruce up inside, fittings just need fixing but was clean.
Excellent if you just want a bed for a quick stay in Sydney and don't plan on spending much time in the room.
Balcony cafe nice for a late evening coffee or drink.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge, and thanks for booking directly with us through our own Sydney Lodges website, the easiest way to book.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Sorry to hear there were a few maintenance issues in your room. I've passed this comment on to the manager to have a look at.

We look forward to seeing you again some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days in feb 2013, great location, loads of nice resturants close by, only 15-20 min walk to downtown, very close to subway aswell! Very friendly and helpfull staff! Didnt use the shared kitchen but looked nice, also nice to be able to do laundry

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larsalindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge, and thanks for booking directly with us through our own Sydney Lodges website!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We're really pleased to hear you had a great stay and found the location convenient, as well as the staff pleasant.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Inner studio room (no view) - clean and comfortable but a couple of niggles. The sink is a very narrow, shallow basin on account of the bathroom's lack of width but the spout (which swivels) is far too large and it was impossible to use without getting water everywhere. Couple this with the mirrored cabinet over the basin, not enough room to bend over and not enough room to get your head over, let alone into, the sink meant that using the bathroom sink was an exercise that left me soggy and frustrated.
TV was analogue (no digital channels) and poorly tuned on some channels - this is not really acceptable in the age of digital television.
There was a fair bit of noise intrusion from the floor above at all hours (mainly thumping from heavy walking/running) which was annoying as I was trying to sleep.
Staff were friendly and the location was convenient but I would probably not return on account of the issues above.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WFoxhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge.

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do advertise the en suite bathrooms as small, because they just that. Sorry if they were a little too small for your liking. We are having the TV's changed very soon, sorry that you did not get to experience the newer ones we have coming.

We hope you will change your mind and give us a chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit to Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#55 of 181 in Sydney
810 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#83 of 181 in Sydney
1,108 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#46 of 181 in Sydney
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#110 of 181 in Sydney
2,014 reviews
The Maisonette
#4 of 58 in Sydney
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge

Address: 9 Springfield Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $80 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Springfield Lodge, a unique and affordable hotel in the trendy, chic area of Potts Point in Sydney. The lodge is just 1 train stop from major Sydney attractions, including stunning Sydney Harbour. Bondi Beach is easy to get to on public transport as well. With modern facilities such as Free wireless broadband internet access. Springfield Lodge is fast becoming one of Sydney’s favourite, more affordable hotels, rivalled by no other hotel on value and price. A unique designer cafe welcomes you on entry to the hotel lobby, serving delicious breakfast and lunch daily. Walk the trendy alleyways, shop in the boutique clothing stores, or spend the day at the beach. The streets surrounding Springfield Lodge are buzzing with cafes, restaurants, bistros and fabulous night spots. Experience the real Sydney, at Springfield Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Springfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing